We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Feel looked after!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Thalassi Hotel-Apts
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Sfakaki
Certificate of Excellence
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Feel looked after!”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

A lovely family-run hotel with a restaurant just a few minutes away overlooking the sea. Eva, the hotel owner couldn't have done more to accommodate our needs. Very understanding and helpful! Dimitri, her husband who is the king of the restaurant enjoys feeding people with a joke here and there and a lot of his own olive oil everywhere! ;) If something wasn't to your taste he would offer an alternative or fill up your plate even more if it's something you really enjoyed. Lunch was a bit predictable but very tasty!
It's worth paying for air conditionning as the weather was extremely hot when we went.
All the staff, especially Mark work extremely hard to make sure you receive the best setvice.
I didn't give 5 star rating because there aren't any activities (table tennis, football table, etc.)apart from the swimming pool. Our evenings were a bit unfilled as well untill we made friends with another family at the hotel.
But if all you need is the beach, swimming pool, nice food and drinks you would love your stay at Thalassi! We would definitely come back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Freefaller75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    71
    31
    27
    37
See reviews for
134
220
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed for a week with our two boys 12 and 14 years. You are a little bit out of the hustle bustle of a busy town but can jump on a bus and be in the old town in 20 minutes.

The room was spacious and clean and the balcony overlooked the lovely pool area, only criticism is the air conditioning unit was only in the bedroom and the living room/ area that our boys stayed in was too warm on a few nights when it got very hot.

We went all inclusive and got a continental breakfast at the hotel with lunches and dinners served at the Thalassi beach Bar which was a 5 minute walk from the apartments. The beach bar was lovely overlooking the sea and in the evening the view of the sun setting was incredible and it was a lovely place to eat.

For lunches and dinners were served fresh home produced food which was lovely, we were usually given two or three choices at lunch or dinner time, but if you didn't like something Dimitris the owner was very helpful and would always make sure you ate well. My wife is gluten-free and again she was really well looked after food-wise with Dimitris making sure she ate well. Our kids can eat for England and there was never a shortage of more chips or what ever else they fancied more off. The food was delicous and with such a beautiful view it was perfect.

Eva, Dimitris the owners and their son Anthony really looked after us and we had a lovely relaxing holiday ....



Eva,Dimitris & Anthony

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 899Paul1705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Our original plan went pear shaped so we rebooked this holiday as an allocation on arrival. We were greeted by Eva who is lovely, her service was professional but always going the extra mile to make us feel almost part of an extended family. Nothing was too much trouble and if you needed any local information, book a trip, car hire etc her English is fantastic. We booked an all inclusive option which I believe is quite new to this family run hotel. Every day we were offered a choice of freshly cooked meals. This holiday was a totally different experience from large chain hotels which tend to offer a warmed buffet style menu. Meals are in the beachside taverna is run by Eva's husband Demetrio. It has beautiful sunsets and fantastic staff who seem to enjoy serving you. We made some nice holiday friends and enjoyed the evening entertainment. Overall a fantastic relaxing holiday and we are definitely planning a return trip.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roseuk_18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beek, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Eva,Dimitris & Anthony, thanks again for the fantastic holiday we enjoyed at your hotel, we will often think back about the great service and delicious food. if everything goes well, we will come back in 2014. we shall recommend you to our friends and family!
Ivar, Talitha, Joram, Leron & Sarah

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ivar1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Well what can I say?I have been to so many hotels in the world and when I was an all-inclusive customer the food was really bad,but at Thalassi the food is amazing!!!This place deserves an award for it's Cuisine!!!Everyone there Dimitris Eva and Anthony were so friendly and made us feel as part of their family!The staff of the hotel is part of the family too.Great hospitality and I definitely reccomend it to anyone that wants to visit Crete!The hotel is well located,not so close to the busy town of Rethymno,but close enough to get there in 20 minutes with the public transport!We mostly stayed at the hotel because our children are very young and only visited the town once which is a lovely place too.The beach,where the restaurant of the hotel is,is very close to the hotel and the sandy beach was where we relaxed during our lovely stay there!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johnnyfella81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We returned back from Crete yesterday after staying at the Thalassi apartments.
Like the last review we were told that the apartments we were staying in were double booked. All I can say is we were glad! This is a lovely little place. Dimitris, Anthony and Eva will make you feel very welcome. The rooms are spacious and clean, we stayed in room 203 overlooking the pool which is very nice. We were on a half board stay the breakfast is continental and the usual boiled eggs serial cold meats cheese etc.. The bar is very well priced at 3 Euros for a large bottle of Mythos larger which I have to say is a very good larger 5%..My wife drinks wine and this was also very nice..Your dinner and evening meal are at the sea front restaurant which is about a 10 minute stroll. We enjoyed the walk as it was like going out to a restaurant rather than it all based around the hotel. This is where you will meet Dimitris a real true character who is a person that can’t do enough for you (and his two staff they are wonderful) (don't be afraid of him he is a gentle giant who loves to chat with you and is very serious about his home grown food) he will always give you a choice of food and will always ask you if you want more. Anthony their son is a top bloke and will love it if you can give him some music from your IPod. If you don’t like the food here then go to burger king as this is real Greek food served with passion. I can’t fault this place and will be back soon. Thank you Dimitris and your lovely family for a great week in true Greek style! Simon & Jackie xxxx PS Anthony when you come to Manchester drop me an email...

Room Tip: Rethymon is only 7.50 Euros return on the bus for two adults. A must a great town..
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank simon c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ardrishaig, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 13, 2013

So, there you go, off on your yearly holiday. Looking forward to the hotel you've booked, cause, obviously that's why your going!! So we arrive only to find we had been double booked and had been put up at Thalassi apartments....... So glad to of been double booked!!
Eva, Dimitris and Anthony all gave us such a great welcome, it felt like you were staying with family. Food was scrumptious, the staff friendly and helpful in all ways, ef̱charistó̱!!
The apartment was spotless, comfy beds, daily cleaned, great wee balcony to enjoy the morning sun and end the evening on!
The restaurant for the evening meals maybe a short walk from the hotel, but well worth it for it's placement from the beach where we enjoyed our meals with a cool breeze coming off the Med and watch the amazing sunsets.
We will always remember Eva and Dimitris for their natural friendliness you never got the feeling they were trying to sell you something all the time, as is often the case!
We had the most amazing holiday and will be back again next year.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BobBenClaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sfakaki
2.2 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
1.5 mi away
Rethymno Mare Royal Hotel
1.3 mi away
Creta Royal Hotel
Creta Royal Hotel
#3 of 8 in Skaleta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel
Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel
#1 of 14 in Adelianos Kampos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,996 reviews
1.1 mi away
Rimondi Grand Resort & Spa
Rimondi Grand Resort & Spa
#23 of 165 in Rethymnon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
1.4 mi away
White Palace El Greco Luxury Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thalassi Hotel-Apts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thalassi Hotel-Apts

Property: Thalassi Hotel-Apts
Address: Sfakaki-Stavromenos, Sfakaki, Crete 741 00, Greece (Formerly Astrid Apartments)
Location: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Sfakaki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Sfakaki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Thalassi Hotel-Apts 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Bookgreece.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thalassi Hotel-Apts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thalassi Hotel-Apts Hotel Sfakaki
Astrid Apartments Rethymnon
Astrid Apartments Hotel Rethymnon
Thalassi Hotel-Apts Crete/Sfakaki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing