We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not that nice, bad location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
TUI Family Life Orquidea
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Bahia Feliz
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed November 27, 2013

I've stayed there for a christmas december 2012, a couple with 3 years old boy. Wasn't that bad but there is more negative things that I wouldnt go there again. That was my first time in Gran Canaria so I didn't know anything really. I would never go there firstly because of location!After 2 day we hired car and drove everyday near Puerto Rico and beautiful beach Amadores, where there is many thi gs to do, boats to Puerto Mogan..etc Weather near Bahia Faliz where is Orhidea Hotel was all most every day windy and cooler when on the west south where is Amadores, PuertoRico was sunny, warmer and not windy (mountains around). Hotel quality average, rooms didn't liked, bathroom awfull. Very good were shows , entertainment, my Son loved it, but otherwise nothing else.Pools - heated ...??but so cold, kids club not for english on december only vrom Sweden and somwehere else..I would not reccomended, go to better location. We are going in 2 weeks time to Gran Canaria -this time Amadores, next to Amadores beach, the most beautiful there and I know already this time will be a great holiday:)

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Alex250310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,859)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

883 - 889 of 1,859 reviews

Reviewed November 27, 2013

This was out first all inclusive and we were a bit concerned about it, as if the food was not good then it was going to be a very expensive trip! however, very pleased to report that the food and the service in the hotel was absolutely superb.
There was a huge variety of foods from all round the world, special themed nights and lots of food cooked to order as well. All the food was first rate and there was plenty of it, the staff were friendly and chatty (even in response to my poor Spanish) and the facilities were clean and tidy.
Excellent and attentive lifeguards at the poolside, good little shallow pool for the kids to play in and lots of sunloungers in the morning.
Would recommend to anyone with kids, but make sure that the Thomson Kids Club is on when you go!
Ps the Spa is super, pricey but worth it for a bit of quality quiet time :)

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VJ_Spencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Isolated quiet location o hillside near bus stop.

Good facilities and shops nearby within easy walking distance.

Good food as part of the all inclusive, wide selection and always available. Decent walls ice cream at the outside bar in the fridge as part of the all inclusive too, but it isn't highlighted so keep an eye out for it.

Rooms basic split level layout, functional and works.

Good grounds layout, annoying kids club.


Overall a decent stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CCWalker250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

My wife and I, in our late middle age - well I get a Rail Card and she doesn't! - have just returned from a week spent at the Orquidea Hotel in Bahia Feliz. We had a superb weeks break and this may help those who are thinking of going here on holiday.

Being only a 15minute drive from the Airport we thought there may be aircraft noise. No there isn't because it's not directly under the flight path. In fact we enjoyed sitting on the balcony after dinner with a (few) brandies watching their lights as they came in to land. There is a small aerodrome within a mile and it was fun watching the small aircraft and helicopters use it. This aerodrome is also the home to a racetrack used by motorbikes which, on the Sunday we were there, was a little noisy.

We went between the 16th and 23rd November which, by coincidence, happened to be the same time as most of Finland emptied and the population went on their (government subsidised) 'winter' holiday - a way of getting away from the cold and snowy conditions and give the children some warmth and sun. The Orquidea is a favourite resort and everything, and I mean everything, was in Finnish (except that the friendly and attentive Spanish hosts could not speak it and so bad English was the order of the day). Not a problem except that they were somewhat pushy, unfriendly and arrogant - no, very! But being an ex 'prop-forward' this didn't worry me. The only entertainment was in Finnish but that did not bother us either as we enjoyed the evenings in the bar.

We had a split-level, 5th floor room with a superb sea view which was excellent and spotlessly clean, as was the whole hotel and surrounds. The beds were the most comfortable we have ever slept in on a holiday abroad. The maid service was exemplary and we got chocolates and wine on our second evening. Even the TV had BBC 1 & 2 plus ITV & Channel 4 so I was able to catch up with the rugby internationals and the wife with Strictly!

There are 2 'adult' and one children's plus one baby pool. And we have never seen so many sun loungers at a hotel; the place was supposed to be full (we had the 'last' room(?)) and there were dozens and dozens of free loungers, so no need for towels to book them at this venue!

The food was perfectly fine, there was always a good choice and variety for lunch in the Nidos Restaurant and at evening dinner. But the pool bar was not as good as we hoped, although everything was well cooked. The on-site tapas bar (one visit a week for all inclusive guests) was exceedingly good and we spent a lovely evening there. Indeed all restaurant staff were very friendly and efficient. The main bar was open from 5pm till midnight and the pool bar from 10 until 5pm, so always somewhere to enjoy a drink, except I'm not a fan of a G&T in 'paper' Pepsi cups. Watch the spirits, the Brandy especially is the local, cheap, 30% stuff, adequate but sweet. The wine from the taps also tasted a little watery but, again, totally adequate - especially after the 3rd glass!!!

A very good tip for adults holidaying without kids/grand-kids - attached to the hotel is a Spa which, for just 3 Euros per person, per day, for 'all inclusive' guests (the price of a sunbed on the man-made sandy beach) gives you a days access to an adults only heated 25m swimming pool and associated sun-beds. We spent 4 days there, glorious!!!

Opposite there are a small selection of shops, 2 supermarkets and restaurants which are available for those who prefer a different taste in food. The bus-stop and a taxi rank are close by for those who wish to venture further afield. You can walk along a promenade towards San Agustin for around a mile but then it peters out to a stony beach. Which brings me to the subject of the Orquidea beach which is small and made from very fine black sand. We ventured there once and for the rest of the day out feet left dirty marks everywhere we walked.

So overall we would certainly recommend the Orquidea Hotel; just be wary at what time of the year you go (who the other 'clients' are), and make use of the excellent Spa if you can.

Room Tip: We were in room 507 which had a superb sea view and was (relatively) quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Clothesoptional
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

We were traveling with three kids (10,8 yrs + 9 mo). Junior suite was roomy, each one had separate bed + our baby had an separate cot. We were at 1st floor, 1/2 pension.

To be short: would not recommend. 4 stars is too high-3 stars more like it. You would get better deals elsewhere.

Pros:
- Friendly service
- Although crowdy, breakfast and dinners were in our opinion good quality, plentiful. Dinners had an separate theme each night.In dinners, drinks costed an extra 3,95/evening for adult, (we did not have all inclusive)
- Separate relaxation area with gym and 25m pool, they were more quiet. Entrance had an moderate few euros fee.
- Fritidsresor etc arranges much different activities

Cons:
- Rooms were noisy (at least in 1st floor). We ended up sleeping with earplugs, including our oldest kids. In the evening was evening show ending 10pm, in morning noise from corridor.
- Aircon was in only one room- if door was closed, our bedroom was without ac.
- Rooms were shaggy (broken shower, in wc broken ceramics in wall, towels old and worn, faucet did not give an proper flow of water)
- In room only water kettle and few cups, no chance of making baby food in room (separate house for babies at outside)
- Stony beach, which is not suitable for smallest children
- Windy localisation
- Quite far from Ingles (6km)

Room Tip: Junior suite are roomy but other room without ac. Take rooms above 1st floor because of noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

just had 10 days in this hotel, beautiful hotel and rooms, staff wonderful and wonderful rep (sam) we went November thinking children were back at school, we did not reckon on 3 other countries being there with their children, we English felt a bit alien because there was only a handful of us, we met up with 3 other English couples who also did not think there would be so many children, 42 prams outside the dining room and that's not counting the ones in there, no beach at all. I would recommend this hotel to families but if you want to go as a couple look elswhere

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Visited here in the summer of 2013. Whilst we enjoyed the area the holiday was spoilt by the rude staff wo told me that 'you must wait' this was untill he served all the men that came to the bar (even the ones who came after me!) Also the food was cold most nights and waiters would allow plates to stack up on the table ater complaiing they took them away whilst we were still eating . would not visit again.

Room Tip: Choose somewhere else! Dont go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JemJem B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bahia Feliz
0.2 mi away
Monte Feliz
Monte Feliz
#1 of 4 in Bahia Feliz
641 reviews
1 mi away
Apartamentos MarinaSol
Apartamentos MarinaSol
#11 of 19 in San Agustin
247 reviews
1.7 mi away
Melia Tamarindos
Melia Tamarindos
#5 of 19 in San Agustin
1,903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel
2.7 mi away
Beverly Park Hotel
Beverly Park Hotel
#124 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
1,789 reviews
1.9 mi away
San Agustin Beach Club
San Agustin Beach Club
#9 of 19 in San Agustin
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TUI Family Life Orquidea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TUI Family Life Orquidea

Address: Viejos Tendereteros s/n, 35107 Bahia Feliz, Gran Canaria, Spain (Formerly Orquidea Hotel)
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Bahia Feliz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Bahia Feliz
Price Range: $140 - $292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 255
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your TUI Family Life Orquidea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
TUI Family Life Orquidea Bahia Feliz, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing