We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NICE HOTEL TO FINISH THE TOUR” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Palms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Palms Hotel
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Beruwala
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“NICE HOTEL TO FINISH THE TOUR”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

We stayed at several good hotels whilst touring Sri Lanka and this was an excellent location where we could chill out (32C and humid) for the last couple of days of our holiday. The rooms are comfortable but in the process of being upgraded, the buffet meals were good with an ample choice of courses, there is a nice swimming pool with shaded garden area and the beach is immediately in front of the pool area. I would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

754 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    330
    217
    118
    52
    37
See reviews for
222
292
40
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014

I spend a week in The Palms hotel, with my wife. The service was superb. breakfast was with wide choice of sri lankan food. The staff were very friendly and they are happy to help with any request. Hotel has lovely facilities and we had few meals at fisherman restaurant. Meals were fantastic. well maintain swim pool and nicely kept garden inviting us every morning. Room was clean and we had a lovely sea view from our balcony. we would definitly visit The Palms...

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Kenzydi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014

A nice hotel in a nice location with lovely pool and gardens adjoining the beach. Sadly the peace and tranquility that is promised by the hotel was not our experience; we had to endure a thumping beach party until midnight comprising techno-garage music that seemed inappropriate for the surroundings and the great majority of guests. On expressing our concerns to the management, there was no-one available who could tell us when it would end (anywhere between 22.00 and 'it may go on all night depending on to whom we spoke!) Hotel and restaurant management were indifferent towards guests and their staff pleasant but generally sloppy, not helped by few understanding much English. Wine either terrible (white was often not even chilled) or very expensive. Food OK and the rooms were clean, if a little jaded.

We struggle to reconcile our experience with other reviews.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jayesandveetee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014

we arrived fortnight ago and found this hotel has many positive facilities to offer for the guest who needs peace and tranquility. the hotel is right on the edge of the sandy beach and sea is not rough and very safe. they have well experienced life guard on duty always and very vigilant !! though i was on all inclusive basis, i dined three times at their seafood restaurant and was thoroughly enjoyed the sumptuous meals. i stayed in Room no 302 which is overlooking the sea and the Room itself is perfect for anyone who look for comfort. the House keeping staff did a wonderful job and there was nothing to be mourn about !!
right from Senior Manageress to hotel staff are always helpful and very positive for any feedback you need to know. i have traveled many parts in the Globe and found the palms staff are the best i have seen and i have taken their ever smiling faces in my memories until i visit the palms hotel again next year and would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who requires serenity in their life !!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank muthu b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilburn, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014

Paradise on the beach – I had the most wonderful stay in Sri Lanka and especially at the ‘The Palms Hotel’ on the Beach. I have to use this term ‘Paradise’ as this hotel has a wonderful beach front with a large beach, with safe swimming and very good for a morning jog. This gorgeous hotel is great even for old people like myself , as the staff is extremely friendly and helpful and the have a smile for you every time. The rooms are very very clean and are cleaned often, and these boys are very helpful and are the best. I did enjoy the food and the sea food dinner at their new Sea Food restaurant right on the beach, which was lit up by these real nice lanterns. Pls enjoy my pictures.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

This hotel is right on the beach, rooms very comfortable, staff always very friendly, helpful and cannot do enough for you!!, Food is superb, our room has been kept spotless, clean bedding and towels daily, would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone, nothing is too much trouble, whatever you want they do, Nandana is the best room boy in Sri Lanka, Chef Kapila very creative, the Front Office girls so helpful, always there to help, the restaurant staff so helpful, The GM should be very proud of his hotel and all his staff thank you to them all!!!

Room Tip: Room 101 on the ground floor nice new bathroom and very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank lollie82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

Stayed 5 days in January 2014: Liked best: location, beach and sea, very friendly staff, clean room
Not so good: missing of variety of international food, on two days poor evening entertainment
Summary: suggest for everyone


  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Skoosh

Helpful?
7 Thank Gabor J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beruwala
0.1 mi away
Cinnamon Bey Beruwala
Cinnamon Bey Beruwala
#1 of 1 in Moragolla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,511 reviews
2.7 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
3.5 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
#3 of 12 in Kalutara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,158 reviews
11.1 mi away
Tangerine Beach Hotel
Tangerine Beach Hotel
#5 of 12 in Kalutara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
1.3 mi away
Club Bentota
Club Bentota
#1 of 6 in Aluthgama
4.0 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palms Hotel

Property: The Palms Hotel
Address: Moragalla, Beruwala 0034, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Beruwala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Beruwala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Palms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Palms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palms Hotel Beruwela
The Palms Hotel Sri Lanka/Beruwala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing