We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

““Exceeded every one of my expectations! Great location, food and staff.””
Review of The Palms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Palms Hotel
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Beruwala
Reviewed August 3, 2013

I will be totally honest when saying the only reason we booked this hotel was after thoroughly reading this hotel's reviews on TripAdvisor (and the reviews of other shortlisted hotel options) and I did wonder about quality and variety of food. Result? Wow! Highly recommended!
Reception is spacious and we were warmly greeted by the reception staff..
From reception there is open walkway through to room area with views across the pool, through the gardens to the sea - absolutely wonderful. We were shown to the room which was a reasonable size and overlooked the Indian ocean - Room had twin beds, set up as double, ample wardrobe room, safe, minibar (chargeable), TV with 9 channels covering English, German and Sinhalese languages). Every room has a balcony with chairs outside . Housekeeping kept the rooms spotless and came twice per day (once to make bed / tidy / clean and then again in evening for turndown service and to replenish mosquito pellet).
Meals:
Breakfast served 7.30 - 9.30 and provides standard English fayre, continental, fresh omelettes / fried eggs to order as well as juices, cereals and breads..
Dinner, served 7.30 - 9.30 with excellent selection to provide variety throughout each day..
As the dining area is on the first floor (above reception / Lobby ) there is great views straight to the beach. Outside tables proved very popular, so if you fancy one of these, get there early.
There is also an a la carte menu which we dined from one of the evenings (seafood platter with chips).
Lobby / reception area with free WiFi . You can also use the gym facilities,

The gardens, which face directly onto the beach, have an ample supply of sun loungers and the staff provide cushions and towels and will happily move your beds to wherever you wish. We chose to spend more time right next to the beach as we swam in sea each
this was the best holiday we've had - totally relaxing time and we'll definitely be back to Sri Lanka and most probably back to the Palms as it gave everything we wished for.
We have loads of photos and I'm happy to share with anyone who wants further info,
Go - enjoy - hope you have a great time.

Room Tip: Upper Floor Middle room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dharmawardene G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (864)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

479 - 485 of 864 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2013

Situated in a nice location.clean and long beach area.Very colorful looking pool and garden area.Very calm and nicely designed hotel surroundings.
Entertainment events like Live band,Snake Show.... wow...

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Devinda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

From the moment we arrived the staff made us totally relaxed and welcome. Nothing was too much trouble. The food was plentiful, varied and delicious. The special lobster platter was truly amazing and excellent value! We had a deluxe room. It was lovely to wake up, flick a switch to open the blind and look at the view of the beach from our bed
The hotel and grounds are very clean and is always being tidied through out the day.
The facilities were great and the whole place was spotless. The service was excellent and the whole place well organised. We escaped without a single insect bite thanks to the efficient room spraying and plug in insect repellent. We thought that the tropical flower arrangements each day on the beds was a lovely touch.

Room Tip: ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Nazafa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

After being thoroughly spoiled throughout a wonderful Sri Lanka tour, it was with a heavy heart that we landed at The Palms. The staff were all wonderful, but the room and surrounding areas were low key and tired. Pool area was impeccable and well kept and the pool boys were attentive and professional and deserved their tips (as did the bar and reception staff). A few issues spoilt the week, largely the overseas contingent who were hosting an event for the Sochi Winter Olympics. The hotel management focused on their needs, including unannounced music until the early hours held in the main lobby that travelled through the main accommodation - and it wasn't a one off, and when asked if this was going to continue the response was 'don't you like music?' The food was good, but not as good as in other places throughout Sri Lanka, and certainly not as authentic nor as much choice. I was just spoiled elsewhere on that glorious island I think, but I couldn't recommend the Palms to other travellers, even though the staff asked me to write a five star review.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

After last three days of our tour we came to Bentota check hotels from Booking,com found nice hotel with gOod reviews. We came to the hotel boy at front desk ( Manjula ) take usto the lobby when ourway to the lobby he explained lot of facilities in the hotel one receptionist show us Deluxe and suite rooms our stay was very short. So went for a deluxe , made a reservation then and there heavy rainy day it was. House men veru busy with their wipers. Very slipery u have to be carefull hotel very we'll look after our driver. Following day we got uop very late. Waitress Viji arranged our breckfast service to the room. Accept weather every thing was Excellent. Forgot to tell pastry chef made us a mouth watering wattalappan first day dinner.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rajen_ddg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We went for the long weekend and to celebrate my mums b'day! The welcome was great and the staff was excellent, courteous , efficient and the spirit of their co-operation said it all! To sit out at the lobby is awesome!We had the wind whispering in our ears and the waves on our cheeks!

I was very excited about staying here. To say that the hotel is superb is underestimating. The views are amazing, and the rooms are great. All come with their own balcony.It also has a nice view of the pool, just lovely for reading a book and watching the sunset with the sound of waves crashing near by.

The breakfast there is delicious. It is buffet, so the selection is great - with a selection of healthy food and savory foods. They fry your bacon and sausage fresh on the spot!

The hotel has excellent management is very obvious from the quality of the restaurant
The overall landscaping were really done with great elan
Ms. Ruchira is someone we won't forget. she went out of her way ensure that our rooms & stay was comfortable,
Awarded TripAdvisor winner for 2013 well deserved.

Room Tip: Upper Floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Freymuller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Following a six day tour of the island this hotel was perfect for peace and relaxation. The entrance is lovely and the check-in was completed with no fuss. The rooms all have a sea and pool view and are very comfortable with generous tea/coffee making facilities and safe deposit.
The staff are all very friendly and the room was kept spotlessly clean. The waiters are all very enthusiastic which makes up for their naivety in some cases. The breakfast and dinner are buffet style with a preponderance of Sri Lankan style dishes but a decent choice of western type food. All in all the food was pretty good without being gourmet. For lunch there is a Beachcomber bar by the beach (within the hotel) which serves fish which you choose yourself and is charged by weight. This was just right and not expensive - generally a meal for four with beers or soft drinks came to about £20. The beach is wonderful and there is a good along it towards Bentota.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jessies_Grandad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beruwala
0.2 mi away
Cinnamon Bey Beruwala
Cinnamon Bey Beruwala
#1 of 1 in Moragolla
1,756 reviews
11.1 mi away
Tangerine Beach Hotel
Tangerine Beach Hotel
#6 of 11 in Kalutara
1,210 reviews
11.3 mi away
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
#3 of 11 in Kalutara
1,309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
2.4 mi away
The Surf Hotel
The Surf Hotel
#6 of 25 in Bentota
900 reviews
2.7 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palms Hotel

Address: Moragalla, Beruwala 0034, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Beruwala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Beruwala
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Beruwala
Price Range: $77 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Palms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Orbitz so you can book your The Palms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palms Hotel Beruwela
The Palms Hotel Sri Lanka/Beruwala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing