We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Las Pitas by Hotel Orquidea”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
TUI Family Life Orquidea
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Bahia Feliz
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Hämeenlinna
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Las Pitas by Hotel Orquidea”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

Las Pitas is a separate part of Hotel Orquidea and all the services come from the main hotel. The whole area is a built holiday resort with no locals. We stayed at Las Pitas which has only appartments like las Vidas next door. We had a bed room , living room with cooking facilities and a spacy balcony with sun chairs . I suppose all the appartments are the same. The rooms are airconditioned and spacy for two persons to stay. Rooms were clean and the maid visited every day sweeping and cleaning, bed linen and towels were changed every third day. Small technical problems were handled promptly. Reception is in Orquidea, personnel was friendly, very co-operative and professional on 24/7 bases. We didn't use All Inclusive services but we saw the restaurants in Orquidea actively used especially breakfasts were crowded with people. We cooked our own meals. There is a stove, microwave owen, toaster and coffee maker + pots and a pan. Cooking facilities were good enough to prepare our "inventional "meals with the support from three small local Supermarkets. In the Shopping Center outside of the hotel there was a good choice of smaller restaurants if you want to eat "home made" food made by them. They offered take away meals as well.
Bahia Feliz covers all your needs for a good holiday. This is a normal family resort. That means a lot of noisy children everywhere. If you don't like this find another place. Orquidea Spa is a good choise to avoid the problems and swim in a good 50 meters pool and use all the gym possibilities.
You can get out of the area and walk to San Agustin Shopping Center with a lot of choise, in 50 minutes and return by bus in less than ten minutes. 50 more minutes walking and you are in the center of Pl del Ingles. Bus connections from Bahia Feliz to Playa del Ingles, Shopping Center Atlantico and Las Palmas are frequent and cheep. Taxi from Bahia Feliz to Shopping Center Yumbo costs app 6,80 euros. I assume the same assessments apply to Las Vidas.

Room Tip: Las Pitas may cause problems for a wheelchair user. When you make your reservation pay attention to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank heikki98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,606 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    620
    524
    305
    90
    67
See reviews for
1,087
253
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (348)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

Brilliant place to holiday with kids - food Is good, the kids club reps are superb and the entertainment team are out of this world.

The pool and play areas are all within a secure central area, so no need to worry about kids getting lost or safety issues. There are games and events going on all day and a show and kids disco every night. Reps are full of fun and are great at getting everyone (almost) to join in. Kids and adults end up on stage. If you have wee ones I would thoroughly recommend this place.

Gordon

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank GordonKinniburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chalfont St. Giles, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed here the last week of September in a superior room on the 9th floor. The view over the pools and out to sea was fantastic and it was lovely in the evening to sit on the balcony with a drink. The room was kept spotless as was the bathroom by the maid and it was useful having a kettle and small fridge in the room.
The pool areas were great with 3 pools including a splash pool for the younger ones.There seemed to be plenty of sun beds but the ones around the pools did get 'reserved' before breakfast. As our daughter is older my husband and I would always find a quieter spot slightly away from the pool area and looking out to sea, which was lovely. We were reassured by the lifeguard who was on duty all day and patrolled the pools with great vigilance.
The food was plentiful and there was a huge variety. But the main buffet restaurant is very large and can be very noisy at times, but only to be expected with a family hotel. I believe you could eat outside and lunch was also served at the smaller 'Los Nidos' restaurant.
Our least favourite part of the holiday was the evenings however as the entertainment very much dominates the hotel. To be expected I guess but we didn't find it very entertaining so went to bed early. However the kids club runs 3 times a week in the evening which was great for our daughter and for us and it was nice (and quiet) to enjoy a drink on the comfy sofa's in reception.
If you like evening entertainment, daytime activities and being a stone's throw from the beach (small and pebbly, but nice) then you can't go wrong with the Orquidea. The reception staff were always polite and helpful and the reps on hand for large parts of the day to answer any questions.
Top Trip - Yellow Submarine (bookable through Thomson)
You get taken by coach to Puerto Mogan (very pretty) and board the submarine for about a forty minute trip in which you should see loads of fish, especially swimming around a wreck. The bonus is that either side of the submarine trip you get spare time to have a look around Puerto Mogan.

Room Tip: Higher floors have a fantastic sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lorraine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glenboig
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

Returned last week from a weeks all inclusive stay at the Hotel Orquidea. We picked the hotel because it is down as being a family resort so thought it so would be good for our 4 yr old. The hotel looks the part when you arrive and has a great pool area for kids. The only downside was how early you had to be down to get a sunbed (before sunrise). Rooms are a bit tired looking, beds were awful the mattresses are about an inch thick. But they are a good size with plenty of storage space and a fridge. not ideal for very young kids though as they have 2 stairs in the middle of the room.

Food was fine, we used the Los Nidos restaurant for lunch which we felt was much better than the beach bar. Drinks were not so good, the beer was weak and tasteless while the soft drinks were like something out of a soda stream. The hotel entertainment was good during the day, plenty to keep people amused. But night time it was a bit lame, the kids disco was a waste of time and the later stuff was chronic. The Lionel Ritchie tribute particularly bad!
Overall a decent hotel but not a 4*.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank kharmon67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

Just got back from an 11 night stay in september 2012, the rooms were spacious clean and a decent size balcony (ours had a brill view looking over the pools and the sea) the hotel is quite modern and clean the hotel staff were very pleasant and welcoming, the food is good quality with different choices the staff in the restuarant were always cleaning up and keeping the areas clean, location it is in a quite area but you do not really need to leave the hotel or surrounding area, small shopping area with several restuarant across the road, the area is clean and tidy, the entertainment is excellent especially for the kids (it is a family resort after all) we would definately go back to this hotel.

Room Tip: Our room was 714 got a great view off the pools and the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

Got back from this hotel on 2nd oct. after 14 days stay.
I went with my husband and two adult friends. The hotel itself is very nice. We was on the 6th floor, and had a lovely view of the sea. ( most of the rooms have sea view).
Na, where do i start lol. For all the reviews who were on about bad food, your off another planet. The food was to die for, plenty of it, and got everything for everyone. Adults and kids. The kids even have their own food counter. Its fit for royalty !!!. The ones that wa moaning about it should get i life.
I got 4 gripes with this hotel. 1st one is the sunbeds. I could nt believe that the people wa running down to the beds just after evening dinner. i watched loads of couples running with the towels at 9 pm to get the beds. Sad sad people. Theres no need to rush, theres 100s of beds. I
found them very uncomfortable. Thomsons need to get some padding on them. Very very very uncomfy. The beds sag in the middle ( a bit like me), and u can feel all the plastic bars that hold them together. They want dumping, and new ones bought. The 2nd wa the towels. They wa like paper and very tacky, and small. Awful. The maids wa dirty bleeders. They just sweep the room once a week, and leave the muck for u to clean. Not very good. 3rd wa the beds in the room. Chuffin ell. They are orrible. U can feel every spring in the bed. Ma back wa killing me. I ended up putting a duvet under the sheet, and then the 2nd duvet on top of that. They r terrible. If u ant got a bad back b4 u go, ull defo get one when u get back lol. And the 4th is THE BLACKCLOCKS. Lasses, if ur scared of little bugs, then get ready for a treat of a bug. Christ, there massive. The lads spray round all the time with poison, but i think they are immune to it na, My friend clobbered one that was running about in the bread in the restaurant. ugggggg. They r that big, u can put a lead on em,n tek em for a walk !! But dont let them put u off !!!!. Just walk past them and hope they dont notice you hehehe. If they do ........RUN.
If ur taking the kids with you, then they will have the best holiday ever. The reps are full o energy, and always doing games with them from early morning till well after 11 at night. They never stop, and are always doing something with them. For u adults who like a bit of adult entertainment, dont hold ur breath. There int none !! This hotel is all geared up for the kids. The bit of entertainment that i saw was a hypnotist lmao, and a couple of jugglers.
Dont miss out on a trip to peuto rico. Its around 2.50 euro, and a lovely bus ride that lasts about an hour. The scenery is lovely ( but not as lovely as yorkshire lol).
You parents will not go wrong with this hotel. Your kids wont want to come home.
Happy days folks.

Room Tip: Try to get a high room. It will keep the blackclocks out. Ask for the 6th floor upwards if you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank vicroyripley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

Just got back from the Orquidea hotel with my husband and two children aged 3 and 14 months. All I can say is it was awesome!! Day activities were brilliant aqua splash at 11.30 am which is great fun volley ball on the beach the list goes on. Evening entertainment was also fab, t time live for the kids with Thompson the dog, kids can get up sing dance and even get there picture taken with him!! Jennybean jazzy Jamie, pixie Paige and big daddy are the most amazing events team, so funny and friendly! Great hotel for kids and adults we really did not want to come home!

Room Tip: We were on the 11th floor which was fine overlooking the pool and beach, was noisy up till 12 but af...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kelly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bahia Feliz
0.2 mi away
Monte Feliz
Monte Feliz
#2 of 4 in Bahia Feliz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
1.7 mi away
Melia Tamarindos
Melia Tamarindos
#6 of 19 in San Agustin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,578 reviews
4.0 mi away
Occidental Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas
#21 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Seaside Sandy Beach
Seaside Sandy Beach
#3 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,186 reviews
5.2 mi away
Tabaiba Princess
Tabaiba Princess
#53 of 220 in Maspalomas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,085 reviews
1.9 mi away
Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TUI Family Life Orquidea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TUI Family Life Orquidea

Property: TUI Family Life Orquidea
Address: Viejos Tendereteros s/n, 35107 Bahia Feliz, Gran Canaria, Spain (Formerly Orquidea Hotel)
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Bahia Feliz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Bahia Feliz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 255
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your TUI Family Life Orquidea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
TUI Family Life Orquidea Bahia Feliz, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing