We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellant staff,perfect beach property”
Review of Eden Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Eden Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Beruwala
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellant staff,perfect beach property”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

I stayed at the hotel with a group of people.we really did enjoy the stay thanks to a wonderful hotel staff.From the beginning everything started well ,warm welcome with the reception staff with lot of smile which i found at any stage of the day during our stay.have being to many hotels around the world and when it comes to perfect staff who make your stay perfect and memorable one ,this hotel too have such a great staff who are very flexible/dynamic/customized service etc which make clients to come back. We stayed in Deluxe rooms. Perfect clean/spacy rooms with all amenities available of a given star category of the hotel.Since the hotel was full during the nights we stayed,it seems very crowded as it has more than 150 rooms but services of the hotel staff without any delays made us more comfortable.Nice location with nice beach and as per hotel structure at a glance you can see most part of the hotel.Nice long pool with a pool bar,great place to chill out.Have so many areas for arranging private dinners which we really enjoyed.Hotel management also look after different entertainment programmes each day for in house guest. Food were excellent and had a variety of foods each day and it was great indeed as the hotel had so many guest of different nationalities.It was nice indeed having a beach party organize by the hotel for in house guest.From the hotel it's just 5-10 minutes to the city center. I would say hotel is a great location for FIT or business clients and even for honey moon couple.Nice location since we saw so many in house guest getting married of different nationalities which the arrangement organize by hotel at request.Hotel also has many indoor sports like squash/pool/gym etc and a place to play beach volley ball.
i would definitely go there for my next stay and meet up those wonderful staff during my stay.
Special thanks to Shehan and Kasun who looked after our stay at all time and Ranil for arranging private dinners with F&B staff with exclusive service for us as we were a group of people wanted more private area.Thank you also for Mr.Eksath who's the General manager who personally met us to ask and do the needful for a perfect stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anuruddha_Peiris81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden R, General Manager at Eden Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from Eden Resort & Spa, Beruwala

We thank you for your valuable time taken to express your views about Eden Resort & Spa, Beruwala

We are most delighted to learn that you have had a wonderful and memorable experience in our Resort. Your feedback will most certainly add impetus in our quest towards excellence.

We look forward to your continued patronage and assure you of the very best in services, facilities & hospitality in the true Sri Lankan way.

Yours Truly

Eksath Wijeratne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    857
    402
    151
    68
    46
See reviews for
406
685
49
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Just returned from Sri Lanka after our second visit, staying this time at the Eden. All the staff helpful and professional with special mention for Navanjana, receptionist who made our stay extra special with her thoughtfulness & kindness. The food was lovely with fresh lobster and king prawns cooked to order through the day. We ate mainly at the Cameleon Cafe in the evening as it felt calmer and had waiter service, the chef was happy to put together wonderful Sri Lankan dishes on request, special thanks to Sean, Assistant food and beverage Manager, .Dinesh, pool bar, Prasad, Nishatha and Samantha, all the staff from the gardening to management were outstanding. We also ventured outside in the evening to the Aishea and Amal Restaurants, Amal being a wonderful fish restaurant. Indika our Tuk Tuk driver and a member of the Hotel Taxi Service took us to most locations, nothing was to much trouble for him, highly recommended if you want to get from A to B.
Very relaxing and returned home refreshed. The hotel does offer daytime activities such as, volley ball, beach and pool, darts etc but the entertainment team won't come around and ask you to play, generally you will need to start your own game and other people may join in. Duty managers mingled with guests throughout the day and evening ensuring your all is ok with you stay. In our opinion Yala is the far better safari. Try and visit the local school if you can, on this trip we visited the school that is sponsored by the hotel. We always take time out to do this during our travels, Dictionary's and writing books are always welcome. The Beach traders only needed a gentle but firm ' No thank you' to leave you alone. The beach lovely but take care when swimming, red flag displayed during all of our stay, but life guards on the site. We would stay at this hotel again, very clean, refurbished with hardworking professional staff and lovely local people.
All in all a wonderful holiday

Room Tip: For sun in your room later afternoon ask for a room on the left side, looking out from reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manda-June
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden R, General Manager at Eden Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
We are delighted to see your encouraging note and indeed it was our privileged to serve you at Eden Resort Spa. We are always committed to serve our valued guest and happy that you gave us an opportunity to show you the hospitality in truly Sri Lankan way.

Thank you once again for your sentiments and we look forward to your continued patronage and assure you of the very best in services, facilities & hospitality in the true Sri Lankan way.

Yours Truly

Eksath Wijeratne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014

We have just returned from a ten day break at the Eden Resort & Spa; it was our first visit, although we had been to Sri Lanka before, and it was everything and more that the many fine reviews of this hotel affirm. The staff were outstanding-always polite, friendly and helpful and the service was top notch in all areas. We were lucky to be there to see in the New Year on April 14th with all the associated ceremony, dancing and entertainments. The quality of the food in the buffet was splendid including lagoon shrimps one of which literally filled half your plate, and a regular array of seafood including fresh oysters. Loads of other choices for the non-fishy inclined and a good range of curries of various strengths. Soups, salads and desserts were also plentiful and varied; this is a tough place to keep slim! With no worries about the availability of sun-beds, restful hours interspersed with walks along the lovely beach were the order of the day. The beach boys were very good and, whilst attempting to ply their trade, took a 'no thank you' readily.

This place is very hard to fault in any department at all. The only suggestion which could be offered would be to have only part of the bar as a smoking area, but this is a small thing alongside everything else which the Eden Resort &Spa does so superbly and with a management which always seems to be striving as a hotel to be even better than they were the day before. No one pesters you for tips either which actually makes one all the more willing to give when merited. We witnessed a couple of spectacular thunderstorms -even these arrive at the end of the day so as not to inconvenience the guests!

We spent a couple of days out at Yala which was well worth the visit as were the turtle hatchery, Galle, the moonstone mine, spice garden and the river trip ; the elephant orphanage was special. It was right to visit the Tsunami memorials too in order to remind ourselves of just how much Sri Lanka has been through and how its resilient people have rebuilt after the tragedy.

Be advised only that the airport transfer time can be of variable length-on arrival it took us three and a half hours; but the return trip was only two-have bottles of water and catch up on your sleep-but it is so well worth the journey.

Room Tip: We were Superior rooms-not the Deluxe or Paradise but our room was well kitted out; everything worke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oskar77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden R, General Manager at Eden Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Sir / Madam,

We highly appreciate your valuable feedback on our service & the staff which you experienced during your visit to our hotel. We are indeed proud to hear from you that you enjoyed your stay at this hotel, and certainly it’s an honour for us to have served you here in Sri Lanka! Thank you once again, and looking forward to another opportunity in the future to serve you again at Eden Resort & Spa!!

Best Regards,
Eksath Wijeratne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 18, 2014

This is one of the most outstanding resorts in Sri Lanka...we enjoyed our stay here.the rooms were fabulous,excellent pool and most of all wonderful staff who were very obliging...General manager of the hotel and the duty manager went the extra mile to make our stay fabulous... Thank you so much and will be returning soon ...you made us feel at home.....

Janaki Deckker

Room Tip: All rooms are fantastic...do not hesitate to book this hotel...
See more room tips
Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Janakideck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden R, General Manager at Eden Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from Eden Resort & Spa, Beruwala

We thank you for your valuable time taken to express your views about Eden Resort & Spa, Beruwala

We are most delighted to learn that you have had a wonderful and memorable experience in our Resort. Your feedback will most certainly add impetus in our quest towards excellence.

We look forward to your continued patronage and assure you of the very best in services, facilities & hospitality in the true Sri Lankan way.

Yours Truly

Eksath Wijeratne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2014

This has been our 5th consecutive wonderful holiday at the Eden which we look forward to each year ( we do go elsewhere in the summer ) but this is our ideal winter break. The hotel has recently been refurbished with new pool tiling, pool bar restaurant and main buffet restaurant and many of the rooms. What brings us back each year is the tropical location, beach and the way you are looked after by the wonderful staff. The garden which overlooks the beach is studded with coconut palms and is perfect for relaxing. A special thank you to miss Tharani of guest relations for making us feel so valued as clients, mr Lasantha & his staff (Nishantha) for the excellent housekeeping and bed decoration of our room, mr Shirantha in the buffet, and all the other guys and girls we cannot name here but much appreciate their service. Back again in 2015

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SriLankaLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden R, General Manager at Eden Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from Eden Resort & Spa, Beruwala

We thank you for your continues patronage and valuable time taken to express your views about Eden Resort & Spa, Beruwala

We are most delighted to learn that you have had a wonderful and memorable experience in our Resort. Your feedback will most certainly add impetus in our quest towards excellence.

We look forward to your continued patronage and assure you of the very best in services, facilities & hospitality in the true Sri Lankan way.

Yours Truly

Eksath Wijeratne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 3, 2014

This was our first visit to this excellent hotel.We stayed for 10 nights and enjoyed every minute.The room,food,bar and sevice were excellent.All the staff very friendly and special the Chef Rohan was brillant and would cook anything we asked for.Also all the restaurant staff were brillant.In the lounge bar the staff were also fautless and specially Chanakadiluke as he made few cocktails.The pool area and garden very tidy and also you could see the beach from garden.My wife wanted to drink green coconut water and one of the staff Navanjana abimani made arrangements and she was also brillant and friendly.I would recommand this rescort and we will return again

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thakor T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden R, General Manager at Eden Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from Eden Resort & Spa, Beruwala

We thank you for your valuable time taken to express your views about Eden Resort & Spa, Beruwala

We are most delighted to learn that you have had a wonderful and memorable experience in our Resort. Your feedback will most certainly add impetus in our quest towards excellence.

We look forward to your continued patronage and assure you of the very best in services, facilities & hospitality in the true Sri Lankan way.

Yours Truly

Eksath Wijeratne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014

We returned to this wonderful hotel after we got married here in 2003. The hotel has been beautifully refurbished since our last trip and the pool and gardens were beautiful. The hotel has an excellent buffet restaurant which offers a fantastic selection of food to cater for everyone. They also have a superb cocktail bar.. 7th Heaven and it's a beautiful area to sit in the evening and drink a wide selection of cocktails and beers. The temptations restaurant is also superb ...we ate there twice. The set menu and a la cart menu is fantastic and the food was amazing. We stayed in a paradise room which offers a butler service to cater for your every need which they did, and canapés and drinks were brought to our room every evening. The staff here were all fantastic, their customer service is second to none! They are all very professional and can't do enough to help you. We were treated impeccably by all the staff throughout our stay. The guest relations executive Tharani was brilliant, she arranged a trip for me to visit the local school which was wonderful and nothing was to much trouble. The Eden is an amazing place to stay....fantastic service and excellent value for money....we will definitely be returning and would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Louise E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden R, General Manager at Eden Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from Eden Resort & Spa, Beruwala

We thank you for your valuable time taken to express your views about Eden Resort & Spa, Beruwala

We are most delighted to learn that you have had a wonderful and memorable experience in our Resort. Your feedback will most certainly add impetus in our quest towards excellence.

We look forward to your continued patronage and assure you of the very best in services, facilities & hospitality in the true Sri Lankan way.

Yours Truly

Eksath Wijeratne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beruwala
2.0 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
0.9 mi away
Cinnamon Bey Beruwala
Cinnamon Bey Beruwala
#1 of 1 in Moragolla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,582 reviews
1.0 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
16.9 mi away
The Blue Water
The Blue Water
#3 of 10 in Wadduwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,360 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Palms Hotel
The Palms Hotel
#5 of 10 in Beruwala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eden Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eden Resort & Spa

Property: Eden Resort & Spa
Address: | Kaluwamodara, Beruwala, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Beruwala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Beruwala
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Beruwala
#2 Spa Hotel in Beruwala
#4 Romantic Hotel in Beruwala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Eden Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax on a beach chair with a tropical cocktail and watch the sun set over the Indian Ocean. Walk on miles of pristine beaches as the sky and water merge as crimson and gold. Let our experienced massage therapists melt away the stress from your body at our elaborate spa. Select a bottle of wine from our elaborate wine cellar and sit down to a fine dining experience like no other. Curl up in your luxurious room and drift into your dreams without a care in the world. Enjoy five-star luxury at the Eden Resort and Spa, your ultimate beach holiday destination in Beruwala, Sri Lanka. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Eden Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Resort And Spa
Eden Hotel Beruwala
Eden Resort Beruwela
Eden Hotel Beruwela
Eden Resort Sri Lanka
Eden Resort & Spa Sri Lanka/Beruwala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing