We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
TUI Family Life Orquidea
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Bahia Feliz
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

I can't say anything bad about the hotel itself, but the visitors perhaps. Yes, alot of children, no peace and quiet, just screaming kids and their stressed parents. BUT if you can look past that (which I could after a couple of days after getting used to it) I liked this place very much.
- Did not see a single cockroach, which was a big plus since I hate them.
- View from the balcony was great. Was at 8th floor.
- Breakfast selection was awesome. You could have a different looking plate every day for weeks, I think.
- Staff was very friendly, you could not go past the maid without her saying a heartly hola.
- Beds really comfy.

The stuff to whine about is not so important but let's write it here anyway:
- REALLY strange smell in the lobby. It was like incense or something. Disliked it very much. Might be only now at christmas time though, since I don't remember it from when I was there in 2005.
- Bahia Feliz is really really windy. Easy to catch a cold, so if you're off for some walking in the beach make sure you have a jacket or something with you.
- Flies everywhere. They land on you and won't leave if you blow at them, since they're used to the strong wind, haha.
- Shops around here... Well. Some better and some not so good. Most of them have the same stuff. Best shop for clothes was one owned by some chinese people, very friendly and liked the stuff in there. Note on cosmetics: be sure not to forget anything back home. I spent days looking for regular hair pins and couldn't find them at any shop. Untill one day. The makeup shelves were really dirty and foundations etc. looked like they had gone old a long time ago. Bacteria warning.
- Some restaurants. Best were the chinese ones, and the cheapest too. So them I recommend. But some of the spanish ones, their owners just wouldn't let you walk by, they tried to pull you in and sit you in a table without asking anything and almost got mad if you didn't come. Also the spanish restaurants were much more expensive than the chinese ones.

I think it's a good place, especially for kids. Many swedes. Perhaps not the place for you if you're looking for good nights sleep and quietness. And definetly not for a romantic kinda holiday, I mean really romantic. Kids and romantic doesn't fit in the same sentence

Room Tip: Get a room from as high as possible, less cockroaches and better view to the sea, get premium or des...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hellokittyfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,684 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    641
    555
    320
    99
    69
See reviews for
1,147
264
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (358)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

went here for the sandy beach which was nom existant, huge pebbles etc, Food OK but dine later to avoid the hoards of badly behaved scandanavian kids. Entertainment shockingly bad all geared to the hurdy gurdys, dirty horrible bathroom had to buy some cleaner from the nearby shop to clean the mould and filth.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Scott W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here with my partner and 2 children. Food was so bad, we ate at the chinese restaurant across the road for 10 of the 14 nights. Reps not brilliant. Spanish staff ok. Room 913 is spacious and has a corner balcony. Beach.... What beach. Hired a car for a week as it's pretty much in the sticks. Boozer across the road charge so many different prices for the same drink. I know people will return, however we won't. Each to their own. Was a relief to leave this holiday as a memory..

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Me and my partner stayed at this hotel from the 10th of November for a week and it was our best holiday ever. Starting of with our room, it was cleaned every day, we had a room on the 10th floor and what a view of the sea we had. Room was massive and had everything u needed in it. The hotel it's self was spotless food was out of this world drinks are good aswel(strong). The entertainment was first class. We have booked back up in may with the family. Can't wait. Would recommend to family's and couples. Fantastic for kids

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Mick198787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Just got back having had 1 week all inclusive with family.
Positives - quality of food was good, hotel staff very helpful and friendly, room spacious and clean, transfer time from airport was ideal if travelling with a 5 year old.
Negatives - children's pool too small for number of kids, palm trees surround pool casting the area in shade, quality of evening entertainment very poor and as previously mentioned aimed at the Swedish market, good selection of English channels on tv in room however you had to guess the plot, story line due to intermittent reception, flies continually bother you when sitting around pool, beach was safe for young kids but far from pretty, Thomson rep conspicuous by her absence.
Overal - would not go back and surprised Thomson have it as a 4*

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

This is not all good. We arrived at Hotel Orquidea, reception staff were friendly,looked clean and spacious, seemed like there were plenty of comfy sofas to sit on. All 3 lifts worked. Good impression to start my holiday with. We arrive in our room which was clean and spacious. Plenty of storage, fridge in the room. The shower head went in all sorts of directions and soaked the floor but didnt bother my partner or I. The kettle in the room was a welcome sight. The super market was across the road which was very handy. The pools were big enough for everyone, the kids pool seemed very popular. The sun beds however were covered in fly's.. I dont think they ever get a clean, not that we seen anyway. The picture of the beach that Thomsons show on their website is certainly not the beach at this hotel. Its just a mountain of large pebbles then the sea! The British entertainment was over from the 15th October, so its not reccomended for British children after that as its then Scandinavian entertainment.... The hotel is filled with Scandinavians/Germans. Only 35 rooms are allocated for the British. We had a real problem with the fact the British were labelled with blue bands for all inc. Whereas the Scandies had yellow, we heard that this was so the British were treated accordingly.. The "free wifi" was not free for the British! The food was often swarming with fly's I never saw it covered up (in the pool bar). There was a good variety of food and all the fish options were very nice. The childrens buffet was nice as it was at their level which I thought was sweet. We had a maid every day which I never expected. She was fab. If you stay here then I would say stay no lower than the 3rd floor for better views, we were on the 2nd floor and we were level with the trees. If you choose to go on an excursion, then do not bother with the Aphrodite boat trip. You pay 67 euro's for the same trip as the supercat which only cost's 49.50. The only difference is you get a glass of Cava (plastic cup of cava) on arrival on the Aphrodite. Its not worth it, either trip! The excusrion to Las Palmas is also not worth it. The only excusion I would reccomend is Mogan and boat, you go on a water taxi over to Mogan and there is a fab market on a friday. Playa Del Ingles is only 10 min in a taxi which cost us about 8 Euro's which went to the better beach. Staff were polite, and I think this is a great hotel in the summer for the Brits as we are not the minority then. But to all Brits, dont bother booking in winter, you'll be disappointed, especially if you have kids... They are not allowed to join in. It was full of kids so if couples want a quiet holiday, this hotel is not for you. I wont stay here again, oh to all the mothers booking, take your first aid bits, there is no chemist near to the hotel.

Room Tip: Request a room from the 3rd floor and up for best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Myself, husband and 7yr old stayed at this hotel for one week 3/11-10/11. Our first time in gran canaria.
Let me just start by saying that I wont be using Thomsons again if it can be helped.
Our flight was awful- no entertainment, run out of hot food and staff not helpful.
When we arrived at our hotel there was one guy at reception having to deal with us all, but check in did get done quickly.
We went to our room(234) and was mortified when we looked around, stains on bedding, dirty bath and crisps under the bed!! Rang reception and nothing was done so we went down and he said the hotel was full. I was almost in tears at this point. We were told to go bk in the morning.
The next morning we went back and a pleasant lady said she'd sort another room for us and to go back in two hours. We went back but it still wasnt ready! At this point i went and seen our rep who didnt really give a damn and just said im sure they'll sort it for you!! This was now lunchtime on our second day and we still hadnt unpacked. Eventually we were moved and the room was better. Still, for a 4* hotel the rooms are run down. The whole hotel could do with a refurb to be honest.
Anyway we got on with our holiday and tried to make the best of it. Heres a rundown....
-The food really was fabulous, lots of variety and very nice. The drinks were ok, sometimes soft drinks were flat though.
-weather was amazing!
-The pool was mental. Ive never seen so many kids!! We've always gone to family resorts but this was something else.
- Children running wild, litter around the pool and flies everywhere. It really got on our nerves.
-The hotel is out of the way so you need taxis/bus around. We enjoyed a few days out to playa del ingles and mspalomas. Only a few shops and restaurants opposite hotel.
-the beach is rocky and not very pleasant
-Even though hotel states all inclusive you have to pay for pool towels, wifi, safe, beds on the beach and minigolf.
-The british are minority here.
- thomson fail to state that this is also part of the blue village where hundreds of scandanavians occupy the apts surrounding the hotel but they use all facilities in the hotel. Its also half board too.
I can safely say we will not be returning to this hotel!!

Room Tip: Get a high floor and check it out first!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bahia Feliz
0.2 mi away
Monte Feliz
Monte Feliz
#2 of 4 in Bahia Feliz
550 reviews
1.7 mi away
Melia Tamarindos
Melia Tamarindos
#6 of 19 in San Agustin
1,682 reviews
1.9 mi away
Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Occidental Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas
#19 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
4,402 reviews
3.6 mi away
Seaside Sandy Beach
Seaside Sandy Beach
#4 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,220 reviews
5.2 mi away
Tabaiba Princess
Tabaiba Princess
#51 of 216 in Maspalomas
2,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TUI Family Life Orquidea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TUI Family Life Orquidea

Property: TUI Family Life Orquidea
Address: Viejos Tendereteros s/n, 35107 Bahia Feliz, Gran Canaria, Spain (Formerly Orquidea Hotel)
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Bahia Feliz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Bahia Feliz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 255
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your TUI Family Life Orquidea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
TUI Family Life Orquidea Bahia Feliz, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing