We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TUI Family Life Orquidea
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Monte Feliz(Bahia Feliz)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Side Shore(Maspalomas)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Sun Club Aguila Playa(Playa del Ingles)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Vista Golf(Maspalomas)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (1,906)
Filter reviews
1,906 results
Traveler rating
706
633
360
118
89
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
706
633
360
118
89
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssplit levelkids clubentertainment teamthomson staffthomson familypool areael sultanevening entertainmentsnack barkids buffetgreat holidayplenty of choicechocolate fountainsummer holidaysbusy hoteltapas restaurantchildren aged
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
895 - 900 of 1,906 reviews
Reviewed January 12, 2014

The hotel exceeded expectations. You walk into a clean marble reception. All the staff speak at least Spanish and English - Most people were English, Dutch or German so they must speak others too. Reception staff were very polite and helpful. The room was two tiers with a large plasma TV with satellite channels - OK it goes a bit fuzzy at times, but you're not there to watch TV. The welcome bits were a lovely touch - small bottle of red wine, bag of crisps, tea and coffee and the maid left chocolates everyday. We went on a package holiday - so we were told all about the trips we could take and things in the ares, but there's enough stuff in your room and in the lobby for you to make your own mind up otherwise! The food's brilliant and your plates are removed quickly for you to get either another plate or dessert. Dessert is not something I usually enjoy abroad, but there was so much choice and it was all very nice and a chocolate fountain to boot? You can't go wrong. We went all inclusive, so we had a free tapas meal in the 'Tavern by the sea' restaurant which was wonderful. We went to the Sultans Cave restaurant on site too one night - wow. lovely atmosphere and if we weren't all in we'd have eaten there every night! The resort itself is quiet but a bus ride away from lots of places. Yes, it is a bit windy - But it's the coast. Of course it's windy! We went 4th - 11th Jan. It was an average of 24 degrees c and the wind is nice. There's constantly someone cleaning. There's mini golf, pool and air hockey tables, a small arcade, the spa is lovely - somehow it cuts out all the kids noise from the other side of the wall. Which makes a nice break and there's no time limit - Plus a hotel discount. It is not a beach holiday, although they have imported a bit of a sandy beach from (I guess round the coast) so the kids have sand. The beach is stoney, but there's more than enough loungers anyway. Entertainment every night, which was brilliant and funny but shuts off by (I think) 10-11ish so you can sleep - but once your window's closed you can't hear it anyway. Next time we don't know where to go - We'll be going back here. Oh, and go see the Music Hall Tavern drag show. it's hilarious. :)

Room Tip: Stayed in 711. Overlooking the pool and sea. It was perfect for the sun rise and set.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Rosiebird9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

Wow what a holiday, I was there over Christmas & New year and had the best family holiday ever. We were all inclusive and had some reservations about whether the food was going to be any good or not, I needn't of worried it was flawless the choice and quality of the food was amazing. The hotel and restaurants were all kept to a high level of cleanliness and all the staff we're pleasant and professional. An awesome gala dinner for Xmas and New year and the fireworks display was brilliant. If you have a family and want to visit an amazing hotel and a beautiful island then this is the place to go. Well done Hotel Orquidea we shall return someday!.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
5  Thank shearsy4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Had a week here 14th to 21st December... I would certainly visit this hotel again.

Negatives First.

It is windy here....a short bus ride and you will find the wind is considerably less elsewhere. However the wind surfers were loving it, ripping along. A determined sunbather can find a sheltered spot on this resort or on their balcony. The weather was lovely despite the wind.

However, if you don't want to share your holiday with lots of families, children and babies then this is not the Hotel for you.This Hotel is what it says on the cover... A Tui family resort.

This Hotel is also branded a Nordotel... and the name contains what will possibly be another determining factor for some. This Hotel is Nordic first and last....... Lots and lots of Scandanavian families....Large self contained family groups and very few English speaking people overall. We found the Scandanavians very civilised but reserved, if somebody returns a smile to you, chances are they are British or Spanish.

The food and drink in the Hotel is excellent. .... 4 Star ...

The rooms are excellent..... 4 star.....

The service is excellent.... though it must be noted that you help yourself at meal times. I like this personally... What you want, when you want, however much you want... Nobody watching you, no questions asked very free and easy, if you want any peace at meal times there is an adult only section to the restaurant, as it can get quite lively meal times with all the families and children and babies.

Food, Drink and ice cream available all day long. Kettle and fridge in your room.

The animation teams works hard and the children are well cared for.

There is a lovely flat walk along the sea front stretching several miles.

The hotel is quieter after 11.00 pm due to the families settling down fairly early and at midnight it is very quiet. But the noise can be very loud until 11.00 with the entertainment booming around the hotel.

If you want to watch TV in your room the TV is flat screen with a lot of English Channels including Sky Sports. There is a lovely sea view from each room.

There are public bus stops a very short safe walk away and from these for a few euros the rest of Gran Canaria beckons. We really enjoyed days at Peurto Mogan and Maspolomas.

If you go to this Hotel with these expectations you will not be disappointed, there is much to commend it.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for a week in November. We were all inclusive and food was very good. Special carvery meat was excellent. Weather was great but a bit windy at times. Only a very small beach but plenty of sun beds by the pool.for a peaceful and relaxing holiday this is a good place to go.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Maria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Had a good week in Nov 2013
Couldn't fault it
Only minor problem was that Bahia Feliz is a lot windier than resorts further along the coast
Went to the Taurito Princess, farther on down the coast last Jan and out of the two locations, preferred the Taurito
If you like to laze around on a sandy beach all day which is yards away from your hotel, then pick this one


Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank paul r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews