We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cotommatae Hydra 1810
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hydra Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 9, 2014

This is an extremely beautiful family owned 'hotel'. With only a few room, this amazingly renovated historical mansion was quiet and refreshing. The owner was wonderfully kind, and took time to explain the history of the house and its remodel when we asked over breakfast. I do not know of a time I have ever been more surprised or pleased with the quality of a tiny boutique hotel. So fresh and comfortable I would return tomorrow if I could.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank PilotDags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frosso Z, Διευθυντής at Cotommatae Hydra 1810, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2014

Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your time to write this nice review for our Boutique Hotel Cotommatae 1810.
We do appreciate your comments about your stay and service in our Hotel.
It will be our pleasure to return back and host you again in Hydra and our Hotel.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (143)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 143 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2014

Old but perfectly renovated mansion in historical hydra town, very close to the port and simultaneously at a very quiet location. The service was welcoming and so warm that made you feel you are at friends house. The room was spotlessly clean, the mattress very comfortable and the bathroom was exceptional for this style of hotel. There were homemade delicacies offered at breakfast. I loved the way the antiques of the family were mixed with new decoration items to achieve a perfect style result indoors and outdoors, in the tranquil garden. I will certainly come back to relax and rewind!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MCEAAthens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frosso Z, Διευθυντής at Cotommatae Hydra 1810, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2014

Dear Guests,

It was with great plesure reading your comments and nice review. Many thanks for pointing out that we have tried to keep the balance between the old items and contemporary combined with comfort and relaxation.
We will certainly be happy to host you again and try our best to offer the best of our Boutique Hotel Cotommatae 1810.

Many thanks again and wish you all the best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2014

A sense of history with modern ammenities in this gorgeously restored mansion in Hydra...the morning sunlight streaming through the sheer curtains, the stillness of the night interrupted only by the sounds of the birds or roosters , the sight of the pink bouganvillia covering the house across the street and of the houses built on the slopes of town make for an unforgettable sense of peace and rest. Exceptional staff, breakfast choices and public spaces that encourage conversation with other guests make this hotel very special.

Room Tip: For singles or couples, I suggest the room outside, to the right of the entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank julie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frosso Z, Manager at Cotommatae Hydra 1810, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2014

Dear Guest,

On behalf of Cotommate 1810, the owner and the Hotel Staff I would like to express my special thank and appreciation for your nice review and Kind words.
Our Boutique hotel is trying its best to make guests part of this historical place, to feel comfortable and like their own home. And we are very pleased that you have felt that and you responded positively.
We do hope to have the pleasure of hosting you soon!
Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

This most be Hydras most beautyful hotell. We have stayed twice at the Cotommatae and both turned out perfectly.
Both times we have been welcommed and served icewater and a traditional dessert from Hydra, cherrys in syrup. A nice gesture, one feels really welcommed.
First time, august 2013, we stayed in the Kalo Domatio. This room has a 180 degree view from the windows and the door. The room is so elegant and cool with the breeze through the windows. Outside, at the terrace, there are sofas and chairs where you can sitt and enjoy the view of the city and relax.
Second time, june 2014, we were offered the Peristeronas Suite, which has a private outdoor terrace and a private jacuzzi. Maybe the best room at the mansion.
All over, there are small spaces with seatings where one can relax and enjoy. The garden where all the lights are lit when it gets dark is simply gorgeous.
Giannis and Illiana and the rest of the staff are so friendly and cheerful and the owner are happy to tell the story of the mansion showing photos from before and after, telling how the builiding was practicly taken apart and rebuilt, with every tile on its right place. Everywhere there are original and genuin paintings and furnitures. They have managed to give the feeling of being a guest in an old mansion rather than a guest in a hotell, without compromising the feeling of luxury and relaxation.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alesund_NorwayBea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frosso Z, Manager at Cotommatae Hydra 1810, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2014

Dear Guests,

I sincerely would like to express our special thanks for your extremely nice review on behalf of the owner and of course our staff.
Thank you for taking time to describe your experience in our hotel and we do appreciate your kind words!
It was our pleasure to host and we do hope to have you again in our Historical mansion.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

Oh my...not knowing what to expect, my husband and I could not believe how lucky we were choosing the Cotommatae.
Giannis could run for Mayor! He was so knowledgeable and very, very helpful. The updated ammenaties blended beautifully with the many old world treasures found at this unique spot.
We absolutely loved our stay. Do not miss it!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SWL61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frosso Z, Manager at Cotommatae Hydra 1810, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2014

Dear Guest,
We do appreciate your lovely words concerning your stay in our Boutique Hotel.
Many thanks also for your kind comments and we do hope to have the pleasure hosting you again in Cotommatae 1810!
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

My husband and I had the great pleasure of staying at Cotommatae 1810 during our two night stay on Hydra. The property has been recently restored with modern amenities but holds all it's former charm. It is on the Historic Hotels of Europe list for good reason. The reception staff were so friendly. When we arrived we were given some water and some cherries which were delicious! After checking in we were shown to our room which is the double room right in the front with spectacular 180 degree views from two windows and the open door. The breeze through the room is magical and the sunlight so refreshing. We learned that the bed was original to the house and was over 200 years old with a new mattress of course which was very comfortable. The bathroom had a fantastic rainhead shower and was well appointed. The towels were soft and fluffy and they even gave us bath robes! The breakfast was incredible, such a large variety and eating on the terrace was truly magical. We even got to meet the owner one day while we were having breakfast. We talked to him for quite some time and we taken in by all his stories! The location is perfectly close to the port where there are plenty of restaurants. There is free wifi and it is very fast. I've stayed in many hotels during my travels but I must say this is hands down the best room I've ever been in, pure relaxation. I hope I get to visit Cotommatae again some day!

Room Tip: I loved our double room in the front of the hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CB91910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frosso Z, Διευθυντής at Cotommatae Hydra 1810, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2014

Dear Guest,

We would like to express our gratitude for your nice review. It is really important for us as we are a small Boutique Hotel and positive guest's experience is the best promotion and the best motivation for us. It is also nice that you appreciated the history and the 'spirit' of the house.

We will be very happy to host you again. We are looking forward to it.
Many thanks again,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

We had the pleasure of staying at this beautifully and authentically restored old family mansion for 8 days. This old family home has been restored with all modern conveniences, yet without sacrificing its historical qualities. We could not fault our room in any way. It was cleaned and serviced every day with quality linen and personal items.

The breakfast was buffet style consisting of ample variety to meet most tastes, served on the beautiful terrace until 12:30.
Giannis and Illianna the hotel managers, as well as the household staff. did all they could to make our stay as comfortable and pleasant in a very friendly manner.

During our stay we had the privilege of meeting some of the gracious and charming descendants of the original family who still own the hotel. As we showed interest in their beautiful home, they were happy to go to great lengths to explain in detail the family history which is exceptionally displayed in the huge reception area in the form of paintings, furniture, photographs and antique items.
This hotel is perfectly located only minutes from the port, but far enough away to have total peace and quiet.
If you are looking for an exceptional establishment on the unique island of Hydra then please give Cotommatae 1810 your serious consideration.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janet K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frosso Z, Διευθυντής at Cotommatae Hydra 1810, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2014

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your nice review. We are really happy that you had a unique experience with us. it is our motivation to keep working on this as all our guests are simply Unique!
It was also nice to see that you appreciated the history of this house and the family as it is still a 'family house' and have a positive aura and warmth for all the inhabitants.

We will be pleased to have the opportunity to host you again!
Many Thanks
Frosso

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hydra Town
0.1 mi away
Hotel Leto Hydra
Hotel Leto Hydra
#5 of 20 in Hydra
344 reviews
0 mi away
Orloff Boutique Hotel
1.5 mi away
Four Seasons Luxury Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mistral
Hotel Mistral
#1 of 20 in Hydra
510 reviews
0.2 mi away
Phaedra Hotel
Phaedra Hotel
#4 of 20 in Hydra
244 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hydroussa Hotel
Hydroussa Hotel
#6 of 20 in Hydra
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cotommatae Hydra 1810? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cotommatae Hydra 1810

Address: Andrea Rafalia str, Hydra Town 15234, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Saronic Gulf Islands > Hydra > Hydra Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hydra Town
Price Range: $131 - $352 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cotommatae 1810 Boutique HotelIn the centre of the historical town of Hydra Cotommatae 1810 is a traditional Hydrian Mansion which was restarted with much care and respect, and after 4 years of arduous work has started functioning like a Boutique Hotel.Cotommatae 1810 Boutique Hotel is within easy access from the seashore of the town, without having to climb up steps, its situated only 200 m from the port, the cafes, restaurants, bars and the terminus of the sea – taxis for excursions to the island’s seaside and beaches. At the same time the Guest House is situated in a quiet district and its lofty stone – walls surround the yards, the garden and the verandas.Cotommatae 1810 Boutique Hotel has achieved the balanced harmony, comfort, luxury and true style.The Mansion has 5 suites and two double bed rooms. Three suites can sleep up to 4 persons, one suite can put up to 5 persons, one suite can sleep 3 persons and the two romantic double – bed rooms are available for couples.Every room its name from the use the Family used to apply in the old times. Atmosphere and comfortable furniture can grant amiable surroundings which come in harmony with the character of the Mansion but also the authentic and unique character of Hydra. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Cotommatae Hydra 1810 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cotommatae Hydra 1810 Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing