We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good 3* resort”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Club Palm Garden

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Club Palm Garden
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Beruwala
Southampton
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very good 3* resort”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2010

We had a wonderful time here. 14 days of good food, excellent service and a lovely room. We were a little concerned before we went because of some of the reviews but, we're glad we went. We like to get out and about whereas a number of people here liked to stay around the pool - each to their own. If we wanted to spend 14 days beside a pool in 34 degrees we could go to Butlins. We don't.
It rained most afternoons from 4 to 6 and it was lovely. Most people packed up and went indoors, we went into the pool.
Any resort is what you make it and this is a smaller one so all the staff get to know you to the point that we only had to walk towards the pool bar and our drinks were being poured before we got there. Evening entertainment is average holiday club stuff. But it's fun if you join in.
The surrounding area is good. Safe, freindly, busy and much cheaper than the hotel shop. Also the local ATM charges less than the 3.5 commision plus exchange rate at the hotel.
It IS a long way from the airport, but it's an interesting ride. And, it's a long way to places such as Polonnaruwa, Sigiriya and Dambulla so we did a three day tour with overnight stops in Sigiriya (Sigiriya Village Hotel - wonderful) and Kandy (Hotel Casamara - good City hotel with excellent food) which cut out the daily travel.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christopherdouglas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    71
    41
    22
    24
See reviews for
60
104
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level Contributor
72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2010

Was last hotel on our tour of Sri Lanka and was the worst. On arrival we were made to sit in reception area as they could not find our booking and I should have left at that point. Reception staff had care less attitude. Room was ok but very dated, however it did have a room safe and the A/C worked quietly. Location is superb and beach bar is useful for a break for drinks and a snack when on the beach. Evening entertaiment is dire and very weird (men dressed as babies?). Food is even less entertaining apart from breakfast which is fine. Having been touring the country with a different hotel ech night, this was far below expected standards of a 3 star. The All Inclusive factor is not what it seems either with very limited drinks and food inclduded. Rest of the staff were fine and with typically Sri Lankan friendliness. We were here just for 2.5 days so we did not mind too much, any longer then I would have definitely changed to a different hotel.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valve56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Beruwala hotels

kent
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2010

First time to Sri Lanka after long flight with approx 3hr transfer and being very tired we got to reception to find rooms not ready (apparently they were expecting us later) they did try and help by giving us cool drinks. When we got to our room we were a bit disappointed the rooms are quite dated and could do with refurbishment but for what we paid i suppose cant expect too much they we clean and comfortable.
The food is average we are not fussy eaters but found it hard going a lot of curries (breakfast, lunch, dinner) and the pool bar only did sandwich or chips anything else you have to pay for. With drinks there is no wine(only payable) and no cocktails.On certain evenings they do irish coffee you have to pay for this but it is one of the best i have tasted.
The animation team are working hard all day long and try their best we didnt do activities although i joined in water aerobics and they make it great fun. The evening entertainment is limited.
We decided not to go on trips with rep and went on overnight stay to Kandy with beach boy called Pala he and his driver were excellent and i would highly recommend him we found him very knowledgeable, punctual and trustworthy he took us to lots of places
Elephant Orphanage(excellent) Temple of Tooth, Botanical Gardens, Culture show and much much more the hotel we stayed at was good (just watch the monkeys).As there were only 4 of us we had a personal service. We then took a second trip with him for the day and went on Safari.
The beach sellers will drive you mad but they are only trying to make a living just remember to haggle! Tips on trips and when you are out and about seem to be expected and can become quite costly. When using tuk tuks agree on price first Ratu( or red as he is known) is very good and a real nice guy.
The people when you leave are so grateful of anything you can leave them shoes,clothing, tolietries. Also if you are out and about they love pens!
Sri Lanka is beautiful with outstanding beaches,lovely weather(very humid) the people are so friendly and welcoming. Just look for better hotel.
Beware of Mosquitos and sand flies!!!!!!
Thankyou Pala for meal on our last night it was excellent BBQ (go to his restaurant serendipity)

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dube12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorset
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2010

We have just returned from our 2 week stay at Club Palm Garden in Beruwela. Our first impression on arrival was not all that good. It was late afternoon and the rooms were not ready, so after a very long journey we had to wait to be led to a musty smelling room. It seems that it is difficult in the humid climate to dry things out.

The hotel caters for a lot of Muslims and therefore did not serve pork in any form. We did not rate the choice of food very highly. It’s great if you like spicy food but for us it was quite hard to cope with curry and chilli for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Don’t expect to see much international food.

We enjoyed the beach and the sea very much and went swimming in the waves twice a day. I just wish somebody had warned me of the sand fleas. Their bites are nastier than mosquito bites and last a lot longer. Next time I will use more insect repellent.

An important fact potential visitors should be aware of is that constant tipping will add to your expenses. ‘Helpers’ will also latch on to you and give you all sorts of services and information you didn’t ask for. They then expect to be paid for it.

People are generally very poor and we found ourselves handing out our pens, clothes, shoes, toiletries and fishing gear before our departure. Despite the obvious poverty we found the Sri Lankans to be very welcoming, friendly and happy. We walked into the nearest town to visit the local market and we felt safe. Just don’t get ripped off, you can often get things much cheaper if you haggle. I paid £35 in a herb garden for a couple of bits, only to find later that I could have gotten the same for £5 in the local supermarket…

If you do any trips there is the choice between booking them through the hotel or with the boys at the beach. We found the trips with Pala from the beach very good. It’s much cheaper and because there were only 4 in our group we got a very personal service. We went to Kandy, the elephant orphanage, turtles and a safari, all in an air-conditioned minibus. We really enjoyed everything we did with Pala and we found him to be honest, knowledgeable and always on time. Before we left he invited us to his restaurant, which is very close to the hotel. He cooked us the best meal of our entire holiday: a nice no-curry BBQ of prawns, chicken, pork, beef and sausages.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liketogoonholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norfolk
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2010

Just returned from a 2 week stay at this hotel in Sri Lanka, although we didn't pay a fortune for our stay we couldn't help but feel disappointed. Upon arrival we had to wait 2 hours as the rooms were not ready and when we finally got a room the balcony door would not open. Asked the reception staff to send someone up & the third person to come & have a look decided to take the door off, kick the frame about a bit & put the door back on, that was the problem fixed, apparently. True, the door did now open but took a lot of effort to get it locked when we wanted to go out! Also had problems with the toilet as it wouldn't refill itself after we flushed it, spent about half an hour to explain this to the young lad on reception who could not understand english, who decided to put him out front???!!!! An engineer came to fix it but it did keep breaking so we learnt how to fix it ourselves when it played up, not something you want to be faffing with when you're on your hols! The rooms, however, are kept clean but are in serious need of renovating. Food at the hotel is pretty bad on the whole, but the best meal is breakfast where you can order omlettes and the best theme night is mongolian where they do stir fry & you choose what ingredients you want before its made infront of you. The entertainment staff do try their best and during the day they do get you involved in activities if you wish to but the evening entertainment is dire! A bit like watching a bad audition for Sri Lanka's Got Talent, made me cringe!!! Watched grown men dressed as babies doing a sketch show, i still don't understand what that was all about, and mime to Phantom Of the Opera and then half way through Bonnie Tyler's "I need a hero" blares out & they start doing some high kicks & prancing about, how bizarre! The beach next to the hotel is gorgeous but beware of the beach boys, if you don't want to do a trip with them they be firm from the start. Some people said they might do a trip but then later changed their mind and the beach boys got a bit aggresive, steer clear of a bloke called Silver in particular. All in all, we did enjoy Sri Lanka, the excursions we did were brilliant we were just let down by our choice of hotel, if we went to Sri Lanka again I think we would spend a bit extra on our accomadation. We understand that for the money we paid we were not going to get 5 star but some of the staff did have bad attitudes and were not helpful at all, especially the reception staff, so along with the toilet problems and standard of the room I don't think it was value for money and would urge anyone planning a trip to Sri Lanka to spend that little bit extra and stay in a half decent hotel.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank budge-budge-budge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk wales
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2010

1. The room safes have arrived . So you no longer have to lock up in the reception safe and its infinatly easier to access your things
2. Asked to move rooms as we wernt happy with ours and were given room 219 which is fantastic. Upholstery like new and huge balcony overloking the tree house
3. All day long annimation team are putting on games to play, so join in and enjoy yourself
4. Beach is golden soft sand and the sea is very hot.
5. nobody was ill and everyone at the salads and all the food is good although we did eat out a couple of times becaause i got fed up with eating in the same place.
5. water is available freely all over the hotel from the coolers
BAD NEWS
1. mosquitoes i think it got better when i stopped walking across the grass late at night to the pool bar but they are silent and deadly
2. beach touts are a complete nuisance and spoil a very beautiful beach They wont take no but sometimes " later" works
3. Mr Howard "advises" the evening entertainment team on what the English like. His crude toilet humour was in extremely bad taste and not enjoyed by anyone

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karolukwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2010

Stayed 2-16 Jan. It was exactly as advertised. All staff friendly and helpful. Used Mangala (Hotel taxi driver) for all trips. Very knowledgeable and honest man. Took us to out of the way spots to see the real country. Great variety of food in hotel, I am a fussy eater but managed to eat okay. Some people moaned but would have moaned in a 5 star no doubt. Ideal place for a relaxing holiday at great value. Hotel based First Choice rep available everyday and very helpful.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevebucksPlymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beruwala
0.0 mi away
The Palms Hotel
The Palms Hotel
#4 of 10 in Beruwala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cinnamon Bey Beruwala
Cinnamon Bey Beruwala
#1 of 1 in Moragolla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,543 reviews
0.0 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Bentota Beach by Cinnamon
0.0 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
0.0 mi away
Citrus Waskaduwa
Citrus Waskaduwa
#7 of 12 in Kalutara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Palm Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Palm Garden

Property: Club Palm Garden
Address: Moragalla Beruwela Beach, Beruwala 80070, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Beruwala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Beruwala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Palm Garden 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Club Palm Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Palm Garden Hotel Beruwala
Hotel Palm Garden
Club Palm Garden Sri Lanka/Beruwala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing