We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Danae
Nearby Hotels
Areti Hotel(Aegina Town)
$45
$36
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Hotel Rastoni(Aegina Town)(Great Value!)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Miranda(Aegina Town)
$39
$37
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Avra(Aegina Town)
$41
Booking.com
View Deal
Aegina Hotel(Aegina Town)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Klonos(Aegina Town)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Klonos Anna(Aegina Town)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (152)
Filter reviews
152 results
Traveler rating
53
64
25
3
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
53
64
25
3
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswimming poollovely hotelcappuccino machinefood servedferry strikefresh fruitlovely poolenjoyed our staysea viewoff seasonbreakfast was includedshort walkquiet locationathensgreektownbalcony
Filter
Updating list...
55 - 60 of 152 reviews
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We have stayed at Hotel Danae for 4 or 5 days at the end of June beginning of July for several years. We chose this hotel initially because of its location, far enough out to be quiet yet near to the pretty harbour area and the ferry port. At the top of a hill, the hotel is walk of a about a kilometre from the harbour/port. There are several steps and also a ramp up to the reception area which is nicely furnished with sofas and chairs and a bar. The manager and the whole team at the hotel are very welcoming, friendly and helpful. The rooms face the sea and have a balcony with table and chairs, we had a second floor room. There is no lift but help would be given with luggage if required. The room is very clean and spacious with a very comfortable bed, fridge, hairdryer, tv and a safe. The bathroom has a nice shower and although a small shower cubicle, it is quite adequate. The price includes bed and breakfast. Breakfast is self service and very nice indeed, a lovely choice of juices, teas and coffee. Fruits, cereals and yoghurts, bread & cakes etc also meats/ cheese and hardboiled eggs. The breakfast/dining area is very nicely furnished and decorated and very clean - we are impressed because tables are quickly cleared, and tidied when guests have finished their meal. Lunch and Dinner is available although we didn't take that option. Outside there is a pretty garden area with lemon trees, palms, pretty flowers and bushes. A small ramp leads down to the ground level where there is access to rooms which would be suitable for anyone with limited mobility, each downstairs room has a small gated patio area with table and chairs. The pool is very nice with lots of sun loungers and large umbrellas, there is also a large covered area offering more shade from the sun. The pool bar has been refurbished and has nice tables and chairs. We noticed staff cleaning the pool area every morning before breakfast so it is a very pleasant place to sit and relax.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DorsetNomad49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

I have been spending vacations and work days at this hotel for the past 20 years. One year I come with students, usually 20 to 24 and the next, with my wife or alone.
The hotel is located in a wonderful setting, service is excellent and corteous. Rooms are very comfortable. I do not think the owners if this hotel ever intended to be a sort of Ritz Carleton of the Saronic Islands but simply a cozy hotel in a Greek island.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amphiraion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We visited the hotel at the beginning of June 2012. So the season was at the beginning and there were only a few people in addition to us. It means that the hotel was at that time very quiet. The room and the balcony were quite spacious, the bathroom on the other hand was very small, especially the shower space. Our room was above the reception and we had a lovely view to the sea. The pool was good, big enough, but the pool bar did not work. In front of the hotel, across the road, was very nice stony beach to which led the steep path about 50 meters. It was not for small children and handicapped persons. The distance to the city was so and so. It was about two kilometers, towards the city it was steep and when you came back it was naturally uphill road. There was no pavement. We were rather satisfied overall.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OskariLahti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

A nice hotel, simple clean rooms. I have no idea about breakfast quality- i woke up late- but when i asked about where i can have a decent one, they were very helpful and funny too. This time of the year the pool was empty of course, and when i asked for a coffee they were quick to serve. Whatever i asked (information, room service etc) they were very polite and fast. Dane, thank you very much, you were my lucky charm to all of the issues i had to do on the island.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank amalia07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

My partner and I stayed at the Danae in July 2012, and found this hotel to be irritating in sooo many ways. The rooms were tiny, the beds were uncomfortable, the shower stalls were claustrophobic (there was no space to even try to bend down and clean your legs, etc.), the air conditioner made a rattling noise that drove us nuts, the pool contained suspicious and lukewarm water, the staff were rude and only concerned with money collection, and the breakfast was disgusting (bad tasting orange juice from concentrate, etc.). We will never, never stay at Danae again. We have also stayed at Rastoni in Aegina, and found it to be miles head of Danae. Although I have not had the time to post this review until now, the negative impression was so strong that I can easily recall it vividly months later.

Room Tip: Just give up and look for another hotel
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Aegina1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews