We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WONDERFUL!!!!!! My Absolute Favorite Hotel Ever!!!!!!!!!”
Review of Bratsera Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bratsera Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hydra Town
United States
Level Contributor
143 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“WONDERFUL!!!!!! My Absolute Favorite Hotel Ever!!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

My 16 year old son and I stayed at the Bratsera for three nights in June of 2012, and could not have been more pleased. The hotel is "kitchy" and beautiful!! It's everything you would think a hotel on a Greek island should be; whitewashed walls, boganvilla, pillars, white curtains, old stone steps. It's a renovated sponge factory, and there are old artifacts everywhere. The sponge press is still in the lobby, along with sponges and nets, etc. There's a real cannon in the courtyard. Also a fountain, a beautiful pool (only one on the island), and lots of chairs, tables and lounges around the pool to just hang-out on. The original handwritten ledgers from the sponge factory are just sitting around in the library for you to look at if you want. There's pictures of the workers and factory during full production on the walls, which we found very interesting. Our room was super! We had one of the "cheepies" on the ground floor with no balcony. We loved all of the solid stone, and the bathroom was adorable. It's all as you would imagine it years ago, except everything has been modernized and it all works flawlessly. Yes, others have stated that the bathrooms are a bit small, and ours was on the small side, but it was wonderful to use a stone sink! And the shower was beautiful with stone and a small window. If you are looking for the Hyatt, stay in the US please. If you want the "real deal" and some amazing memories, come to the Bratsera. The staff could have not been more friendly or helpful. Hydra is stunning, and the Bratsera is the best.

Room Tip: All of the rooms looked great from what I saw. Pick any of them, and you will love the old world ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SH33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    39
    15
    5
    6
See reviews for
17
62
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

i think we must have been there about 6 times already, love every time we return there! great location, so close to the ferry so no need for donkey btw, yet quiet there. lovely pool, always space by the pool, lots of different rooms, we love no. 26 on the ground floor as it has patio at the back which is great and direct access to the pool so you can just pop in, sweet! the breakfast is a pleasure!! so yummy, great choice yet not too spoiled. great start to a day! one of the best holidays we have there!
Marina at the reception is awesome!

Room Tip: no. 26 is the best for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nikki d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We have stayed here twice, our first visit in 2000 we were disappointed with the room but the common areas are glorious: the pool (the only hotel with one on the island I think), restaurant and lobby. Second time lucky in 2012, I bit the bullet and booked one of the more expensive suites with a terrace (yes its expensive, Parisian hotel prices for rustic charm). Even my difficult to please other half loved it immediately. Yes the bathrooms are basic (shower curtains?) and furnishings simple but Hydra is paradise that you sometimes have to share with dive bombing Scandinavian kids. Lovely lay out for breakfast. We were in the Junior suite with the terrace facing the mountain away from the pool. I booked well in advance. Restaurant staff were lovely but hosts a little non-committal. If you are staying in Hydra for longer than a couple of days, rent a villa but for 4 days the Bratsera is great and very well located.

Room Tip: spend more to get a lovely room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We paid 250 euro for the suite and it was by far the worst! So bad that we asked to change us room. We had stayed many years ago in that hotel and it is really sad to see it in that condition. Rooms were had a strange smell so that it was hard to stay without windows opened. Ceiling was in such a bad condition that you thought that it could fall on our heads. Definitely does not worth the money they ask. If you are looking for the best hotel in hydra it is definitely "cottomatae"!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elenipa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
140 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

we knew that hydra in general is quite a pricey island, so we were prepared to meet high hotel prices. the particular hotel was selected mostly because of the true love to the authentic historical places and curiosity. however should it be only about finding a high standard, high quality hotel room, we would choose a less pricey hotel. one weekend (we stayed overnight) is quite enough to immerse in the atmosphere of the hotel and island without digging too deep in the pocket, so we are overall satisfied with the hospitality, friendliness and good service of the hotel personnel. as to the hotel's design and furnishing, the idea of arranging hotel rooms in an old sponge factory is great!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nikie11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

This was our third stay at Bratsera and we loved it again!
It is the only hotel on Hydra with a real pool which is very appealing in the middle of summer and an obvious criteria for selecting a hotel but we love the simple charm of the property. We booked a family room with the loft space upstairs and the rooms and bathrooms are basic but that is all part of the appeal. Don't go expecting Missoni bath towels! The property, a former sponge factory is decorated with a lot of the original records, equiptment and yes, sponges. The pool area and garden is lovely with lots of pool chairs to drag under the shade. Breakfast offers a fresh selection of fruit, bread and cold cuts, good coffee and dinner is great.
The staff were very helpful and efficient - extra beach or bath towels were not a problem,
Not sure it offers great value for money and it could do with a bit of sprucing up but we will keep going back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank australiantripper_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter FL
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

We went to the Bratsera after looking for a place with a pool on the island of Hydra and consequently The Bratsera was the only one on the island. The pool area was awesome~ Very clean and nicely landscaped. The rooms we felt were very pricey though for 2 people. They were average size, clean and the bathrooms were very nice and newly done. The shower was great too. The breakfast in the morning was very good with a wide assortment of items. The apple cake was OUTSTANDING! The front desk when we arrived were rude when we tried to get the price lower, but later were helpful. The other service staff in the hotel were very nice. I would certainly go to The Bratsera if you are looking for a pool and want to lounge around it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jojo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hydra Town
0.1 mi away
Hotel Leto Hydra
Hotel Leto Hydra
#1 of 21 in Hydra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cotommatae Hydra 1810
Cotommatae Hydra 1810
#1 of 2 in Hydra Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mistral
Hotel Mistral
#2 of 21 in Hydra
5.0 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Phaedra Hotel
Phaedra Hotel
#4 of 21 in Hydra
5.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
0.2 mi away
Orloff Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hydroussa Hotel
Hydroussa Hotel
#7 of 21 in Hydra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bratsera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bratsera Hotel

Property: Bratsera Hotel
Address: Near Hydra Port, Hydra Town 18040, Greece
Location: Greece > Saronic Gulf Islands > Hydra > Hydra Town
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hydra Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bratsera Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bratsera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bratsera Hotel Hydra, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing