We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprised by the food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eden Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Eden Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Beruwala
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Surprised by the food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

Had a lovely time here, the hotel staff are very good. Of particular note were the themed food evenings which made what could have been yet another dull hotel buffet far more enjoyable. My particular favourite was the Alps night, partly from the surprise of eating traditional Swiss food in Sri Lanka but also that the quality of the dishes prepared was especially good.
Worth a visit.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WayneLKP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden R, General Manager at Eden Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from Eden Resort & Spa, Beruwala

We thank you for your valuable time taken to express your views about Eden Resort & Spa, Beruwala

We are most delighted to learn that you have had a wonderful and memorable experience in our Resort. Your feedback will most certainly add impetus in our quest towards excellence.

We look forward to your continued patronage and assure you of the very best in services, facilities & hospitality in the true Sri Lankan way.

Yours Truly

Eksath Wijeratne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,485 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    841
    386
    147
    66
    45
See reviews for
398
668
45
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bordeaux, France
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

Spent a great 5 days at the Eden Resort.

Slightly faded hotel (but due to close for 4 months starting April or so for rejuvenation). Nicest service (Thanks go out to to the butler Anton).
Had asked for connecting rooms when booking trough our travel agent, as we were travelling with 2 kids of 4 and 7, but they only have 2+2 of them. But, as in other places in Sri Lanka, when you cry "baby" (generic for small child), they bent over backwards and we were rapidly given the choice between the two (family) suites. Took Suite 416, which has the poorest available stylng (a hybrid between cheesy new Louis XIV and Disney), out went one table, in 2 beds and, presto, here's your family suite.

Everything always squeaky clean. Bathroom always spotless. Were treated to daily towel sculptures of elefants or swans on our bed. Cute.

Food was ok, if not fantastic. Choice targeted to the Eastern European and (older) German palates, which were the majority of guests.
Sea Food restaurant served very good quality at night (and with very few guests willing to go the extra mile outside their FB or HB bookings), you're pretty much on your own for dinner.

Few kids around in early March and nothing really organized for them. Staff nevertheless doing everyhting that is possible to keep them happy.
Were treated to having the opportunity to take drinks in one of the rooftop suites. Outstanding view. Here again 'Istuti Anton".

All in all a highly pleasant stay! Not the funkiest or newest hotel, but the service was defintively outstanding.
WiFi asthmatic and in the lobby / Bar area only.

Be aware that it takes about 3 hours to reach the airport (via

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

Once again we've been back to the Eden Resort and Spa in Beruwela and had a fantastic holiday. The hotel is very relaxing and has fantastic staff that cater for our every need. Our room was very comfortable and clean with our room attendant Lasantha giving the most perfect of service. The pool restaurant is excellent for sea food and light snacks in the heat of the day with friendly and helpful staff like Shirantha and his colleagues. The pool is large and not overcrowded. The beach is one of the best I've visited, being approx 1 mile long of perfect sand and almost devoid of beach beds and umbrellas. Overall excellent and we'll be back again next February.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SriLankaLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyiv
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

I have visited this hotel in the beginning of March. You know, when you come to another country you need some time to get familiar to it. The hotel appeared to be very nice. The personnel was very friendly and helpful. They made me feel like home. Special regards to Miss Tharani. She is very kind and qualified. It was great pleasure to stay there.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

This was not the original hotel of my choice but the Taj Bentota was full so my travel agency booked me here instead. Eden is more than an hour's drive from the airport. Wicki, the driver was very helpful and informative during the ride. The resort is tucked away, almost hidden from the main road. On arrival, I was welcomed with a lovely cold drink and upgraded to half-board (nice deal). Staff were very nice and answered all my questions about dining times, excursions, etc.

The hotel itself is not new but everything has been maintained. My room, though a little worn, was provided with clean sheets and towels, toiletries, bottled water and tea/coffee-making facilities.

The food at the main restaurant was great, always such a variety with a theme every night. Drinks, however, were not included in the package. I tried the spa and had a wonderful oil massage. The pool was quite big and always cleaned; I had a walk on the beach but didn't try to swim as the sea was quite rough. There are beach boys who offer boat trips - you can try and make a deal with them. I was in talks to go on one but never made it coz it rained! I visited the Botanical Gardens, elephant orphanage, tea factories and Kandy. Staff were thoughtful enough to provide breakfast in a bag out when I missed dining in at those times.

I had an early flight out and the driver was very prompt. Check-out was efficient even at such an early hour.

I want to thank everyone at Eden Resort for such a wonderful stay. I found the hospitality and service top-notch at all times - truly commendable.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amaranth_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

My husband and I have visited this great hotel at least 10 times or more.We keep going back to
this hotel because everyone that works there is great.All the staff from the garden boys to the top management are friendly and helpful.No problem is too great for them .Everyone will try and solve your problem as soon as you report it.The chefs are also very helpful and will cook anything that is not on the menu with a smile on their faces.We know almost everyone who works there and its the staffs polite greetings and smiles that take us back there each year!!The hotel is on a great beach and the gardens and spa are very peaceful.we also have taken part in yoga classe which take place a couple of times a week.This service is complimentary and enjoyable.Pool activities are also enjoyable and the staff is great.there is also music in the bar
daily whether its a dj or live band,so good entertainment.They also hold a cultural evening at least once a week and its enjoyable to see the local dancers performing.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raniv51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

We have just returned after having spent 7 wonderful days at lovely hotel. The hotel and staff were absolutely amazing. Chef Rohan served up some wonderful food after he realised our special dietary requirement. He was a perfect host looking after us with some tasty food always beautifully presented. Fazal The Gardner was another jewel of this hotel. He was Always happy and obliging to find the perfect position for the sun bed in the beautifully looked after grounds, The Eden Garden Restaurant Where chef Rohan also had good staff like Ranga who was always charming, helpful and always smiling, however it is wrong to single out individual names like I have done as all the staff were just as good.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mahendra T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beruwala
2.0 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
0.9 mi away
Cinnamon Bey Beruwala
Cinnamon Bey Beruwala
#1 of 1 in Moragolla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,511 reviews
2.8 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
16.9 mi away
The Blue Water
The Blue Water
#2 of 10 in Wadduwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,324 reviews
9.6 mi away
Heritance Ahungalla
Heritance Ahungalla
#1 of 2 in Ahungalla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eden Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eden Resort & Spa

Property: Eden Resort & Spa
Address: | Kaluwamodara, Beruwala, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Beruwala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Beruwala
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Beruwala
#2 Spa Hotel in Beruwala
#4 Romantic Hotel in Beruwala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Eden Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax on a beach chair with a tropical cocktail and watch the sun set over the Indian Ocean. Walk on miles of pristine beaches as the sky and water merge as crimson and gold. Let our experienced massage therapists melt away the stress from your body at our elaborate spa. Select a bottle of wine from our elaborate wine cellar and sit down to a fine dining experience like no other. Curl up in your luxurious room and drift into your dreams without a care in the world. Enjoy five-star luxury at the Eden Resort and Spa, your ultimate beach holiday destination in Beruwala, Sri Lanka. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Eden Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Resort And Spa
Eden Hotel Beruwala
Eden Resort Beruwela
Eden Hotel Beruwela
Eden Resort Sri Lanka
Eden Resort & Spa Sri Lanka/Beruwala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing