We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very enjoyable stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grupotel Mar de Menorca

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grupotel Mar de Menorca
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cala Canutells
Bodmin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

We found the Complex very clean ,The Staff were Very friendly and very hard working.
The food was excellent with plenty of choice and as I'm a coeliac i found plenty to eat,yes there are queues for food but not really long.

Plenty of drinks to choice from.

We were there in peek times but we always found sun beds ,even though most had towels on them by 7.45am !!!

The room was basic but as we needed it just for sleeping and a shower it was adequate,

We found the Thomson holiday rep Sam was very helpful and seemed to be around the area most of the day

The Cove (Beech) was at the bottom of a hill it only took 5mins to walk to and 10min back (uphill) but we found it to be quiet ,we took snorkels and the water was so clear and the different fish swimming around was stunning so snorkelling is a must

The 2 shops that were there stocked everything that you need and once again the staff were friendly

we had a choice of many excursions ,which the one we took of the Boat trip,Market,Binibeca and The caves of xoroi was a fab day out

There was a Bus stop right outside which took you to Mahon 3 times a day

This is definitely a family holiday resort

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    465
    236
    96
    121
See reviews for
839
204
9
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

Anyone who has given this place a bad review does not know what the meaning of a holiday is. First things first this place is not Benidorm nor is it an 18 to 30s resort. You are not going to find British food or pub crawls and the usual laddish behavior. This place should be viewed as a little oasis away from the rush of real life. Where you are fed continuously throughout the day watered with as many drinks you can have.

Ok let's break it down location. The hotel is on the coast with easy access to a coved beach. To be honest a beach is good when you actually see locals going there frequently and sunbathing topless. This is also where the locals who live in the area launch their small boats to go out and catch fish or just to get some quiet time. If you want to go to a larger beach or explore you can go to Cal Coves which is about 45 mins trek through the hills, I do advise that this is not for kids below 12. Cal coves is another cove where you can sunbath on the rocks snorkel and admire the crystal clear waters

If you have the energy you can walk onto Cal A Porter which is a beautiful sandy beach which is another 2.5k. I do advise that this kind of walk is only for those who like to hike and have a sense of adventure. Alternatively you can take a bus from the hotel to Mahon which is 15mins then an other bus to Cal A Porter. Or take a cab from the hotel which will cost you about 20 euro. Or if you have a car you can drive.

The centre Mahon is 15 mins from the hotel you can take a taxi which costs about 13euro. Or there are 4 scheduled buses that leave the hotel each day and bring you back for 1.70 euro.

Back at the hotel the apartment style rooms are nice and are set out like a little village. The second floor apartments are best as they offer more space. The ground floor ones are ok. But you have have toddlers second floor with balcony stops them running away in the complex. Escorpio apartment block we would recommend as its away from the main pool area so during the day and at night if you want a quiet evening you will not be disturbed by the music and the balcony has excellent views of the cove hills.

People have said the place looks tied, daa it's a 3 star in a hot country in the hills they are not going to have overtly expensive decor when the place sees so many guests coming in and out weekly. The decor looks perfect for the hotel, it's traditional Spanish look and feel. Word of warning it gets hot here its like the sun is on your shoulder when you walk by the Spar shop so for kids have a sun hat and lots of sun cream.

The food. I read so much about queues what queues, there are longer queues at the bloody post office and do people complain. Yes there are queues usually about 5 people when it comes to food time and someone has asked for something slightly different or people are confused as to what to eat and spend all their time standing there trying to read the food labels which are usually in 3 languages

Usually there are 3 chefs cooking fresh food to go to accompany the set foods that are refilled every 5 minutes from the main kitchen. Food on the go is usually fresh fish, steaks and pastas. The food is plentiful you name it they provide. And for those with limited palates they make sure at the end of the fresh hot food there is always chips.

The entertainment: lets put it this way with over 860 guests when we were there for a week and their kids this place really does well. I have to give respect to Andrew, Jose and the two girls as they are amazing. Not Forgetting Gemma in the Mini Club. Between them they work from 10.30 am till 11pm at night providing Zumba, Football, Basketball, Tennis, Archery, Water Polo, Table Tennis, Salsa Classes, Face Painting, Mini Club, Excursions, walking and bike riding plus every night there is mini disco for kids from 8.30 then some sort of cabaret or entertainment show.

The other myths, there is nothing to do and everything is too far away. If you have this complaint ask your self what kind of holiday your looking for. At first I was in the same camp, ohh there is no wifi and I have to pay for internet on one computer in reception for 10 mins of internet. Then it hit me I am on holiday not at work it was a nice break to give up internet, texting and social media for a week I actually got a chance to chill with my family.

Room Tip: quiet rooms are away from the pool,
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Jason L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

a lot of people comment that this resort being in a remote position is a bad thing......I thought it was perfect!! no tacky shops or blaring music.......just a beautiful view of palm trees, quiet streets , pretty houses , beautiful flowers and a lovely short wander to a beautiful, small peaceful cove.

we used the buses to get around menorca and found them excellent...on time, air conditioned, polite drivers etc.

the hotel was fine...big pool area, plenty of sunbeds...no fighting over them and that was great as we were there peak season 7-14th august.

the food was excellent!! tons of choice etc.

every member of staff worked their backsides off.

the room was in a great position away from the noise of the pool but the room was pretty shabby, but the aircon was fab! and the shower was excellent and the large balcony was beautiful!!

the only downside of our whole holiday was my 9 year old son got an ear infection, which was a bit stressful as he was running a high fever and in a lot of pain...however the reception staff and Thomson rep, Sam arranged a cab to the private clinic, we were seen in less than 10 mins and seen by the dr by 20 mins, a cab then took us to the only open pharmacy (sunday) then back to the hotel..the whole thing took 1.5 hrs.

everyone I came into contact with in menorca was wonderful...bus drivers, taxi drivers, dr, nurses, holiday rep, hotel staff, shop owners, restaurant owners...etc

I found menorca a beautiful and intoxicating island...a week was no where long enough :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tanya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

I have to say that for the first few hours I would have quite happily gone home. After the frankly ugly and extremely out of date Reception area, being surrounded by loud parents sunburnt children and lots of vests, we were given the keys to someone else's room and had to trudge back there to get the right keys. Epic fail.

However, I cannot fault the staff. Helpful, friendly, extremely hardworking, exceptional for the children, constantly cleaning and always able to help... I was simply bowled over.

And the food was exceptional (not something I say easily)... Fresh crab, prawns, home-made sushi and fajitas, fresh grilled mackerel, salads, dauphinoise potato... Every night had variety, initiative and good quality. I was amazed every mealtime. My children loved the variety and tried many new dishes. The people, who complain about the food are insane... There were even several types of chip available,cooked perfectly, on occasion, how could they complain?

The wine was very drinkable and I was thrilled that there was absolutely no drunken loutishness anywhere for the entire week despite all the free alcohol. Yes, the children's entertainment was annoying, loud and repetitive, but do you know what, the kids loved it.

I will admit, we only went on this type of holiday as with three small children it was all we could afford this year.. And initially I was horrified. Please mar de menorca, there are so many good things about the place for what it is, but the bad things let it down. Ignorant holidaymakers who happily burn their children to a crisp day after day and openly take loungers away from my pensioner mum were a low point.

If you can, rent a car, we did for three days and LOVED everything about the island which is breathtaking and friendly. The trip we went on via the hotel, Treasures of Menorca, included a glass bottomed boat which was the worst case of advertising I have ever seen. If being crammed I to a stinky room looking out of ankle height windows 12people max at a time is what you imagine, you will be happy.anyone looking for a good view, polite children and a nice experience will be disappointed. Having. Said that our guide Isabelle was fantastic, super friendly and very kind. We loved her.

I can't say it enough, my expectations were low despite the high cost of the holiday during school holidays and initially they were not even met. bowever, after a week I was extremely impressed and whilst i will never do all inclusive again cannot wait to return to menorca.

Room Tip: Two bed family rooms easily big enough but as other reviewers say, tired and need overhaul. Cold wat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deb M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

we just back from a super week in Menorca.
We had read many reviews before leaving which had us quite worried about where we were going. however we figured our holiday would be as good as we make it so if it really was remote we figured we'd hire a car.

We found our apartment good, spacious and the aircon is super! it did break one night but they fixed it straight away the day after.

The pool is lovely and big and it was good that is had so many areas within it so when the entertainment team organised water polo / aqua aerobics others could still swim. probably one of the best pools ive been to. if you want a sun bed you do have to get there by 9 with your towels which is a shame if you want to venture out in the morning and come back. many seemed to reserve them first thing and wouldnt appear for hours!!

we were disapointed with the beach as it wasnt a proper sandy beach so we only visited briefly one night. it is only a short walk away but it is a steep hill. however others in the hotel went there regularly and some even had a go at fishing.

food we thought was brill. they had english night with jacket potatoes and many fillings, roast beef and yorkshire puddings, cottage pie etc and there was fish night (other non fish meals still included). we liked how meats were cooked infront of you. we also loved chinese night. im quite fussy about what i eat abroad and i felt i could eat the fish, sushi, crab etc and i was fine. oh and they also had a chocolate fountain and a clown for kids to dip fruit and sweets into.

The only thing we missed here was being able to wander out of the grounds on an evening or during the day. There isnt anywhere interesting nearby. We had a brill holiday but we hired a car. If we hadnt got a car we would have gone crazy. but thats because we both struggle to sit still by a pool for too long.

we mostly enjoyed the entertainment they had chinese acrobats and some other funny acrobats (one got swallowed by a giant balloon!!). im gonna be singing the mini disco songs for the next month! children seemed to love it though and the lady in charge of the children was completely crazy and has so much energy so she went down really well with everybody!

overall i would say the place reminds me of a butlins camp abroad. its incredibly friendly, the rep sam will do anything to help guests, and hes there most of the time. We had no issues with the hotel or staff or facilities but its very remote so if people want to leave the site and explore the island they need to either hire a car or look at bus timetables. we found buses limited as they are only every 4 hours and you have to go through mahon to get anywhere. we downloaded the timetable before we left england and took our driving licences. We were really pleased with the hotel and have many happy memories from our time in the hotel esp in the evenings. but we probably wouldnt go back as we discovered from hiring a car that there are many other resorts that arent as remote and have so much more to offer.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lancs12331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

Would highly recommend this resort for a family holiday, 10 minutes from the airport in a secluded location (just what we wanted) excellent food, mostly pleasant & hardworking staff, fantastic pool, wasps were not an issue if you don't leave or spill drinks beside your sunlounger, apartment was basic but clean with air conditioning & a nice balcony, 3 great little shops on site which cater for all your holiday needs including souvenirs at great prices. There's a bus to Mahon every day except Sundays for €1.65, there's a great little market in Mahon on Tuesday & Saturday, a glass bottom boat trip around Mahon harbour is worth doing (€11 each).
We can't really comment on nightly entertainment because we usually went back to our apartment around 9-10pm, for the price we paid I could not fault this all inclusive resort, some of the people complaining in other reviews are obviously very hard people to please.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank olivernone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

Stayed for a week beginning August. Hotel rooms basic but very clean, staff very friendly & aim to please. Food was lovely lots of choice and easy to create a meal, tons of fresh fruit, salads and the deserts were gorgeous. Communal toilets kept clean & always well stocked toilet rolls, soap gel & hand paper towels, well impressed with that as stayed at some 5* hotels before & not had these essentials replenished. Pool was nice and again I found this very clean. The only one negative was the night time entertainment which was very poor almost non existent except for the kiddie entertainment which was ok but nothing for the adults or families. As with any holiday you have to reserve your sun beds if you want the same spot each day as most of us do! You won't be disappointed as this is good value for money. The hotel also provides you with a token per person which you give to the bartender in return for a strong plastic glass type for your drinks which you can re-use or change it at the bar for a clean one each time. It saves wastage and I found that it actually prevented the bins overflowing with plastic cups and blowing everywhere. Some people complained but I actually thought this was a very "green" thing to do.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracey230313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala Canutells
12.7 mi away
Melia Cala Galdana
Melia Cala Galdana
#2 of 9 in Cala Galdana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
6.8 mi away
Valentin Son Bou
Valentin Son Bou
#2 of 8 in Son Bou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,380 reviews
19.1 mi away
Viva Menorca
Viva Menorca
#3 of 13 in Cala'n Bosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
Sol Falco All Inclusive
Sol Falco All Inclusive
#5 of 13 in Cala'n Bosch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,830 reviews
6.1 mi away
Occidental Menorca
Occidental Menorca
#3 of 6 in Punta Prima
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,247 reviews
6.0 mi away
Sol Milanos Pinguinos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grupotel Mar de Menorca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grupotel Mar de Menorca

Property: Grupotel Mar de Menorca
Address: Cala Canutells s/n | Mahon, 07712 Cala Canutells, Minorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Minorca > Cala Canutells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cala Canutells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Grupotel Mar de Menorca 3*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southeastern part of Menorca, 200m from Cala Canutells beach, 13 km from Mahon. Well equipped terraced rooms, excellent views. Low-rise buildings, surrounded by extensive gardens. Particularly attractive for families. Studios & Apartments: kitchen, sat-TV, terrace or balcony, living room with sofas bed. Sport & Leisure: Swimming pool, children´s pool. tennis courts. Gym. Minigolf. Miniclub. Evening shows. Gastronomy: Breakfast, lunch and dinner buffet. Lounge & Pool bar with terrace. Services: Babysitting service. Car rental. Bicycles. Internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your Grupotel Mar de Menorca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grupotel Mar De Menorca Hotel Cala Canutells
Grupotel Mar De Menorca Cala Canutells, Spain - Minorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing