We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect relaxation”
other travelers have booked this property
Magnificent sea & pool view from the covered patio
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Magnificent sea & pool view from the covered patio
The swimming pool and the lawn garden Beautiful shot of the swimming pool at night
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
Magnificent sea & pool view from the covered patio
The swimming pool and the lawn garden
Beautiful shot of the swimming pool at night
The pool and the beachfront
The swimming pool area
The swimming pool area by night
The swimming pool area by night
The swimming pool area by the sunset
Side view
Side view
Side view
Night shot of the garden
Night shot
Covered furnished patio
Covered furnished patio by the BBQ
Welcome
Double bed bedroom
Double bed bedroom
Twin beds bedroom
Modern open-plan fully equipped kitchen
Modern  fully equipped bathroom
Modern  fully equipped bathroom
The beautiful Sfakaki beach
Side view
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Sfakaki, Rethymnon Prefecture, Crete

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Anne R
Cholsey, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Perfect relaxation”
Reviewed May 19, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Villa Mathios is absolutely lovely.... spacious, clean, fabulous setting, eating places and supermarkets all within a 5 to 10 min walk. A bus stop at the end of the drive means if you really want to venture forth the bus goes every half hour, so no car is needed. It was joy to sit on the terrace and watch the swallows try and drink the pool dry during the day and then watch the bats try and scoff the insect life in the evening. So if you are a country lover this is the place for you. Definately not the sort of place for riotous evening entertainment. The wild flowers in the fields around us were a riot of colour as we went in early May and as a bonus the garden of our villa had 2 lemon trees loaded with ripe lemons, just right for that gin and tonic. We will be coming back! The owner and her family were lovely, really helpful with information and her coffee shop at the end of the drive sold the locally made bread fresh every morning.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 4, 2017
Thank you so much for your kind remarks! Your satisfaction gives us the greatest reward. We hope to see you next time and offer you again our best! Thank you!

Georgia Tsilingiroglou
Customer support services
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom H
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great relaxation”
Reviewed October 19, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
3
people found this review helpful

We recently stayed 5 nights at the Villa, my partner and I have a toddler so the villa was fantastic! Not to many stairs, fully fenced, mostly one level, super clean own pool and grass area. It was lovely to eat all our meals outside. The property was well equipped and very clean. Particularly greatful for the hand delivered coffee and pastries on the first morning. Fantastic restaurants within an easy walk with friendly staff. And an amazing bakery which is well worth the walk. If it's rest relaxation and some quiet time your after would definitely recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatchewan
Reviewed August 29, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Anne J
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful holidays in excellent villa with pool direkt to the sea”
Reviewed July 25, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We spend two weeks in this excellent Villa!
Everything was exatly as advertised. The garden was surrounded wíth nice hedge. The pool was nearly 9 x 10 meters and nearly 1,60 meter deep. Wonderful for swimming, playing ball or rellaxing. The terrace is also very nice with a big Barbecue and lovely vieuw to the sea.
The owner has a coffee shop near to the Villa and so it was no problem to get the key or any help.
All 3 days we had two very kind ladies, who cleaned the whole Villa, made up the beds with new badclothes , brought new towels..............fantastic!
The pool was serviced frequently... fantastic!
The beach at the Villa was not the best, but we had a car the whole time and drive to better beaches1.
Sfafkaki is a small Village, but there are some lovely taverna (Adrianas Taverne ! ), some supermarkets, rent a car, Hotels ..... aand only 8 far away to rethymnon. (there is a Lidl)

We enjoyed our time so much!!! It was great!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Pool,the garden, the whole villa and the cleanliness,
Liked least: if at all... it was a bit pity, that the beach was not so clean and nice...
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaireLHi...
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A brilliant Holiday!”
Reviewed December 29, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
3
people found this review helpful

This review is slightly late. We felt that it was important to write something, as when we booked it, there were no previous reviews to go on. We travelled in the height of the summer season and stayed in the villa with another couple. We had such an incredible time and couldn't fault the place. The house is situated down a little track, away from the road, which meant it was quiet and private. It reflects what is shown in the pictures. The villa was furnished in a modern manner and the kitchen was well equipped for 4 people. There is a beautiful sandy beach a few minutes walk away, although you have to walk down a dirt track and over some large rocks to get there. It was fine for us, but perhaps something to be mindful of if you are less mobile or have small children. I'm sure there are other ways to get to the beach...you might have to walk along the road to find an entrance point. There were a few really nice greek restaurants, a small convenience/gift shop and coffee shop that were in close walking distance. The coffee shop is actually run by the owner of the villa, who was very kind and helpful. She came and brought us some freshly brewed coffee and delicious pastries for breakfast on our first day. We felt that this was a really nice touch! The owner was usually around in the coffee shop to ask questions and was very helpful. There is a bus that runs on a regular basis which means you can explore Rethymnon town, which is a must. There are also many more restaurants, bars, shops and beaches further down the road, just outside Sfakaki and towards Rethymnon. This is not walking distance, but is around a 5-10 minute drive if you have a car. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and would definitely go back again.

Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny N
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Beautiful Villa”
Reviewed October 1, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This is a lovely private villa and not overlooked at all.It is spotlessly clean,it was totally cleaned every 3/4 days (included in the rent).If you want a quiet relaxing holiday for a young family,or mature adults,this is the place.There are a few tavernas and bars in walking distance,there is more choice a short drive away.The villa is very spacious with excellent storage space,the best I have ever stayed in.The pool is of an excellent size for a 2 bed villa with ample sunbathing space.The only complaint is that there is a shortage of comfortable indoor seating space.Otherwise,I would totally recommend this villa.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Privacy of the property
Liked least: Not enough comfortable indoor seating
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneMoss
Moss, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very nice villa with pool, lovely garden and view of the sea!”
Reviewed July 4, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
3
people found this review helpful

Stayed in the villa for 2 1/2 weeks and had everything we needed. The owner sent us excellent directions on how to get to the villa from Chania airport and brought us coffee, juice and croissants to welcome us on the first morning. The villa is well equipped and nicely furnished. Great location for exploring Crete, as well as relaxing in quiet surroundings. Lovely spacious garden with a large pool and view to the sea. Comfortable beds and good maid service twice a week. Sfakaki is a small village, but there are a very good taverna (Pantelis) nearby, and also a pizzeria which made delicious pizza. Supermarket is also nearby. The villa is close to the beach, where you can rent sun beds and buy refreshments if you like to. All in all a great place to stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the space.
Liked least: The wi-fi was a bit unstable, and the parking space for the car was a bit narrow.
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing