We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Sri Lankan Holiday, will be back”
Review of Eden Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Eden Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Beruwala
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 27, 2013

The hotel is in a beautiful location, and the facilities are OK. However it is going to be renovated soon, so, probably after mid year it will be much better.
What is remarkable in this hotel, is the people and their service, it is Excellent they are always trying to make you happy and comfortable.
We actually arrived very early in the morning (5:30am) and as expected our two interconnecting rooms were not yet available. We were asked to wait at the library while the restaurant and the pool open. However, right after breakfast (about 7:30am) someone of the reception stuff found us and informed that the gave us un upgrade to a Family suite, which ended being way better than our two regular rooms.
We usually don't come back to the same place, just trying to visit as many places a s we can, but we really think we will be back to Sri Lanka, and obviously to this hotel.
Visitors should be aware that the hotel is not plenty of activities and games for the kids (They have some), but this place is the perfect place for a relaxing holiday right on the beach.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, get the penthouse it is awesome. Ground floor rooms facing to the pool are a...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oscar1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden R, General Manager at Eden Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from Eden Resort & Spa, Beruwala

We thank you for your valuable time taken to express your views about Eden Resort & Spa, Beruwala

We are most delighted to learn that you have had a wonderful and memorable experience in our Resort. Your feedback will most certainly add impetus in our quest towards excellence.

We look forward to your continued patronage and assure you of the very best in services, facilities & hospitality in the true Sri Lankan way.

Yours Truly

Eksath Wijeratne
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,604)
There are newer reviews for Eden Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

705 - 711 of 1,604 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2013

The hotel is spotless. The service is always with a smile & they are always helpful & willing. As this was our second visit we were treated with a warm welcome & made to feel important. Rooms are being updated as of May/June along with the pool and restaurant. Altogether a wonderful and perfect stay. :o)

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SunshineSeeker100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden R, General Manager at Eden Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from Eden Resort & Spa, Beruwala

We thank you for your valuable time taken to express your views about Eden Resort & Spa, Beruwala

We are most delighted to learn that you have had a wonderful and memorable experience in our Resort. Your feedback will most certainly add impetus in our quest towards excellence.

We look forward to your continued patronage and assure you of the very best in services, facilities & hospitality in the true Sri Lankan way.

Yours Truly

Eksath Wijeratne
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

this was my second visit to srilanka & eden, the first time was awsome that's why i decided to reserve there for my honeymoon.
i did a mistake in the reservation when i reserved a single bed instead of a double one, when i arrived they made me pay way more than the amount i'd have to pay through booking, i felt like they took the advantage of my mistake. however, the room was awful, the bathroom was dirty and uncomfortable, the walls were cracked, overall, the room doesn't worth what i paid.

on the other hand, the restaurant, the pool & specially the beach were perfectly amazing, me and my wife had so much fun there.

thank you.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A7mad_MAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden R, General Manager at Eden Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Dear Sir / Madam,

We highly appreciate your valuable feedback on our service & the staff which you experienced during your visit to our hotel. We read your points with great concern and your comments have been strictly taken up with the relevant persons & have already addressed the areas concerned.

Our utmost desire is to provide maximum guest satisfaction to our customers, and we appreciate if you could allow us another opportunity to prove our best delivery of service to you while assuring you a memorable holiday experience here at Eden Resort & Spa!!

Yours Truly
Eksath Wijeratne
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Good hotel and lovely staff. The Sri Lankan people are wonderful. They are ill equipped to deal with hordes of drunk brawling male Russians, I am shocked that they have been allowed to stay in this hotel. What has happened with the CONFIFI/LOCL marketing campaign? Perhaps they do not want Europeans staying any more and it is all about money

Room Tip: I am really angry about my stay. I love Sri Lanka and was born and brought up there.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sprite57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden R, General Manager at Eden Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Dear Sir / Madam,

We highly appreciate your valuable feedback on our service & the staff which you experienced during your visit to our hotel. We read your points with great concern and your comments have been strictly taken up with the relevant department & have already addressed the areas concerned.

Our utmost desire is to provide maximum guest satisfaction to our customers, and we appreciate if you could allow us another opportunity to prove our best delivery of service to you while assuring you a memorable holiday experience here at Eden Resort & Spa!!

Yours Truly
Eksath Wijeratne
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

I stayed at the Eden Resort & Spa for four nights after a week long tour around Sri Lanka.

On arrival I was checked in very promptly and was given an upgrade to a superior room. My room was on the ground floor with a patio opening out onto the pool and bar, which was very convenient. It was also right beside the restaurant.

The room was very clean and the bathroom was huge, with a bath on one side and a big shower cubicle on the other (the shower pressure was excellent). The beds (I had a twin room) were comfortable, although instead of having a sheet on top like all the other hotels in the warmers areas I stayed in during my trip, there was a duvet! It was a thin duvet, but still completely unneccessary considering the tropical climate (about 35 celcius during the day and not that much cooler at night time, especially with 90% humidity). The air conditioning was also pretty weak compared with other hotels. It wasn't exactly uncomfortable - it just would have been nicer to have it a bit cooler/stronger - and it meant there was definitely no need for the duvet!

The sunlounger staff were very helpful and friendly and would set up a lounger for you in the hotel grounds wherever you wanted and move it around if you preferred more sun or shade during different times of the day. As most people have said in their reviews, don't expect to use the beach much. There aren't any loungers out there, and there are a lot of touts hanging about by the fence shouting for your attention (I would recommend not having a lounger near the fence as the constant shouting is quite grating, however you can't hear them closer to the pool). The red flag was flying on the beach during my entire stay (meaning the water wasn't safe), however an American couple told me some of the staff had shown them a cove nearby where it was OK to swim.

The pool was lovely and very clean with a few 'bench' areas in the water where you could sit half submerged but still in the sun - which was a brilliant escape from the full-on heat! The Splash Bar by the pool was also great, either to sit at a table or at the swim up bar. The staff were very friendly and remembered your room number and preferred beverage! It was the same with the main bar - very friendly and welcoming.

The buffets in the restaurant were good (although nothing special), with a decent variety, and I did notice there was always staff looking at the trays making sure everything was clean, replacing serving spoons and stirring it to keep it fresh, which was reassuring. The restaurant however, was the only place I felt conscious of being a lone traveller. Getting a table for one did seem to cause a bit of trouble for the staff - it just seemed to confuse them - and there was one night when I had to eat out on the veranda (there were other guests there too, but there was no air con and so it was very hot), because finding a table for one in the restaurant interior just seemed to be too overwhelming a task for one of the younger members of staff.

The drinks service in the restaurant was not great. A few times I was not offered a drink until half way through the meal, or even not at all! It was the same situation with coffee at breakfast.

The head of housekeeping was lovely. He obviously takes a lot of pride in his work and when doing the rounds for the evening turn down service he would always ask if everything was OK, if I was happy with the room, if I needed anything else etc.

I bought some jewellery from the hotel shop, which they made up for me especially with no extra cost as they didn't have the matching stone and clasp 'ready-made', which was a nice special touch.

It takes about three and a half hours to get to the airport on a weekday - make sure to leave plenty of time as the traffic in Colombo can be terrible!

Overall I had a wonderful time at the Eden Resort & Spa. There's just a few things that need polishing, like strength of the air con and the service in the restaurant and then it would get 5/5.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor don't have a view of the sea, just the pool, but are much more conveni...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank midtwentiestraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden R, General Manager at Eden Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Dear Sir / Madam,

We highly appreciate your valuable feedback on our service & the staff which you experienced during your visit to our hotel. We read your points about the AC with great concern and your comments have been strictly taken up with the relevant persons & have already addressed the areas concerned.

We are most delighted to learn that overall you have had a wonderful and memorable experience in our Resort. Your feedback will most certainly add impetus in our quest towards excellence.

Yours Truly
Eksath Wijeratne
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Lovely location overlooking beach and big pool set in gardens. Rooms big and airy and staff extremely attentive and helpful. Buffet style meals with good choice and poolside bar did lovely lobster at reasonable price.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonathanmckenzie1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden R, General Manager at Eden Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from Eden Resort & Spa, Beruwala

We thank you for your valuable time taken to express your views about Eden Resort & Spa, Beruwala

We are most delighted to learn that you have had a wonderful and memorable experience in our Resort. Your feedback will most certainly add impetus in our quest towards excellence.

We look forward to your continued patronage and assure you of the very best in services, facilities & hospitality in the true Sri Lankan way.

Yours Truly

Eksath Wijeratne
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

The hotel was lovely and clean. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. The beach boys are very trustworthy ask for pattey or Anthony.
The hotel was exactly what it says and more.
The food was fresh and a wide variety. I would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden R, General Manager at Eden Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from Eden Resort & Spa, Beruwala

We thank you for your valuable time taken to express your views about Eden Resort & Spa, Beruwala

We are most delighted to learn that you have had a wonderful and memorable experience in our Resort. Your feedback will most certainly add impetus in our quest towards excellence.

We look forward to your continued patronage and assure you of the very best in services, facilities & hospitality in the true Sri Lankan way.

Yours Truly

Eksath Wijeratne
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beruwala
0.9 mi away
Cinnamon Bey Beruwala
Cinnamon Bey Beruwala
#1 of 1 in Moragolla
1,698 reviews
2.0 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
1.0 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
The Palms Hotel
The Palms Hotel
#6 of 10 in Beruwala
835 reviews
11.8 mi away
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
#3 of 11 in Kalutara
1,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eden Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eden Resort & Spa

Address: | Kaluwamodara, Beruwala, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Beruwala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Beruwala
#2 Spa Hotel in Beruwala
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Beruwala
#2 Luxury Hotel in Beruwala
#4 Romantic Hotel in Beruwala
Price Range: $85 - $418 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Eden Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax on a beach chair with a tropical cocktail and watch the sun set over the Indian Ocean. Walk on miles of pristine beaches as the sky and water merge as crimson and gold. Let our experienced massage therapists melt away the stress from your body at our elaborate spa. Select a bottle of wine from our elaborate wine cellar and sit down to a fine dining experience like no other. Curl up in your luxurious room and drift into your dreams without a care in the world. Enjoy five-star luxury at the Eden Resort and Spa, your ultimate beach holiday destination in Beruwala, Sri Lanka. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Otel, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Eden Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Hotel Beruwala
Eden Resort And Spa
Eden Resort Beruwela
Eden Hotel Beruwela
Eden Resort Sri Lanka
Eden Resort & Spa Sri Lanka/Beruwala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing