We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marvalous Spa Treatment”
Review of Eden Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Eden Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Beruwala
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Marvalous Spa Treatment”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

The 7-nights stay at room 433 was great. Staff was excellent. Breakfast and dinner were a pleasant surprise evryday again. But the best of all was the ayurvedic package we had 5 times. The high level head&shoulders, facial and full body massages were an unleveled experience. The location is very good and we enjoyed our stay very much. If we've time and oppertunity we most certainly will return here and use a penthouse for ultimate luxury.

Nataly & Chris
Toldijk, Netherlands

Room Tip: Top Floors have best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden R, General Manager at Eden Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from Eden Resort & Spa, Beruwala

We thank you for your valuable time taken to express your views about Eden Resort & Spa, Beruwala

We are most delighted to learn that you have had a wonderful and memorable experience in our Resort. Your feedback will most certainly add impetus in our quest towards excellence.

We look forward to your continued patronage and assure you of the very best in services, facilities & hospitality in the true Sri Lankan way.

Yours Truly

Eksath Wijeratne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    857
    402
    151
    68
    46
See reviews for
406
685
49
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

my wife and i went to the eden spa from the 15/9/12 to the 27/9/12 and we had the most amazing time at the spa. staff are very efficient and are happy to accomodate your needs from getting an early check to a late check out. to make the experience better, the staf found out we were on honeymoon and made sure that we were delivered fresh flowers, fruit and chocolates everyday, but this was all after recieving a free room upgrade with a more stunning view of the scenic beach and surounding coastline.

the fresh sea food provided at their in house restaurants beats any catch of the day, and the tour guides that are attached to the hotel are more than negotiable, friendly and accomodating to your needs. we shall definatley be returning to the spa on our next visit to sri lanka which shall be very soon.

Room Tip: to get the best view of the coastline and beach ask for rooms on the fourth floor towards the end.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden R, General Manager at Eden Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from Eden Resort & Spa, Beruwala

We thank you for your valuable time taken to express your views about Eden Resort & Spa, Beruwala

We are most delighted to learn that you have had a wonderful and memorable experience in our Resort. Your feedback will most certainly add impetus in our quest towards excellence.

We look forward to your continued patronage and assure you of the very best in services, facilities & hospitality in the true Sri Lankan way.

Yours Truly

Eksath Wijeratne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maribor, Slovenia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

I stayed three nights in this hotel this summer. I had really good time there and I was really pleasantly surprised. The hotel is clean, stuff is friendly, rooms are well furnished. Hotel has a great outdoor pool and spa. Also a well equiped gymnasium is there + squash room,... Hotel lobby is tastefully decorated,...don't miss the celling painting. On second floor there are couple of well stocked gift shops. Food in restaurant was so delicious. The only thing that bothered was pretty expensive wifi internet charges,...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kragulj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden R, General Manager at Eden Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from Eden Resort & Spa, Beruwala

We thank you for your valuable time taken to express your views about Eden Resort & Spa, Beruwala

We are most delighted to learn that you have had a wonderful and memorable experience in our Resort. Your feedback will most certainly add impetus in our quest towards excellence.

We look forward to your continued patronage and assure you of the very best in services, facilities & hospitality in the true Sri Lankan way.

Yours Truly

Eksath Wijeratne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

My wife and I enjoyed a truly memorable holiday at Eden Resort from 15th to 23rd September. The previous week was spent in Colombo attending a major international conference, and so after what was busy work we wanted to go somewhere not too far south by road from Colombo where we could just "chill out".

We were not disappointed. Despite mixed weather (end of rainy season) I can honestly say I have not experienced better service from staff at a hotel anywhere. The attitude to the customer was outstanding. They were friendly, obliging and professional from the moment we arrived - surely a sign of first class staff training - with nothing too much trouble.

On arrival we were shown 3 different rooms to choose (hotel was only half full), which was much appreciated. We chose Room 201, which had an excellent spacious corner balcony fringed by vegetation over looking the pool. The hotel is about 17 years old, ( there was evidence of some minor refurbishments taking place), nice public spaces, clean and very well appointed with well kept grounds and attractive pool area.

Half-board proved to be excellent value. A different theme each day for buffet dinner in the Garden of Eden restaurant and a huge range of choice, with many dishes prepared there on the spot. Try the range of home-made bread and pastries. Pastry Chef Mahesh Ranganatha even had genuine Irish Soda Bread on offer - in Sri Lanka, amazing! A dress code operates - no shorts or beachwear in the evening, a great idea. The warm smiling welcome at the door from Madhu set the tone, with good attentive service from the waiters thereafter, including Nandasiri and manager Indika - and other individuals too numerous to mention.

We treated ourselves to an alfresco candlelit dinner at the Penthouse on the last evening, fabulous panoramic views and sunset. At 5000 rupees a head (£25 each), for 4+ courses it was a wonderful experience of fine dining. Personal butler service from Yowan, and everything prepared by Executive Chef Priya. Well done.

The only negative comment is the price of wine by the bottle in the retaurant, a bit pricey to order every evening and I didn't see too many tables ordering - something for them to consider. Lack of fresh milk is maybe a widespread feature in Sri Lanka hotels which seem to go for powdered or long-life. But minor issues considering the overall high standard. Also, the odd blip in room service (supply of bottled water, tissues, enough toilet paper) was quickly overcome.

Must mention the good service by the pool boys, Chamindar, Rupen and the others who looked after the sunbeds and towels, also the pool fitness man Ali.

Spa was very good, massage treatments etc - but they should promote it more! Recommend the 1 minute boat crossing to Bentota beach, better sand and more picturesque than Baruwala beach itself. You may as well make friends with the guys who work the beach offering boat trips on lagoon etc, they are only trying to make a living, but some may find them irksome.

An excellent hotel, with management and staff trying hard to win visitors. Well worth a visit - would certainly go back (but next time in dry season October to March, even though hotel will probably be full).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SteveR-iom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden R, General Manager at Eden Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from Eden Resort & Spa, Beruwala

We thank you for your valuable time taken to express your views about Eden Resort & Spa, Beruwala

We are most delighted to learn that you have had a wonderful and memorable experience in our Resort. Your feedback will most certainly add impetus in our quest towards excellence.

We look forward to your continued patronage and assure you of the very best in services, facilities & hospitality in the true Sri Lankan way.

Yours Truly

Eksath Wijeratne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We went to the Eden Resort in September 2012.
We had a fantastic holiday, the hotel was beautiful and very clean.
The best thing though was the friendliness of all the staff, you could not have asked for more.
If you want to go on some good trips, just ask for Priddy who you will find on the beach.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 585karens585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden R, General Manager at Eden Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Sir / Madam,

We at Eden Resort & Spa highly appreciate your valuable feedback on our service, facilities & the staff which you experienced during your visit to our hotel.

We are indeed proud to hear from you that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel, and certainly it’s an honour for us to have served you here in Sri Lanka!

Thank you once again, and looking forward to another opportunity in the future to serve you again at Eden Resort & Spa!!

Yours Truly,
Eksath Wijeratne
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Desborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

I do not have any negative issues with this hotel, It is a Sri Lankan 5* not English, all the staff couldn't have been more helpful. On being persuaded by my sister to join in pool aerobics I have never laughed so much, Ali made it so much fun. The pool bar and staff there were great, nothing was to much trouble, we had dinner IN the pool and the staff didn't mind rolling there trousers up to come and serve us. We were all inclusive so no issues with possible inflated prices, the food in the restaurant (buffet) was very good a lot of choice and it was hot enough for us. We had a brilliant view from room 415 pool and sea, room boys kept our room clean and tidy with amusing towel origami,
We got married there in july, the wedding co-ordinator Anjoilka was very helpful even sorting out sarongs and sari's for my guests to wear. Very punctual and couldn't do more, we had nothing to worry about at all. The wedding itself was fantastic complete with drummers, dancers and a elephant, definately had the wow factor, and the room upgrade on the wedding night to the paradise suite was better than expected. In the evening we were joined by our 8 guests to a splendid meal and a perfectly laid out table on the beach which was finished off with a firework display (arranged and paid for by our guests) which put a grand finish to our wedding day.
We were there for two weeks and i must say the hotels regular beach party was a lot of fun.
We would definately go back to this hotel thankyou Eden

Room Tip: go for the high floors for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ann e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden R, General Manager at Eden Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Greetings from Eden Resort & Spa, Beruwala

It's indeed a pleasure having you with us on your visit to Sri Lanka, and we deem it a privilege and honor to have been of service to you during your short visit to Eden Resort & Spa in Beruwela.

We are most delighted to learn that you have had a wonderful and memorable experience in our Resort. Your feedback will most certainly add impetus in our quest towards excellence.

We look forward to your continued patronage and assure you of the very best in services, facilities & hospitality in the true Sri Lankan way.

Yours Truly

Eksath Wijeratne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 19, 2012

A lovely stay at the Eden Spa, very friendly people who always have time to chat and help in any way that they can. During our stay we visited Kandy for two days and visited the Temple of the Tooth - amazing, Elephant Orphanage - brilliant, Tea factory, Spice Gardens, Botanical Gardens all great. Thanks to all the staff for a brilliant stay. :) x

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Evilyin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden R, General Manager at Eden Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from Eden Resort & Spa, Beruwala

We thank you for your valuable time taken to express your views about Eden Resort & Spa, Beruwala

We are most delighted to learn that you have had a wonderful and memorable experience in our Resort. Your feedback will most certainly add impetus in our quest towards excellence.

We look forward to your continued patronage and assure you of the very best in services, facilities & hospitality in the true Sri Lankan way.

Yours Truly

Eksath Wijeratne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beruwala
2.0 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
0.9 mi away
Cinnamon Bey Beruwala
Cinnamon Bey Beruwala
#1 of 1 in Moragolla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,579 reviews
1.0 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
16.9 mi away
The Blue Water
The Blue Water
#3 of 10 in Wadduwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,354 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Palms Hotel
The Palms Hotel
#5 of 10 in Beruwala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eden Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eden Resort & Spa

Property: Eden Resort & Spa
Address: | Kaluwamodara, Beruwala, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Beruwala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Beruwala
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Beruwala
#2 Spa Hotel in Beruwala
#4 Romantic Hotel in Beruwala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Eden Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax on a beach chair with a tropical cocktail and watch the sun set over the Indian Ocean. Walk on miles of pristine beaches as the sky and water merge as crimson and gold. Let our experienced massage therapists melt away the stress from your body at our elaborate spa. Select a bottle of wine from our elaborate wine cellar and sit down to a fine dining experience like no other. Curl up in your luxurious room and drift into your dreams without a care in the world. Enjoy five-star luxury at the Eden Resort and Spa, your ultimate beach holiday destination in Beruwala, Sri Lanka. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Eden Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Resort And Spa
Eden Hotel Beruwala
Eden Resort Beruwela
Eden Hotel Beruwela
Eden Resort Sri Lanka
Eden Resort & Spa Sri Lanka/Beruwala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing