We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best holiday place ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
TUI Family Life Orquidea
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Bahia Feliz
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

This is the best holiday place ever and we all miss you Big Daddy xx we just cannot afford to come out. great entertainment and it has just been done up. Uk season runs from May to October. It's a great family place. then October til may is for non UK as thomsons don't do it. How dare you give my second home a bad review.

Stayed: May 2013
Thank Karen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,859)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

894 - 900 of 1,859 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2013

Stayed school holidays in august read a few dodgy reviews before going so they put us off a bit .my experience food best we have had anywhere on all inc.entertainment team great so much energy and enthusiasm. Location bit remote if like to walk the food off like we do.could do with a few extra staff for cleaning duties during the day as main room gets a bit littered by people just leaving half eaten food about.the two female bar staff in the main entertainment room could use a personality transplant, overhall didnt realise what a decent holiday we had till we got home to britain would return in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Markhecky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

2nd year here and just as good entertainment was excellent, food was really nice cleaners were on the go 24/7 pool area clean and tidy, loads of sunbeds even at lunch time lifeguard does an amazing job really nice man big daddy and his team done it again made our holiday if you want a fun filled holiday with memories that will last a lifetime for you and your family don't hesitate get booking you won't be disappointed :-)

Room Tip: High floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gemma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We have just returned from the Orquidea after a week's stay, our first experience of a package holiday! We went with our 2 little ones aged 1 and 3 and have had such a fantastic week. First impressions of the hotel were that is was really really clean and had a lovely spacious feel to it. Our family room was a brilliant size. It had a sectioned off sleeping area with twin beds, lounge area with sofa bed, 3 steps down to a small tv area and out onto the balcony. It also had a separate large bedroom with double bed which we weren't expecting and was a lovely surprise! We were on the 7th floor with a lovely view of the pool and the sea through the palm trees.

The food at the hotel was much better than I've had in previous similar hotels and much better than expected. Really fresh and full of flavour, and so much choice! I don't think I had the same thing twice all week! The staff in the restaurants are friendly and efficient at clearing away dirty plates and any food thrown on the floor by our son!

The pools are lovely, a bit chilly when getting in but lovely once in! Always lots of sun loungers available at any time of day. We did find the tiles around the pool quite slippery though, out 1 year old couldn't walk on it at all without slipping! The nearby beach was a hit with the whole family. There's a man-made area with golden sand and sun loungers just above the beach which the kids liked. The sea was great to swim in, so warm! The sand on the real beach was quite dark and mud like when wet, but nothing a shower afterwards didn't sort out!

The entertainment really exceeded my expectations! Initially I found it all a bit 'Benidorm' in it's cheesiness but soon found myself swept along with it and in the pool doing Aqua Fit and Fun! The team were all so good at what they did, Silly Milly and Rossy Essex had boundless energy and enthusiam, I'm not surprised that this hotel has now been voted the top Thompsons family holiday resort in the world! The kids evening disco was brilliant, really good fun. Our 3 year old loved the kids club, Laura was particularly brilliant and friendly with our slightly shy girl and soon brought her out of herself! We also used the creche for 3 sessions and our little boy seemed quite happy with the lovely girls there.

The only slight negative was that if you did want an early night the noise from the evening entertainment is very loud! Luckily the kids fell asleep ok most nights at around 8pm but I normally stayed awake til it finished at 11pm, which was fine. Probably not an issue for most people anyway as 11pm is hardly late!

All in all, a brilliant holiday and we will be returning to this hotel very soon. I would not hesitate to recommend it to any family.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunflower1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We went to Hotel Orquidea in 2011 and decided to return as we needed a good family week away. The Hotel had maintained its fantastic pools, rooms and restaurant. The kids club did exactly what it said in the brochure, our 7 and 9 year old girls were thoroughly entertained three times a day, whilst in the evening Rossie Essex and Silly Milly md'd a none stop show every evening. We have never known 2 holiday entertainers work so hard and always with a smile, they started with pool aquafit at 11am and finished at 11.30pm most nights... Wow what energy!
Overall a great experience again... Thank you Orquidea.. Only complaint was we didn't book for TWO weeks, which we will probably do next year!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MMJRMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Just got back from two week holiday. I'm not going to run the place down even though after first couple of days we had had enough. We had a sea view room on 10th floor, great view but had a constant smell of sewage, even that high up, got moved to 6th floor in an upgraded room so was happy how hotel dealt with that. Entertainment team were the best I have seen, always on the go from about 11a.m to midnight, special thanks to Rossy Essex and Silly Milly and of course Big Daddy. Pool can get very crowded, largely due to the Swedish and Germans who were staying in accommodation surrounding the hotel coming in to use the facilities, Personal space doesn't seem to mean anything to them as they just put their sun beds on top of you, recommend reserving beds at 7:30a.m, even though signs say "no reserving" everyone does it. All in all we had a great time and the food was great but we would have preferred somewhere a bit more quiet, Kids seemed to really enjoy the kids club aswell.

Room Tip: 6th floor rooms are the newer ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank steveomu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

just returned had a great time lovely hotel spotlessly clean very welcoming reception room big very comfortable bed we were on the 10th floor but with three lifts going to all floors never had to wait for a lift, the view from the balcony was amazing. the restaurants were excellent, food cooked fresh on the spot wide variety from king prawns to legs of lamb salads, soups, cold platters fish meat everything you could think of. the pools were nice a bit busy but there was piles and piles of sunbeds even at 12 mid-day always got a bed there is terraces to place beds on with sea views lovely, there is a sandy area but you have to pay for beds which is a shame it is not part of the all inclusive never saw any one on them what a waste, location is nice quiet just a few shops and bars and two supermarkets just outside the hotel but it is so easy to get about bus stop just out side and taxis are cheap if there are four of you all on meters all charge same price would recommend a trip to crocodiilo park just 10 euros for entrance with transport included. the Thompson staff were all friendly and the two main animation team sillie mille and rossy Essex were brilliant so much energy we also a few professional shows and bingo which were good
would recommend this hotel for sure. the only thing I was disappointed with you did not have use of the gym or tennis as part of all inclusive you had to pay for use at the spa never seen anyone use the tennis. overall very satisfied good value for money .

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iablab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bahia Feliz
0.2 mi away
Monte Feliz
Monte Feliz
#1 of 4 in Bahia Feliz
641 reviews
1 mi away
Apartamentos MarinaSol
Apartamentos MarinaSol
#11 of 19 in San Agustin
247 reviews
1.7 mi away
Melia Tamarindos
Melia Tamarindos
#5 of 19 in San Agustin
1,903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel
2.7 mi away
Beverly Park Hotel
Beverly Park Hotel
#124 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
1,789 reviews
1.9 mi away
San Agustin Beach Club
San Agustin Beach Club
#9 of 19 in San Agustin
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TUI Family Life Orquidea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TUI Family Life Orquidea

Address: Viejos Tendereteros s/n, 35107 Bahia Feliz, Gran Canaria, Spain (Formerly Orquidea Hotel)
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Bahia Feliz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Bahia Feliz
Price Range: $140 - $292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 255
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your TUI Family Life Orquidea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
TUI Family Life Orquidea Bahia Feliz, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing