We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great place in fabulous location”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
29 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Valleseco, Gran Canaria, Canary Islands

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
NomadicTr...
Fuerteventura
Level 6 Contributor
1,112 reviews
187 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 622 helpful votes
“Great place in fabulous location”
Reviewed December 23, 2014 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We have just been to Gran Canaria for 4 days staying in Casa Alpispa before moving on to Fuerteventura. The interior of Gran Canaria is incredible with such marvellous views. It is so green - everything seems to grow in the valleys and on the edges of the steep ravines. Almost all the roads away from the East and South coast motorways are quite narrow and full of bends because of the terrain. The interior of Gran Canarias is one of the most amazing places we have been to and La Alpispa is located in the centre of it.

La Alpispa is a beautiful place to stay, so different from the places on the coast. It is situated about 8 kilometres above Teror in a tiny village, which has no facilities. There is a very nice large and very well equipped studio for 2 people and a separate bedroom with an adjacent toilet. The property seems to be well designed for disabled people. The grounds are great with a pool, and outside Jacuzzi and a badminton court. Badminton rackets and shuttle cocks were stored in our studio. There is a barbecue. Guests basically have the run of a whole level and the garden. There is a large table to eat on outside in the shade. There is also a ‘bar’ (really) to sit in on cool evenings to play cards and drink a little of your own wine. We were there is early December when the nights were at a bit long and it was a bit cool at this altitude but we could imagine how lovely the place must be to stay in when the days are longer and warmer. The place is well designed. For instance, lights come on automatically as you drive in to the garage space and even when you get up at night to go to the toilet.

From our base at Casa Alpispa we travelled all round the island in our hire car driving over 550 kms. On out fiorst day we just visited the lovely town of Teror, supposedly the oldest in the island. On the second we made a big, splendid trip
On the second day we left just after 8 a.m. and visited in the north Firgas, Moya (the road down the ravine (barranco in Spanish) from Firgas to Moya is incredible) and Guia. All were worth visiting. We stopped in Sardina for lunch. For us the highlight was the drive from Agaete along the west coast to Aldea, which includes Anden Verde. The road clings to the cliffs for over 30 kms at a height of about 400 to 700 metres and there is just enough room for 2 vehicles to pass (trucks blow their horns going round corners and there has to be some juggling over passing). The views are incredibly spectacular but the road is not for nervous drivers. When we drove the road it was closed for 30 minutes as they were clearing rockfalls from the heavy rain a few days before. Luckily we stopped at a fabulous view point just before the blockage. There was an article last week in a local newspaper about closing the road because it is dangerous, particularly from rock falls. It is closed when it is raining.

The fantastic trip does not stop at the end of this road. You have two options from Aldea. One is to take the road from Aldea to Mogan and Puerto Mogan (very lonely and lovely pine forested region) and back to Maspalamos, or the incredible road to Altenara which is a very narrow single track, incredibly windy and isolated road along ravines and up into the mountains - not for the faint-hearted but absolutely marvellous. And from there it is not too far on GC21 to Valleseco and back to Casa Alspispa.

On the second day we drove via Valleseco via Cruz de Tajeda with incredible views of the ravines, mountains and Teide volcano on Tenerife to Tajeda which is a very nice village. It is being considered for an award in the category ‘the most beautiful villages in Spain’. We then drove from Tajeda almost to and then we turned south on a beautiful long, lonely twisty road through pine clad mountains and ravines and arrived at Puerto Mogan, where we stopped for lunch. Puerto Mogan is rightly thought of as one of the less developed and most attractive seaside places on Gran Canaria. With a short stop at Maspalomas to see the dunes, we took the motorway from Puerto Mogan to Arucas via Las Palmas.

On the third day we enjoyed lounging around Alpispa in the morning then spent a few hours in Teror before driving to see the huge volcanic crater, Caldera de Bandama, and from there through lush country to San Mateo and on from there on another very windy road to Teror and back to Alpispa. The only place that I think we missed was Arucas.

The only drawback of staying at Alpispa was that the nearest restaurants were in Teror about 8 kms and 20 minutes away. There is a restaurant closer, just less than 10 minutes away on the Firgas road, Meson Los Churros, however its opening times seem to be unreliable. Do as we did. Have lunch out and buy food for an evening snack and relax and for breakfast in the morning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Distance to restaurants and shops
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BVS2014
Madrid, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best place you can stay on Gran Canaria”
Reviewed January 23, 2014 for a stay in January 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This place is spectacular. I am a big traveler but I have never written a review before, but this place and the people there deserve much much more than a simple review. Firstly, the place itself is perfect for a vacation of any type. You could go there for relaxation or to throw your own personal parties. You have your own bar there equipped with a turntable, a projector screen, and speakers and lights and decorations that will make you feel like your own bartender. You have a BBQ zone outside with a grill, and you could use gas, wood or charcoal out there as your preference dictates. You've got two great sleeping areas, each decorated with lots of style and care. There are plenty of eating areas inside and out-- next to a fountain, on the patio or under a tree are good options for breakfast lunch and dinner. It has satellite TV, great soundsystems, and lots of different zones to enjoy. There is a sportcourt equipped for badminton, bball, soccer etc. There is a chill out zone for exercise with a jacuzzi and other nicknacks. There is a playhouse for kids and a garage for your car. Really the place has everything and is perfect no matter what type of vacation you are looking for.

But even though the place is incredible and beautiful and relaxing and fun and everything all at once, the best thing on top of all of these things is undoubtedly the people. The family are of the very best of people. They told us that depending on the desires of the visitors, they can be totally out of the picture, as they live separately, but once we realized what type of people they were, we wanted them around as much as possible.

We had problems renting a car on the island and so they picked us up and then called around to see what they could find. Since it was slammed during the new year, we could find nothing, and so out of the kindness of their hearts they rented us their own car in an extremely noble way. They were constantly treating us to things such as avocados from their garden, wine from the zone or homemade papas arrugas. They showed us everything we needed to know, they made great recommendations, and they just all around made sure that we had a great time. At the end of the trip they brought us where we needed to go and put us in contact with a friend to help us during the next stage. And throughout it all it was obvious that they did not do this with any connection to part of their business, but rather simply did it because they are great people.

We had a great time on our vacation. The island is spectacular and our casa rural was unforgettable. But even though everything was perfect, without question the first thing that we will think of when we think back on the trip will be the people that put us up. If you want to have an unbelievable, authentic, relaxing and fun experience-- this is the place for you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: n/a-todo ha sido bien
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 21, 2014
It was our pleasure to host such lovely group of young pals. Well behaved and clean-minded enough to trust on them and let them use our car...
We´re glad to hear that they had an unforgettable New Year time. The glorious weather they enjoyed and our house, well thought for any kind of group just did the rest. I promise we'll meet on the road.
Kharma!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almudena...
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 14, 2018 for a stay in October 2018
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leire A
Telde, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 18, 2018 for a stay in March 2018
Google Translation

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josu J
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 19, 2017 for a stay in October 2017
Google Translation
1
person found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JavierF12...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2017 for a stay in January 2017
Google Translation
2
people found this review helpful

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 9, 2017
Agradecer a estos dos huéspedes el detalle de mencionar nuestra amabilidad al dedicarle nuestro tiempo para que disfrutasen de una buena estancia en Gran Canaria. También quisiera agradecer su afabilidad a la hora de valorar las recomendaciones que recibían cada día con el fin de que encontraran lo que venían buscando en nuestra isla.
En cuanto a la visión que publica sobre nuestra propiedad, me gustaría aclarar determinados aspectos: La Alpispa cuenta con licencia turística del Cabildo de Gran Canaria Vv 2015/4077 y está catalogada y registrada como apartamento de 50 m2 con estancias anexas de 150 m2, entre ellas otro dormitorio y otro baño, y finca de 2.000m2. Por este hecho, que es un dato objetivo, es impreciso afirmar que se alojaron en un estudio de 25-30 m2 con baño adyacente. Tampoco puede afirmar "creer que la otra parte de la casa estaba ocupada" ya que La ALpispa es un alojamiento de uso exclusivo para un solo grupo, en este caso, dos personas. El baño principal tiene calefacción en su interior, la cual, por razones de seguridad, no se puede manipular para trasladar a otras dependencias. La casa, no cuenta con calefacción central, siendo ésta una dotación de muy baja implantación en Canarias aunque tampoco se publicita nuestra propiedad en esta web con dicha prestación. Resulta muy incongruente leer que la casa dispone de un deshumidificador funcionando las 24 horas del día y afirmar que "El principal problema para nosotros fue el frío que hacía en el apartamento debido a la humedad.". El dormitorio y salón de estar cuentan con un moderno deshumidificador cuyo uso es gestionado por los huéspedes. Este dispositivo regula el nivel de humedad de la estancia y es ideal para la zona de medianías de la isla ya que reduce la sensación de frío por completo. Si este huésped hizo un uso ininterrumpido de este aparato durante 24 horas habrá contravenido las instrucciones de uso que facilitamos a los usuarios, a la vez que habrá disfrutado de unas condiciones de humedad con las que resulta completamente imposible "sentir frío debido a la humedad". Reconocer además que este hecho determinó su estancia y su nivel de satisfacción con la casa y por ello la califica con una puntuación tan baja, creo que aclara que este viajero desea dar una visión errónea y muy negativa de la casa de manera intencionada, hecho que es ajeno a nuestra acción como propietarios o a un malentendido sobre el anuncio de TripAdvisor tal y como quiere hacer entender.
Tras cuatro años de actividad con 24 opiniones en las que gozamos de una catalogación de alojamiento "Excelente" resulta muy ingrato tener que leer que "se facilitan mantas, edredones y sábanas de invierno para el frío" en enero en una vivienda vacacional en el campo, o "ambientadores para el olor" en una cocina... Lo que es considerado excelencia por la mayoría de usuarios es utilizado como una crítica por parte de estas personas de manera totalmente incomprensible. Si dicha crítica proviene además de dos huéspedes con los que te has sentado -a diario- a organizar su estancia sin que te hayan comentado la más mínima incidencia con la casa, creo poco más se puede añadir.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odyssey48...
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2016 for a stay in December 2016
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 25, 2016
Thanks for sharing your view of La Alpispa with other travelers.
What happened the day before these guests left was that, as they had only booked one of the rooms of the house, we had to prepare the second room for our next group, checking-in right after their check-out. This place, El Granero, is completely separated from La Posada, which is the main apartment that small groups use. However, when we wanted to make the beds of that second room, we discovered that the mattress had disappeared!! Once the guests arrived later in the evening, we asked them for it and, surprisingly, as we had forgotten to lock the room, they took it without permission to put a double!! mattress in their child's bed. That was all and very kindly we explained it to them, making clear that, when we have an immediate check-in after a check-out, the rooms of the house that are not used and also the garden or the garaje, are prepared in advance even if the house is being occupied. This way we do not delay the next group check-in unnecessarily.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing