We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Palms Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$120
$94
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$65
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$96
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
Arena Hotel(Beruwala)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$273
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (920)
Filter reviews
920 results
Traveler rating
392
279
136
63
50
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
392
279
136
63
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssri lankaseafood restaurantfisherman's wharfspecial meallobby areatuk tuksea viewindian oceanrelaxing holidaylive bandsea foodnice poolsuperb locationbuffet stylebreakfast and dinnerevery eveningbeach boys
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
600 - 605 of 920 reviews
Reviewed October 13, 2012

THE FLIGHT
We flew with Sri Lankan Airways and were thoroughly impressed with their service. The staff we very professional, friendly and courteous. The food was very good and the drinks offers seemed to be never ending. If you were hungry between meals you could visit the galley for free Kitkats, Polos, fruit, sandwiches and drinks - no problem.

THE TRANSFER
We arrived at 2am in the morning so missed all the day's traffic and reached the hotel within one and a half hours. The return was slightly slower at 2 hours as we left at 06:30.

THE CHECK IN
After a long flight and a lot of travelling we arrived expecting to checkin straight away. We were told we couldn't checking until 11am so we had to lounge around the pool and foyer for a good few hours - not the best customer service.

THE HOTEL
The hotel is very nice - looks very new and is finished to a very good standard. There is lovely streams and water fountains literally throughout the foyer, bar, dining room and reception. The pool was always crystal clear and as someone mentioned didn't contain the slightest trace of chemicals/chlorine. The room was spacious and comfortable and had a good view of the pool and some of the ocean. The staff were friendly but were constantly angling for a tip which is understandable but a little irritating.

THE FOOD
As a vegetarian member mentioned earlier the food is great...if you are a vegetarian. I'm a meat eater but after trying the very tough beef and chicken pieces I couldn't identify switched to fish and vegetarian options for the remainder of the stay.

THE LOCATION
There's not much around the hotel and you have to take taxis everywhere. The staff advised against going anywhere near the beach after dark. The beach was nice but the sea very rough so could be quite dangerous to inexperienced swimmers.

THE TRIPS
We were only there for one week so just stayed local and visited the Turtle Sanctuary and went on the river cruise. The Turtle Sanctuary was fantastic and we got to see baby turtles literally breaking from their eggs and coming up to the surface. We were then allowed to gently handle them and put them in their tank.

The river cruise wasn't as great. We were promised to see many types of creatures but only saw some salamander, chipmunks and a few dogs.

THE CONCLUSION
I suppose it's as good as you can expect in Sri Lanka but I won't be returning any time soon.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LondonRhino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights on our honeymoon.
Beautiful rooms with comfy beds and new bathrooms.
Saturday night entertainment is far too loud and goes on till 1am despite calling reception and being told it would finish at 11:30. So if you want to get to sleep before 1am on Sunday morning you probably won't.
The buffet is over priced unless you have a huge appetite it's 2000rs per person for lunch and then the same price for dinner.
Room service is excellent.
no WIFI in rooms so guests congregate in reception.
There is a lot of stagnant water due to the water features in reception. We got bitten here more than any other place. This was despite wearing insect repellant, Mosquito bands, citronella and covering up. It makes sitting out on an evening almost impossible.

The pool was great and the staff cannot do enough to help you. The same level
of customer service is maintained from the pool
attendant through to the manager. They are fantastic!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cazzinic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Having completed a tour of some of the World Heritage sites in Sri Lanka, we arrived for our six night half board stay at The Palms, Beruwala on the southwest coastline. A comfortable typical beach resort hotel with a modern twist on traditional design for the public areas. The staff were friendly (perhaps sometimes the room boys, pool boys and bar staff were a little too cheeky with jokes and comments). The reception staff were very good and helped us when we had a family emergency at home and thought we may have to cut our visit short. The room (307) was comfortable with a nice modern bathroom. Renovations and repainting were taking place in some parts of the hotel during our stay but didnt affect our enjoyment. Many Russian tourists and few British, perhaps some preferential treatment of one large Russian group. We were half board and breakfast and dinner were the usual buffet style. Limited choice if you dont eat meat and a shame that the option that was cooked in front of you, had a sperate pan for cooking without meat to allow vegetarians to have pasta or stir fry that isnt cross contaminated with cooked meat. Very noisy bass disco one night until 12.30 am with no prior warning! location by beach good but some distance from town and many persistent hawkers. Spa looked a little tired and uninviting.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnBiow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We stayed at The Palms as a family party of 8, white British and British Sri Lankan. The hotel had been researched for us by a Sri Lankan relative and did not disappoint! It is a lovely beach hotel, very well designed, open and airy and the staff are very helpful and friendly.

Our room was on the second floor and was big with the best bathroom out of the 6 different hotels I stayed in during our trip. Walk in shower, top quality fittings.

The room had a good size balcony with a fantastic view of the gardens (huge fruit bats in the trees!) and the Indian Ocean. The sound of the waves at night was just great. The room service was excellent - beds made and decorated with flowers every day, standard of cleaning very good. All rooms have aircon and a fan. The aircon was too noisy to leave on at night, but the fan was perfectly adequate to keep the room comfortable (for me, but I love to be warm, so may not be the case for everyone).

My 9 year old niece loved the pool and it was just a few seconds walk onto the beach. It's not safe to swim in the sea because of the currents but we were able to jump the waves and play which we loved!

The food quality was excellent, perhaps not quite such a variety of dishes on the buffet as some of the other hotels, but there were not many guests while we were there which may account for this. However, breakfast was particularly varied! There was usually a selection of both Sri Lankan and Western dishes... but on our last night there my (British Sri Lankan) sister in law was disappointed as there were no real Sri Lankan dishes. The staff then specially cooked rice, dhal and three types of curry just for us!

There was some maintenance work going on most days, but it didn't really disturb us.

There are a lot of pools in the hotel design - which looks wonderful, but does attract mozzies - so beware in the evenings particularly sitting in the bar area...

We really enjoyed our stay at The Palms and would thoroughly recommend it for a relaxing beach trip. Those in the party who have been to Sri Lanka many times said this was one of the best hotels they have stayed at.

Room Tip: Second floor gets the best views!
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

we staied in the palms hotel for 2 weeks.my room number was 1o6.

the palms is a lovely hotel with an amazing view.we were travelling with concord exotic.all the rooms are sea view and they have a very huge pretty garden

house keeping,reception staff,restourent and all other services exceeds our needs.we love this resort and wil come back.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank igor p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews