We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service”
Review of Aegina Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aegina Hotel
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Aegina Town
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Excellent service”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Lovely welcome and care from the friendly desk staff - thank you. The room was comfy and the hotel is nicely situated and very well-priced. We went out of season so it was very quiet; no breakfast provided but there's a local bakery, a small shop adjacent to the hotel and many cafes nearby.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RuthC186220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    42
    9
    3
    4
See reviews for
12
50
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We had a fantastic time in Aegina, largely thanks to staying in this hotel. The owners, Aura and Victor, were so welcoming and helpful. We felt at home straight away.
It is a basic hotel, but perfect for the price range. And it's in a great location, very close to the port and the beach and quiet at night. I would recommend it to anyone coming to stay in Aegina.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington Dc
Level Contributor
79 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

This lovely little hotel is definetely no frills but is conveniently located within walking distance of tavernas and the port. The owners were friendly and English speaking if not a little quirky which lends to the charm. The rooms are clean and comfortable but again, pretty sparsely decorated which was no issue with us as we spent 90% of our time away from the hotel exploring. The couple employ no staff as far as we could tell probably to save money so Aura did EVERYTHING and service didn't suffer. We will definetely return as we only live 2 hours away.

Room Tip: Get rooms on the first floor as there is no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 30, 2012

I stayed first one night at the hotel, because I was going to take a 5 day sailing course after that. When the sailing course ended, I stayed another 2 nights at the hotel.
The owners (actually, the parents of the owner run it during the season), were most friendly and helpfull.
My room (single traveller, but double room) was very clean, good clean sheets, airco, wifi (sometimes a bit slow in the room, but who cares?) small balcony. If you want a drink and order it at the desk, 5 minutes later she brings it to your room...
The shower, you need to hold it over your head yourself (not fixed on the wall) and has only a curtain to close, but that didn't bother me at all!!! If you don't like that, then you will need to go to a more expensive hotel.
What I also liked: I think the main road, where a lot of the restaurants, bars and hotels with sea view are, is very noisy (scooters, cars...) HOTEL AEGINA IS ONLY A 5 MINUTE WALK AWAY FROM THE MAIN ROAD, AND SO IS VERY PEACEFULL, NO NOISE!
If you are looking for a clean basic hotel, friendly helpful owners and close the ferries... This is it!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saar123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stoke on trent
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Wanting an inexpensive back up should we need it,for exploring other islands, we were lucky to find the Aegina Hotel.
Much more than we expected, the lovely owners, Aura and her artist husband Victor, provided a welcome each time we returned.
Basic facilities, it is Greece, clean towels daily, and an optional breakfast of choice, made this hotel ideal for us, a reasonable, but manageable walk in both directions to the port.
Delightful chat at the end of the day, and home made jewellery and artwork to buy if you wish.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bes_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012 via mobile

We spent one night in August in this lovely hostel. We definitely recommend it : thé best welcoming we received in Greece ! 
Aura and her husband, the owners of this place, are very friendly, they really make you feel at home. 
Our room was nice, it was the softest sheets we ever sleep in ! 
The breakfast has been cooked with love by Aura.
They gave us a lot of wise advices to visit Aegina. They also can organize your trip (cruises on other islands). 
Victor rented us his best "quad" (ATV) to go to the Temple of Aphea.

To sum up, we spent an awesome trip in Aegina thanks to them !

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pau90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
234 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

First of all, Aura and Victor make you feel very welcome immediately and Victor's artwork decorates the reception area. remember, this is a Greek island so don't come expecting uber-luxury however, it is quaint, clean, the rooms are a decent size and comfortable enough with excellent (remote controlled) air-con and TV, which for me, is enough when visiting Greece. The bathrooms are big enough and have really good quality towels.
Aura does a simple but lovely Greek breakfast (cheese omelette etc.), taken under the cool palm trees at the back of the hotel.

It is 5 minutes to the beach and a fraction more to the harbour front which means it is not as noisy as somewhere on the front. There is also a handy little super-market shop next door (not attached to the hotel).

NB My remarks and ratings are based against general Greek standards and not against UK hotel standards.

It was very reasonable value as far as I am concerned and I had a few beers and chats with the the owners who have a lot of history and tales to tell, as well as being interested in you.
If I return, I would stay here again, enough said, thank you both.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CheshireMog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aegina Town
6.1 mi away
Vagia Hotel
Vagia Hotel
#1 of 1 in Vagia
218 reviews
6.0 mi away
Hotel Rachel
Hotel Rachel
#3 of 29 in Agia Marina
279 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Danae
Hotel Danae
#3 of 14 in Aegina Town
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rastoni
Hotel Rastoni
#1 of 14 in Aegina Town
171 reviews
3.5 mi away
Ela Mesa Luxury Apartments
4.8 mi away
Irides Luxury Studios
Irides Luxury Studios
#1 of 5 in Souvala
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aegina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aegina Hotel

Property: Aegina Hotel
Address: 23 Stratigou Petriti, Aegina Town 180 10, Greece
Location: Greece > Saronic Gulf Islands > Aegina > Aegina Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Aegina Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Aegina Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aegina Hotel is a 2 star hotel located in Aegina Town. It is a quick 3 minute walk from the port to our front steps, and we are only a few hundred feet from a sandy beach with lots of umbrellas, chairs, and a full bar. Our facilities include: 19 rooms with air conditioning, tv, private bathroom (most of the rooms also have a balcony). Guests will enjoy free wireless internet access, breakfast in our palm tree garden, and beautiful views of the ocean and all of Aegina Town from our rooftop terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Aegina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aegina Hotel Aegina Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing