We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It Ain't Fancy but it's comfortable and good value”
Review of Aegina Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aegina Hotel
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Aegina Town
Certificate of Excellence
Washington Dc
Level Contributor
79 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“It Ain't Fancy but it's comfortable and good value”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

This lovely little hotel is definetely no frills but is conveniently located within walking distance of tavernas and the port. The owners were friendly and English speaking if not a little quirky which lends to the charm. The rooms are clean and comfortable but again, pretty sparsely decorated which was no issue with us as we spent 90% of our time away from the hotel exploring. The couple employ no staff as far as we could tell probably to save money so Aura did EVERYTHING and service didn't suffer. We will definetely return as we only live 2 hours away.

Room Tip: Get rooms on the first floor as there is no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    41
    9
    3
    4
See reviews for
11
47
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 30, 2012

I stayed first one night at the hotel, because I was going to take a 5 day sailing course after that. When the sailing course ended, I stayed another 2 nights at the hotel.
The owners (actually, the parents of the owner run it during the season), were most friendly and helpfull.
My room (single traveller, but double room) was very clean, good clean sheets, airco, wifi (sometimes a bit slow in the room, but who cares?) small balcony. If you want a drink and order it at the desk, 5 minutes later she brings it to your room...
The shower, you need to hold it over your head yourself (not fixed on the wall) and has only a curtain to close, but that didn't bother me at all!!! If you don't like that, then you will need to go to a more expensive hotel.
What I also liked: I think the main road, where a lot of the restaurants, bars and hotels with sea view are, is very noisy (scooters, cars...) HOTEL AEGINA IS ONLY A 5 MINUTE WALK AWAY FROM THE MAIN ROAD, AND SO IS VERY PEACEFULL, NO NOISE!
If you are looking for a clean basic hotel, friendly helpful owners and close the ferries... This is it!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saar123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stoke on trent
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Wanting an inexpensive back up should we need it,for exploring other islands, we were lucky to find the Aegina Hotel.
Much more than we expected, the lovely owners, Aura and her artist husband Victor, provided a welcome each time we returned.
Basic facilities, it is Greece, clean towels daily, and an optional breakfast of choice, made this hotel ideal for us, a reasonable, but manageable walk in both directions to the port.
Delightful chat at the end of the day, and home made jewellery and artwork to buy if you wish.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bes_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012 via mobile

We spent one night in August in this lovely hostel. We definitely recommend it : thé best welcoming we received in Greece ! 
Aura and her husband, the owners of this place, are very friendly, they really make you feel at home. 
Our room was nice, it was the softest sheets we ever sleep in ! 
The breakfast has been cooked with love by Aura.
They gave us a lot of wise advices to visit Aegina. They also can organize your trip (cruises on other islands). 
Victor rented us his best "quad" (ATV) to go to the Temple of Aphea.

To sum up, we spent an awesome trip in Aegina thanks to them !

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pau90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
234 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

First of all, Aura and Victor make you feel very welcome immediately and Victor's artwork decorates the reception area. remember, this is a Greek island so don't come expecting uber-luxury however, it is quaint, clean, the rooms are a decent size and comfortable enough with excellent (remote controlled) air-con and TV, which for me, is enough when visiting Greece. The bathrooms are big enough and have really good quality towels.
Aura does a simple but lovely Greek breakfast (cheese omelette etc.), taken under the cool palm trees at the back of the hotel.

It is 5 minutes to the beach and a fraction more to the harbour front which means it is not as noisy as somewhere on the front. There is also a handy little super-market shop next door (not attached to the hotel).

NB My remarks and ratings are based against general Greek standards and not against UK hotel standards.

It was very reasonable value as far as I am concerned and I had a few beers and chats with the the owners who have a lot of history and tales to tell, as well as being interested in you.
If I return, I would stay here again, enough said, thank you both.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CheshireMog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

We booked this hotel following the positive reviews of other trip advisor travellers. The hotel is very basic and dated. The owner is very friendly and polite, and that is about it. For 35Euros I wouldn't have minded it (I would have possibly rated it higher) BUT for 50Euros (60Euros for late check-out) I can only spot the negatives... I wouldn't go back, and I wouldn't recommend it to any friend of mine (Greek or International).

Positives:
- very close to Avra beach
- polite and friendly owner
- relatively clean
- functioning a/c

Negatives:
- very basic room (needs updating, it has an 80's feel to it)
- very basic shower room (DEFINATELY needs updating, yiak!)
- Lack of balcony view
- Nowhere to hang swimming suit to dry and wet towels after beach
- No facilities (a table with 2 chairs usually) in the balcony to sit and relax

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colourpurple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOFIA K, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Aegina Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2017
Hotel Aegina is under NEW MANAGEMENT since 20/July/2014 and many upgrades.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 4, 2012

I stayed one night here and it was home from home. The owners are exceptionally friendly and helpful, nothing is too much trouble. Good location (5 minutes walk from the sea/tavernas), great food and free internet. Breakfast (eggs etc. any way you like) under the shade of the palm tree is the perfect way to start the day. The rooms are airy, very clean with tv and air con. The hotel was highly recommended to me by the Aegean Sailing School and their advice was perfect. I will certainly check in again when I return to Aegina.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skipper1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aegina Town
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rastoni
Hotel Rastoni
#1 of 15 in Aegina Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
6.0 mi away
Hotel Rachel
Hotel Rachel
#3 of 29 in Agia Marina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Danae
Hotel Danae
#4 of 15 in Aegina Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Angela Hotel
Angela Hotel
#1 of 29 in Agia Marina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
6.1 mi away
Vagia Hotel
Vagia Hotel
#1 of 1 in Vagia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
3.5 mi away
Ela Mesa Luxury Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aegina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aegina Hotel

Property: Aegina Hotel
Address: 23 Stratigou Petriti, Aegina Town 180 10, Greece
Location: Greece > Saronic Gulf Islands > Aegina > Aegina Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Aegina Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Aegina Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aegina Hotel is a 2 star hotel located in Aegina Town. It is a quick 3 minute walk from the port to our front steps, and we are only a few hundred feet from a sandy beach with lots of umbrellas, chairs, and a full bar. Our facilities include: 19 rooms with air conditioning, tv, private bathroom (most of the rooms also have a balcony). Guests will enjoy free wireless internet access, breakfast in our palm tree garden, and beautiful views of the ocean and all of Aegina Town from our rooftop terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Aegina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aegina Hotel Aegina Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing