We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, friendly service but rooms bit shaggy + noisy. Windy.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
TUI Family Life Orquidea
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Bahia Feliz
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed November 23, 2013

We were traveling with three kids (10,8 yrs + 9 mo). Junior suite was roomy, each one had separate bed + our baby had an separate cot. We were at 1st floor, 1/2 pension.

To be short: would not recommend. 4 stars is too high-3 stars more like it. You would get better deals elsewhere.

Pros:
- Friendly service
- Although crowdy, breakfast and dinners were in our opinion good quality, plentiful. Dinners had an separate theme each night.In dinners, drinks costed an extra 3,95/evening for adult, (we did not have all inclusive)
- Separate relaxation area with gym and 25m pool, they were more quiet. Entrance had an moderate few euros fee.
- Fritidsresor etc arranges much different activities

Cons:
- Rooms were noisy (at least in 1st floor). We ended up sleeping with earplugs, including our oldest kids. In the evening was evening show ending 10pm, in morning noise from corridor.
- Aircon was in only one room- if door was closed, our bedroom was without ac.
- Rooms were shaggy (broken shower, in wc broken ceramics in wall, towels old and worn, faucet did not give an proper flow of water)
- In room only water kettle and few cups, no chance of making baby food in room (separate house for babies at outside)
- Stony beach, which is not suitable for smallest children
- Windy localisation
- Quite far from Ingles (6km)

Room Tip: Junior suite are roomy but other room without ac. Take rooms above 1st floor because of noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,860)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

887 - 893 of 1,860 reviews

Reviewed November 16, 2013

just had 10 days in this hotel, beautiful hotel and rooms, staff wonderful and wonderful rep (sam) we went November thinking children were back at school, we did not reckon on 3 other countries being there with their children, we English felt a bit alien because there was only a handful of us, we met up with 3 other English couples who also did not think there would be so many children, 42 prams outside the dining room and that's not counting the ones in there, no beach at all. I would recommend this hotel to families but if you want to go as a couple look elswhere

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Visited here in the summer of 2013. Whilst we enjoyed the area the holiday was spoilt by the rude staff wo told me that 'you must wait' this was untill he served all the men that came to the bar (even the ones who came after me!) Also the food was cold most nights and waiters would allow plates to stack up on the table ater complaiing they took them away whilst we were still eating . would not visit again.

Room Tip: Choose somewhere else! Dont go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JemJem B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We have just returned from a 10 day holiday at the Orquidea! I looked at loads of reviews on here prior to leaving the UK and was really happy and looking forward to our visit there.
I couldn't agree more with the good comments about the hotel cleanliness, the hotel staff (reception staff are so nice) the FOOD........OMG I have come home with so many extra pounds on!! The variety of food was great, even for fussy eaters. You really can't fault the food here.
The rooms were lovely, we had 2 interconnecting rooms as there were 6 of us.
The only comment I have is that the beds need more than just a "mattress topper", they are not the most comfortable, I slept ok my my hubby didn't.
Now for the only bad comment, and this is no reflection on the hotel or the entertainment team, it's just we went to this hotel at the wrong time of the year.
We booked this hotel in February and looked in the brochure and phoned the travel company direct. Something I won't do again, as the travel company was up north and were down south and could NOT call into any Thomson shop, only deal on the phone!!

We were REALLY looking forward to seeing the entertainment that so many people had raved about on here. Sadly the UK season finished 2 weeks prior to our arrival!! Something that SHOULD of been stated to us by Thomsons Travel company!!
So we had NO childrens club, NO daytime pool activity (except water polo) NO UK evening entertainment
What we did have was a hotel full of rude ignorant unfriendly Scandinavian guests and we were outnumbered 100 to 1 !!!
There was something called ABS show kids for young children, but it was announced after the short performance 'every time' that the only children that could be participate we're NON UK children................
How do you explain to your 7 & 10 year old that they CANNOT go on stage and join in!!
It may say in the small print of the Internet brochure or travel brochure that the Thomson Family Resort Hotel stops being a UK hotel, but we didn't see this in the brochure as we booked by TELEPHONE!
So our evenings were spent watching childrens entertainers dressed as 2 clowns (who were good most of the time) except for the evening when their act allowed them to spit the water contents of their mouth over unsuspecting children....twice!! NOT what I call entertainment
and 2 women and 1 man singing 5 nights a week.
They were good, and worked really hard, and I give them credit for their achievements as its a tall order to please everyone. But watching 3 people singing for under 2 hours a night is not entertaining, and the entertainment was finished by 10 pm and we found ourselves having to go to bed!! (Our 12 & 14 year olds were less than happy) but there was never any problems with the noise from the entertainment......as there wasn't any!!

That being said, the hotel is great, pools are great, and we would definately return but EARLIER in the year to be with UK guests and not feel like an outcast and where our children have a chance of making friends on holiday.
They only met 2 lovely children from another UK family, who were as unimpressed as we were!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kerry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Clean hotel with good food, plenty of room around the pools nada great choice in the all inclusive menus. Good drink and decent entertainment.
Will visit again some time in the near future. This place is good for couples alone or families as both are catered for very well. It is situated in a nice quiet setting, great for relaxation and long sleep ins. Always plenty of fish on the menu every day, always fresh.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank kitser1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

At last a travel company has got it right, excellent accomodation, very good food, excellent weather.
Not sure why people complain about this hotel, everything is perfect, or do they just like complaining about things, giving hotels a bad report.
Anyway was only here for a week, but enjoyed the break, thanks "Thompson".















weather

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank nickb2562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Spent a week at the Orquidea the last week in September. Read these reviews before booking and found them helpful and mostly accurate. We expected a lively family resort and that's what we got. We took sunbeds well removed from the pool area, and found these offered adequate quiet and peaceful time, and the restuarant offers an adult only area which was great. Due to this, not bothered by children at all. And believe me, though we're grannies, we had no desire to have a short break spoilt by children. And it wasn't! The food was really, really good. Fantastic variety of fresh food. The evenings entertainment from 9 - 11 pm provides good variety, but be warned, you can't sleep till it finishes.The entertainers are enthusiastic and lively - very likeable, helpful duo. The whole hotel was extremely clean. We had a really good time - lively when we wanted, peaceful when we didn't. Excellent value for money. Can't understand why the reviewers who said brits outnumbered by Swedes didn't pick up the plentiful info that Thomsons end their season there mid october! Do your research.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bahia Feliz
0.2 mi away
Monte Feliz
Monte Feliz
#1 of 4 in Bahia Feliz
643 reviews
1 mi away
Apartamentos MarinaSol
Apartamentos MarinaSol
#11 of 19 in San Agustin
248 reviews
1.7 mi away
Melia Tamarindos
Melia Tamarindos
#5 of 19 in San Agustin
1,910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Beverly Park Hotel
Beverly Park Hotel
#124 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
1,791 reviews
1.9 mi away
Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel
1.9 mi away
San Agustin Beach Club
San Agustin Beach Club
#9 of 19 in San Agustin
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TUI Family Life Orquidea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TUI Family Life Orquidea

Address: Viejos Tendereteros s/n, 35107 Bahia Feliz, Gran Canaria, Spain (Formerly Orquidea Hotel)
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Bahia Feliz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Bahia Feliz
Price Range: $140 - $290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 255
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your TUI Family Life Orquidea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
TUI Family Life Orquidea Bahia Feliz, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing