We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Our best Holiday so far”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Sandul Villa

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
63 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Beruwala, Western Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 63 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Russian first
Any
English first
lereduit
Mahe Island, Seychelles
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Our best Holiday so far”
Reviewed January 14, 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

For our Holiday for December 2015, Sri Lanka was the first country on our list of destination and Sandul Villa was chosen as the vacation home due to the mainly to the size of our group, 7 noisy adults and 3 very active kids and a happy 9- month baby girl.

Dreaming about it now, I can positively say that our stay was simply “FANTASTIC” – beyond our expectation, thanks mostly to our ever attentive host Mr. Senaka and his wonderful team. Believe me, it is becoming increasing hard and difficult these days to find such place with such facilities as we did at Sandul Villa.

We cannot agree more with previous reviews about how fabulous the place, service and the food are. They are 100% correct, as you cannot expect more than what we actually experience.

From the very moment we arrived in Sri Lanka (first visit) Mr. Senaka was at the airport to greet us for the 2.5hrs journey to the villa. Because of our flight, we reach the villa quite late into the night, but to our surprise a very delicious Sri Lanka Dinner await us.

The curries especially were not to be missed. For the 6-days we spent there, every night we were treated like royalties from an extensive menu, and of course not forgetting breakfast. We mostly enjoy seafood.

The level of the service from Mr. Senaka and his team was really outstanding. Nothing was too much trouble for them. Our host even makes it his duty to organize and accompanies us on a special trip to Colombo one late afternoon to see an optician.
Probably the happiest person, in our group was my elderly son, who with no doubt got one birthday party of his lifetime. Seafood barbecue was the talk of the day with Sri Lanka live band, the cake, fancy lights, balloons, dancing, swimming, singing- it was indeed over the top.

The villa itself is a beauty. Very private, lust garden and diversify. Too add on, is the magnificent pool with waterfall and bright color light.

The roof-top terrace in the master bead room, overlooking the pool is the best I have experience so far. The beds are comfortable and provide a relaxing ambience and perfect night rest. The villa has good access to all you might want in the area, such as good restaurant, bar, shopping area, pharmacy and beach.

For short trips, we had 3 Tuk-Tuk for the group- what a treat- and a cool mini bus for longer trips to Colombo. All our drivers were reliable, honest and very wise on advice on what to and what not to do during our visit in Sri Lanka.

Our Stay at Sandul Villa has left us a very profound memory of Sri Lanka. A great experience

Many Thanks to you all

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: See Review
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena L
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“Sandul Villa and its owner Senaka and staff made our stay a wonderful experience!”
Reviewed January 12, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

Sandul Villa is a very nice villa and its owner Senaka and staff made our stay a wonderful experience. The villa has all amenities and feels modern and fresh. Senaka and his staff really do everything in order to thrive.
We stayed six nights in the villa and celebrated both my dad's 80th birthday and New Year there. Senaka and his staff really took care of us and swung both a fabulous barbeque and live music and fireworks on dad's 80th birthday. The breakfast every morning was varied and generous with many new taste experiences. We also ate lunch in the villa most days we just were hanging at the pool and dinner most evenings. They were also well prepared and very good.
The villa works for up to 10 - 13 people, we were 13 people in varying age which 7 children of different ages. We never experienced it as crowded as the villa is large with many seating areas both indoors and outdoors. All bedrooms had comfortable beds and AC, as well as proximity to the bathrooms and a wonderful pool outside.
Senaka also arranged with a masseuse who was really good and affordable, as well as helped with various excursions that he recommended. We can heartily recommend the whale watching and turtle farm, which was a really fun experience and the kids loved to place newborn turtles into the sea.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Service, pool area and food
Liked least: Inside the house we would like to have a better social area to sit down and relax
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emmasim0n
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best holiday ever”
Reviewed January 5, 2016 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This is the first time I have written a review in trip advisor but I felt our stay in Villa Sandul deserved to be raved about! 

We felt that the level of service we received was excellent. Senaka and his staff are always on hand to give you advice on where to go, what to do and then arrange it all for you. They are all extremely friendly and want to make your holiday the best ever. The food was out of this world, amazing breakfasts (too much for us to manage to eat) and for dinner we could choose off an extensive menu, including meals to keep the children happy (I would highly recommend the curries and whole fish).

Each day Senaka organised free Tuk Tuk's to take us to the beach. Again the level of service from these men was outstanding - always on time, giving guidance on best places to go, brilliant with the children and nothing was to much for them. Bentota beach was picture perfect with white sands and rolling waves (which the children and adults spent hours in surfing).
In short, probably the best holiday ever. Will definitely return and recommend to all my friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Senaka, his staff, the swimming pool, the food, the beach - to name a few
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CassieChe...
Cheshire
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Sensational Oasis”
Reviewed January 4, 2016 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Sandul Villa

Wow!
What a wonderful special time we spent in Sri Lanka. We were a party of six adults and four children. Age ranged from three to late sixties. We could not have been more welcomed by Senaka and his wonderful team.
The villa was all we hoped it would be and more. Previous reviews had said how fantastic the food was and we all agreed with that. Stunning meals( freshly caught prawns lobster & red snapper ) were amazing. Nothing was too much trouble
for the chefs. Highlights are too many to mention. We can't praise this place enough.
Each day three Tuk Tuks took us to the beach. The drivers were friendly, full of local knowledge and always punctual. The children loved these journeys. The beaches were beautiful and quiet when we were there and it was lovely swimming in the warm sea.
The trips we went on were well organised by Senaka. Journeys were made in a new air conditioned mini bus and the drivers were attentive and stopped to point out the various wildlife.
Our youngest member of our group was three while we were there and Senaka organised a lovely party for him. His cake was wonderful. Xmas day was spectacular,
with amazing food,lights and fireworks. Even Santa turned up with his sack of parcels for the children!
We would definitely recommend the villa to everyone.
Many thanks to Senaka and his team for a very memorable holiday.
Peter & Sue
Emma & Simon
James & Jessica
+ children

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Senaka and his friendly team
Liked least: We likes everything
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jessycat2...
Cheshire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely Villa in Beruwala”
Reviewed January 3, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We stayed as a family of 10 over Christmas 2015 (4 children) and had a wonderful time. Seneka greeted the ladies with flowers upon arrival and arranged the transport back to the villa, in a nice cool mini bus.
At the Villa, there are 2 rooms on the ground floor, 3 rooms upstairs, all spacious and air conditioned. Senaka has a lovely team working for him - the Chef's, Tuk-Tuk drivers, cleaner & pool man to name a few. The Chef's would cook wonderful breakfasts and let you choose what you'd like for dinner off a great menu (anything from lobster, to curry, to whole Red Snapper and they catered for kids, so they could eat earlier and choose different meals to suit) The food at the Villa is a very reasonable price and the best place we ate.
Our favourite place to go in the day was Bentota Beach, with white sands, blue sea & rolling waves, then head back to the villa in the afternoon to cool off in the pool. TheTuk-Tuk drivers were very friendly and good with the children.
The children particularly loved releasing 10 baby turtles one evening at the Turtle sanctuary.
If we return to Sri Lanka one day, we would for sure return to Sandul Villa - Many thanks to Seneka and his family.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Bentota beach
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nugegoda
australia
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed October 11, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We spent 4 days at Sandul Villa and it was a great experience.

The villa is very luxurious with a large pool and patio area. There are 5 bedrooms that are all air conditioned and spacious.

The villa is owned by Senaka and his lovely family who live at the back of the villa in a separate house, but had access to the villa from time to time - a suggestion would be that a bell be installed to notify that they are entering the villa (a bit of privacy)

Senaka could not do enough for you and was always happy to help, even down to personally taking us to his Jewellery shop. At first we were disappointed that we would not be able to cook what we wanted but we were pleasantly surprised when two fabulous chefs cooked some amazing breakfasts and great dinners for us. The presentation and tastes were beyond belief. I would recommend their crab curry!!!!

In the morning after breakfast, the chef would ask if we wanted to have dinner in the villa and if we did, the staff would personally go out and buy the food and come back later that evening to cook it, presenting us with a fabulous meal of our choice (nothing too much trouble at all)!!
One draw back were the mossies - especially in the evenings - I do not know whether anything can be done about it.

I would recommend this place to anybody who wishes to have a good holiday and have already supplied information to family and friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The food and the staff
Liked least: The distance from the beach
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie S
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic stay , service , food, cleanliness and host !”
Reviewed October 7, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

A big thank you to the team at Sandul Villa for a great experience !
The service , food , the villa and facilities exceeded our expectations such a great team that catered for all our our needs in such a big group !
While traveling with a baby can be difficult thank you for making it so much easier catering for our son in every way !
A holiday we won't forget thanks
Natalie spicer

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The service
Liked least: The mosquitos
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing