We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice location, average service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ypsylon Tourist Resort & Diving School

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ypsylon Tourist Resort & Diving School
Ranked #3 of 35 Beruwala B&B and Inns
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice location, average service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

Location right on the beach, we couldn't expect better for our first night in Sri Lanka. Room ok, not fantastic. Baby cot was provided free of charge.
Breakfast average compared to what we got later during our trip. Sri Lankan people are extremely friendly, but we found that at Ypsylon service was average, people were a bit cold.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erikaf81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    50
    29
    10
    8
See reviews for
34
59
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coffs Harbour
Level Contributor
59 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

My husband and I spent three days at this lovely small, intimate resort and couldn't fault anything. We had booked an air conditioned room but on arrival was advised that it wasn't available that night but would be the following day. Instead they gave us a magnificent room overlooking the beach, with ceiling fan and just so tastefully decorated, with everything we could need. We were also given complimentary breakfast as an apology - so lovely! The air conditioned room was not as nice so we opted to stay where we were and receive the complimentary breakfast! Very nice touch. The room was beautifully clean and very well maintained too.

The resort is literally right on the beach, a lovely clean beach with waters safe for swimming. We wanted to do nothing but read and relax and this place was perfect. Staff were excellent in all respects and the food was wonderful, especially the pastas and western dishes. Curry not so brilliant but there were so many other choices of seafood that curry was not required.

Eating each meal on the beach was heaven. Sipping cold beer watching the waves and reading ... just perfect. Great value too.

Room Tip: Choose a non air conditioned room (sea breezes are lovely) on the first floor with private balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lynatbello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

BACKGROUND & RECOMMENDATION:
As we had decided to travel along the west and south coast, Beruwala seemed like a good stop-over on our way south. We stayed at Ypsylon for 2 nights. Ypsylon calls itself resort, which is probably half-true, but keep in mind that it's a 2-star place that might remind you more of a guest house. Do stay here for a few days if you are travelling on a budget and planning to explore the region rather than staying at the hotel. All in all, it's a good 2 stars, with cleanliness getting an extra point, but I do not see why a non-diver would stay here for longer than 2-3 days. For extended stays in this region, I would personally prefer Bentota, where you will find guest houses at even lower prices, even though most are directly next to the train tracks and might annoy you compared to the much quieter Beruwala.

LOCATION & TRAVEL TIPS:
We took a long-distance train to Aluthgama (beware old men on the train who try to give you 'recommendations' - they're just out for your money) and then a tuk-tuk to Ypsylon. The hotel is well-known and about 4 km away from the railway station. Ypsylon is directly on a long strip of beach and good starting point to explore Bentota and its surroundings. Beruwala itself is very small and there is not much to see. Bentota is about 5-6 km away and roughly divided into a tourist area with hotels, resorts, small shops and markets and Bentota village. Both are small as well, but at least there is some life. A big river runs between Beruwala and Bentota and makes for a good river tour where you can see and even hold baby crocodiles, among other exotic creatures. Beach boys will approach you for that tour every few steps. Others, especially tuk-tuk drivers, will try to introduce you to the local factory (where prices are VERY high compared to common souvenir shops) or shops for tea and spices. There are also a big Buddha statue and a turtle farm if you have extra time.

BEACH:
Just about all rooms have sea view, and the sight is indeed very pretty. Unfortunately, the beach Ypsylon is situated on isn't suitable for bathing or swimming. You'll have to walk further to the left, past the fishermen - and please do, because they tend to throw small dead fish back into the sea and you might be unlucky enough to swim with them. Out in the sea, you will see a long rocky strip which keeps away the strong waves. The water is shallow, but stony, and you will see fish jumping along the rocks if you bother climbing up there. Be careful of the currents, however, they can be very strong, especially in the evening. Children should stay close to the shore.
If you care to explore the coast line, though, I can tell you that I found my favourite Sri Lankan beach (yes, even after visiting Unawatuna and Mirissa) in Bentota. The beach starts just 3-4 km south of Ypsylon, next to a small 'mountain' where you will find a natural Buddha temple (worth a short visit!). We took a boat across the river and ended up at the north end of Bentota beach. We found a spot where the water was calm and shallow, then suddenly got deep, only to become swallow again - as there was a sandy beach right in the middle of the sea! It, too, keeps away the strong waves further on the sea. There are no fish, however, and you'll have to be careful where to step, as the sand tends to give away very suddenly.

FACILITIES:
There is a diving school which seems quite popular with guests, both at Ypsylon and from outside. We didn't try any Ayurveda treatments. The restaurant near the reception is an open, roofed area. It looks extremely unwelcoming and is usually empty, as most people sit at the tables on the beach. There is also a small garden area with a pool, which is very clean and well-kept and easily the most beautiful area in all of Ypsylon. The rest looks stereotypically German: orderly, cold and built to be practical, not pleasing to the eye.

ROOMS:
We had a comfort room with fan and balcony facing the sea. The room was spacious, modern, with good water pressure and hot water, very clean (definitely the cleanest of all our Sri Lanka accomodations) and very well designed. It reminded me a little too much of Europe, but I will not complain about that. The double bed had a much-needed mosquito net, as the top part of the walls on the window and door sides were rows of small pillars... which means mosquitos could come in freely from outside. I didn't like the lighting which was rather dark, but was later thankful for it as it probably attracted less mosquitos. Still, we didn't sleep very well, and both of us counted an endless number of mosquito attacks on our bodies. We were fairly happy to leave Ypsylon after 2 nights. Aside from A/C rooms, we noticed that some other rooms didn't seem to have this problem, as a transparent layer covered the pillar part of the wall in other rooms so that they were completely closed. Make sure to check!

FOOD:
Breakfast was inclusive, and that was the first time we realized it was standard fare in most common hotels in Sri Lanka and the Maldives: toast, an egg specialty of your choice (omelette, fried eggs or scrambled eggs), a bit of marmelade and butter, a small selection of fruit (banana, pineapply, watermelon and papaya) and coffee or black tea. (Needless to say, we got very tired of this after 10 more days.) Reading other reviews and their old menu, there had been a time you could choose a more typically Sri Lankan breakfast with curry, but no longer.
Lunch and dinner, by the way, is pricey and of average quality. You just don't have many alternatives if you don't want to take a tuk-tuk to other nearby areas.

SERVICE:
So-so. The staff seems either bored or shy, and there was no personal connection.

OTHER TIPS:
Room prices at Ypsylon are quoted in Euro. Don't bother exchanging money to pay for your room if you already carry Euro. Paying in a different currency will not be in your favour.

Room Tip: Get a room with A/C if you don't want to become mosquito fodder.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thyla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

This place is right next to some 5 star resorts - this paired with the varying reviews I read, I was wary about booking it! After reading reviews, I asked for a room upstairs which was good but I didn't get the outside area to sit in like a balcony as my room was right at the top of the stairs. This wasn't a problem though. The room was fine - 2 single beds (even though it was a double room but I was on my own so it was ok), a chair, a wardrobe and an ensuite bathroom. I had to wait a while for the warm water to kick in but it was fine. The bed was comfortable and had an insect net above it. The included breakfast was great and the staff were very helpful. The setting is great - right on the beach, the pool was lovely and peaceful (unless it was being used for scuba training). The Ayurveda centre at the back of the garden did good treatments for reasonable prices. I bought my mum and her partner here for lunch from their 5 star resort down the road and they loved it - the food was great. They were doing renovation on the place while I was there (it was supposed to finish in September) but they didn't start early and it was mainly painting. For the price, this really is a gem and I recommend it!

Room Tip: Not at the top of the stairs as people tend to stop and chat early in the morning so it can be noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank absinythe69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo
Level Contributor
62 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

Excellent view of the sea. The building needs serious renovations. The room we stayed was shocking. The roof was just a piece of asbestos with no ceiling. Hard Mattresses. No soap in the bathroom. Not a single window in the room and it was incredibly hot. For sri lankan breakfast all we got was string hoppers and a potato curry. Not even an egg is given on request. The staff is very nice and the service was good. Shelton the manager was most outstanding.

Room Tip: Ask for an A/C Room and you will have a proper roof over your head
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Eresha w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sverige
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed for 9 days at Ypsylon hotel in January 2013. We did not have any expectations before our arrival since we knew it was a 2-star hotel. Rooms are ok and the location is good. After exploring the area we found better hotels for the same price. Food was also OK.
However, the service was fantastic! The staff was extremely friendly and professional, they were keen on satisfying each guest. We´ve experienced worse service even in 5-star hotels.

The avarage age of guests staying at Ypsylon was 50+ which gives the place a strange ambiance for younger visitors.

But if you just want to relax at the beach, this is a good place to start with in Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OxanaPe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
85 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

Here are the three main reasons why we did not like our stay at the Ypsylon Guest house:
1/ Location is OK but all buildings need serious cleaning and renovation; sea view settings are fine without being extraordinary.
2/ Food is not a great asset either.
3/ Attitude of staff and management is far from being customer friendly; very disappointing. It's all about money!

Here some details about our 5 days-experience:
Hotel - The reception consists in a wooden desk where staff is on duty to keep the house, check the bills or do some administrative work. They just don't care about clients and don't see any point in making your stay nicer. Ask to use their phone to make a local phone call; they will be happy to charge you 25 SR / minute (normally you pay 1 SR / minute if an hotel dares asking you to pay for such a basic service). The restaurant is far from being a nice and cosy area too; in the middle of the place sits the cashier desk. It says a lot about the philosophy of this place and attitude of almost all waiters running after you to sign your bills.

Food - I guess it depends on each one's taste but it was not ours. The cook is German and prepares all sorts of German dishes. Sri Lankan cuisine was the worst we had in 2 weeks. Breakfast were not great either and we almost had to make a point to get what we ordered... On the contrary their cocktails, banana shakes and fruit juices are worth a try.

Rooms - Basic but clean. We were initially booked in a basic double room on the roof terrace. It was rather small but clean and with sea views from the terrace (common space to all upstairs double rooms). After one night we had to move to a triple room (ground floor facing the sea): same but just some more space to fit an additional single bed.

Location - As Ypsylon is not one of a kind in Beruwala, its location does not make it specifically attractive either. The only interest in this place is eventually its Diving Center. We took a PADI course with local instructor & team and could warmly recommend the experience.

Service - We were terribly shocked to discover the lack of professionalism of the management and its subordinated staff. Staff was stressed out (rather unusual in Sri Lanka) and constantly running after money/bills. No sense of customer service.

The worst thing is that the owner mixes family life with business life. We had the pleasure to meet with one of the owner's kids: Into the diving pool and in the middle of our PADI lesson with our instructor, the owner's 41 years old son did not think about anything better than interrupting the course, making funny signals and finally showing us his butt before leaving. Such a great sense of humour!
The owner did not think of presenting any apologies after we complained.

All in all, if not for the Diving Center, just pass your way as there are plenty of better places where to stay in Beruwala.

Ypsylon reaches the very bottom of our list of hotels visited in Sri Lanka.

Room Tip: Double rooms on the first floor with semi-private balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AC_BCN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beruwala
0.2 mi away
Cinnamon Bey Beruwala
Cinnamon Bey Beruwala
#1 of 1 in Moragolla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,510 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Palms Hotel
The Palms Hotel
#4 of 11 in Beruwala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
3.0 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Lanka Princess
Lanka Princess
#2 of 6 in Aluthgama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
2.5 mi away
Wunderbar Beach Club Hotel
3.7 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ypsylon Tourist Resort & Diving School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ypsylon Tourist Resort & Diving School

Property: Ypsylon Tourist Resort & Diving School
Address: Moragalla, Beruwala 12070, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Beruwala
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Beruwala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ypsylon Tourist Resort & Diving School 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Ypsylon Tourist Resort & Diving School reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ypsylon Tourist Resort & Diving School Sri Lanka/Beruwala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing