We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

““Splendid Hotel!”” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Palms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Palms Hotel
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Beruwala
Certificate of Excellence
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
““Splendid Hotel!””
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

My spouse and I stayed at The Palms for two nights while touring in Galle in late-April. After arriving, being welcomed by the professional staff at the Front Office



Amenities/Common Areas Pros:
--amazing art in the common areas: each morning I walked down spiral staircase for breakfast and always found something new in the magnificent and dramatic sculptures
--beautiful environment: just about every room in the building has a sea view
--grounds are extremely well kept (very green)


Breakfast:
The spread was excellent with a huge variety of South Asian dishes (curries, milk rice, hoppers), cheeses, bread, meats, etc.

Room Cons:
--inconveniently placed electrical outlet at the desk/work area

Room Pros:
--king-size bed extremely comfortable
--soaps, lotions, shampoos strongly but pleasantly perfumed
--very spacious room with an amazing view of the brilliant seascape of clashing waves on giant rocks

Conclusion:
I definitely will stay at the The Palms next time I travel to Bentota. I particularly enjoyed the creative seaside theme found throughout my stay .

Room Tip: upper Floor Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Dilshi Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

754 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    330
    217
    118
    52
    37
See reviews for
222
292
40
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kotte, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

The Hotel is well situated along a stunning coastline. While it's generally too dangerous to swim here the surrounding area is beautiful. Staff at the hotel were very good. We stayed in a suit and we were always kept informed of who was looking after our room. The room boys always asked us if everything was OK and offered friendly advice. Service was natural and unimposing and efficient. Our suite was lovely and spacious in bathroom area.
We can recommend the buffet with plenty of choice for every taste (I especially enjoyed the BBQ night with an abundance of seafood to choose from, grilled upon request and at your likes) or the restaurant upstairs for a more intimate dinner. The staff is genuinely friendly, a joy!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gamini K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

Well i stayed with my family at The Palms Hotel for 3 nights. but again we wanted to book this hotel so i just log on to Tripadvisor and read past commence. and i saw this comment regarding this salt water, then i had a thought to write my opinion as i had the same problem. we booked through Expedia as we got a good deal. i have travelled over many asian countries but i prefer Sri Lanka as its a small beautiful country. we arrived to the hotel around 5.30 in the afternoon as we came from after galle city tour. had a beautiful fresh fruit juice then a lady took us to our room. we had three beds in our room and they have provide us three big water bottles and its on complimentary. when my wife came out from the bathroom she told me that the tap water is salty. then i rang the reception to complain. after few minutes later duty manager and Mr. engineer came to my room and briefed me about the water. so its treated tube well water not from the sea. then only i realized that water taste different from country to country and city to city. so anyway in our room we had drinking water bottles every day so we didn't had a problem of drinking water. if there is any problem managers are there to help you at any time.
the garden is beautiful and big. they have fish ponds all over the lobby. even the pool is attach to the lobby. so when we sit on the lobby we can easy access to the pool and walk to the beach. we used lobby bar and they have lovely sri lankan made cocktails and lovely meals in the restaurant. when ever we pass lobby staff at the front use to smile and great us even though they are busy. we had a lovely time....

Room Tip: ground floor rooms are directly to the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank crokin w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

This hotel has a lot going for it - location, room lay-out, wonderful pool, gorgeous sea views but the one thing we couldn't come to grips with was the fact that the bathrooms are run on recycled sea water. I took a shower at around 9pm and discovered that the water coming out of the tap was salty. I rang reception to complain and a man came up to confirm. He seemed genuinely surprised so I thought there must have been a mix up with the pipes to the toilet. He offered to get it fixed but I told him tomorrow would be fine as we were tired and wanted to go to bed.
The next morning, on our way to breakfast, I reminded the lady at reception that some-one was to fix our pipes. She seemed a bit hesitant but I didn't pay any attention. When we returned from breakfast to have our morning showers, we discovered nothing had been done. I went back to reception to complain and finally got an admission that the whole hotel was run on recycled sea water and there was nothing to be done. She offered to move us to another room but when I enquired if the shower water would be fresh, she said no, but that the "saltiness" might not be as bad. I was / am astounded that no other reviewers have picked up on this as there is nothing worse than brushing one's teeth with salty water. Needless to say, this really restricted our enjoyment of The Palms as we were hesitant to swim at the beach knowing we couldn't really wash the salt off.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gqueen8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

Made a booking suddenly through agoda way back from Kandy , we reached to the hotel around 7 pm, that time hotel did not receive our booking , but very efficient receptionist handle our reservation and allocated a lovely room with in 5 minutes, offered marvelous welcome drink flavored of mixed fruit , through out my journey first time i had a such a lovely fresh welcome drink , Luggage boy Manjula take us to the room and showed all facilities in the room ,
we came to dinner around 9.30 , they had a lovely spread , but we went for ala' carte , it was grilled fish , came out from hot hot hot ,,,,,,,,,, enjoyed that dish greedily,
after dinner there was a snake show event, we scared , but we enjoyed with free WI FI in the lobby , it was free and very fast , i was wandering about previous comment on trip advisor regarding slow inter net , staff very help full , will come sooon

Room Tip: Upper Floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dinesh A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

I cannot say that I think this is the best hotel I have ever been in....but if if isn't the best it is in the top 2. I would have to think real hard to come up with something even remotely disagreeable during the week. It was quite amazing to hear "Where's the Internet",beause there was internet in the lobby area.First time internet was not working in my phone and when i informed them i got to know that i had put an wrong password and initially
when i input the correct password it worked well.The atmospehere in the hotel is marvelous.
Only the sea food restaurent where we had our alarcate lunch looked old
but with the soft music there, we did not feel any odd and we could enjoy our meal well.
The room was well maintained and the bathrooms were newly refurnished with new fittings.
The rooms are beautiful the design minimalist but environmentally great and the amenities and little extras spot on. The bathroom view is incredible bathing overlooking the sea very interesting. The garden also fantastic and even good for sleeping. The soft pipe music was amazing and even i could get a copy of that. There was not even a patch on room walls also.They are maintained quite well. This trip was for pleasure and that's how the staff made it.
My husband had his birthday at the wonderful restaurant and they were so attentive and made his day very special. I hesitate to tell all about this hotel ( home) as I want it to be available very time I stay but I cannot be selfish. I cannot name staff as that would be so difficult they were all incredible from every department of this house Thank you all for making these days so memorable never change !

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Elsa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

It was a remarkable experience for me. Every thing was very well maintained specially the garden and the pool. Free WiFi facility was another thing. It was quite ok and had good speed too. It is good if WiFi will available in the rooms also. However I Had my best hotel experience regarding food, services and all, and willing to come back again too

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Amelia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beruwala
0.1 mi away
Cinnamon Bey Beruwala
Cinnamon Bey Beruwala
#1 of 1 in Moragolla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,510 reviews
2.7 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
3.5 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
#3 of 12 in Kalutara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,157 reviews
11.1 mi away
Tangerine Beach Hotel
Tangerine Beach Hotel
#6 of 12 in Kalutara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
1.3 mi away
Club Bentota
Club Bentota
#1 of 6 in Aluthgama
4.0 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palms Hotel

Property: The Palms Hotel
Address: Moragalla, Beruwala 0034, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Beruwala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Beruwala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Palms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Palms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palms Hotel Beruwela
The Palms Hotel Sri Lanka/Beruwala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing