We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service All Round!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grupotel Mar de Menorca
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cala Canutells
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Service All Round!!!!”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

From the moment we arrived to the moment we left, the staff did everything they could to make our stay a pleasure.
The food was lovely, with enough choice for everyone and also long enough sessions, so the restuarant was not over crowded. The manager of the restuarant Angelica went out of her way to make the two birthdays while we were away a memorable experience.
The entertainment team work long and hard to keep children entertained and make everyone feel welcome.
The cleaners also did an excellent job, much more than expected.
The surrounding area is quiet and calm, with a beautiful cove for kids to search for crabs and tortoise and round the corner is a beach that is secluded.
For a 3 star hotel, you get more than your moneys worth and the people who seem to be moaning about Grupotel Mar De Menorca are the kind of folk who expect everything for nothing.
A truly brilliant, relaxing and calming place to stay!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank EccieThump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    483
    252
    103
    124
See reviews for
897
219
9
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Just returned from this hell hole the food was very undercooked and cold ok if you like chips everyday for to weeks the bar staff was ignorant and didnt give you good measures unless you shook his hand with 2 euros in yours then you had really good ones. Maintenance on the rooms very bad my wife just got our kids out of the bath and all the tiles fell off the wall and smashed in the bath and ther was hundreds of cockroaches running everywhere.as for the cove it wasn't worth the walk down there and very dirty wouldn't let my 2 kids on it.would not recommend this prison camp to anyone or go back there again

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jason4042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cala Canutells hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

After our original holiday was cancelled last minute my friends and I made a (very) last minute booking through Thomsons for a week's stay at Mar De Menorca, although we didn't have any time to research anything about the hotel or area, we were all pleasantly surprised when we arrived at the hotel. The rep, Sam, introduced himself immediately and recommended places to go on an evening for young people as there is limited choice in the nearby area, he was very helpful and friendly throughout our stay. The entertainment team were excellent, particularly Jose and Andre, with a range of activities and entertainment supplied for all ages, aqua gym was a personal favourite! There was an ample range of food and drinks available on the all inclusive, however we did notice that the labels didn't always correspond correctly to the food, not a huge issue though. The rooms are clean and have all the necessary facilities, including a small kitchen area. All in all we had a fantastic week, the hotel is more suited to families rather than groups of young people, but the staff went out of their way to ensure we had an amazing holiday, would recommend to anyone with young families!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Katie0263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Just got back from 2 weeks at Mar De Menorca. It is very isolated & there is nothing within walking distance. There is a spar shop & a cafe on site but that's it. The beach has no sand, it is just a cove with a slipway for boats. It is very pretty though & we loved sitting there looking at the jelly fish in the water below!
Rooms: very basic, no hair dryer, kettle & smell of damp quite strong in there. Being there for 2 weeks all our clothes smelt damp when we left!
Food: one of the best buffet restaurants we've had. Always plenty of fish, meat & fresh fruit.
Entertainment: always some activity going on during the day & professional shows 3x a week which were amazing. Team work very hard especially Jose who's always full of energy & gets stuck in. He is brilliant.
Reps: if u go with Thomson u have 2 reps there 7 days for 8 hrs a day. Lee works very hard to make sure everyone is happy & if there's a problem he's straight onto it.
All in all it was a good holiday, food was good, rooms basic but liveable, reps brill, location bad but we did a couple of trips to break it up & weather mostly good. If u want somewhere fancy then don't go there but if u like a bit of fun & chilling out by the pool then it's ideal.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WestMidlandsVic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Just home from a lovely 10 days here. Nothing I could fault on this hols everything was perfect and what we made of it!
Pool was clean and huge space for kids to play in. We went 9/06 this was the best week for a quiet break as it got really busy last four days and this is when the hotel got very hectic with staff over run and couldn't keep up with 'some' demanding Brits who just weren't happy. Yes it is quiet and remote BUT do you're homework before you go. Entertainment was great for little ones Jose was hilarious and his dance moves better than swayze!! Gangnam still in our heads now, older ones made their own at the arcades or just meeting new friends ect.... our kids are ages 15,8 &4 they were kept busy the whole time day and night. Food was gorgeous something for everyone and really didn't get the moaners that said it was awful?????? We have fussy eaters and they still ate LOADS! Breakfast was, full English, fresh baguettes, bread ect.. Hams, salami, fruit, pastries Choco pains omg I miss them. Cereals, porridge best I've ever tasted.
Lunch fish by the dozen, meat dishes steak, chicken, pork, spag Bol, lasagna,soups, salads, curry, sushi, even crab and lobster salad one night!!! good old Brit chicken nuggets, chips, cod balls, hot dog, was always one or all.
Tea they catered for Brits, Dutch and Germans with shock horror their own delicacies which people moaned at (go to margate and have fish an chips then) they tried so hard to accommodate and they won with us, was lovely each meal :D

We hired a car and went to some stunning cove beaches with white sands and clear blue water 'amazing'
Mao is pretty harbour with lovely shops. Citudella was even better.
The staff at mar de Menorca were over worked but they still smiled and always on offer to help.
We had a wonderful holiday and would go back tomorrow! Please ignore the bad reviews, this is a 3* hotel and this is what we got!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larkings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

recently returned from our stay, yes it is isolated and you do need a car to explore the many delightful beaches and other resorts.
the hotel was clean food was very good and if you had problems there was a book to write your
reservations or complaints as one day the food was not upto standard , alot of people wrote in the book, the following day was back to normal (good service).
the pool area is ideal for children and as this is an all inclusive hotel there was plenty to eat and drink.The rooms were ok we found the beds to hard, and also no cushions on sun beds which also made it uncomfortable during the day, please do not be put off by the last two comments would definetly recommend this hotel but it could be even better with some slight adjustments which i have ponted out.

Room Tip: Overlooking the pool area is ideal, the rooms on the perimiter are more quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank phil l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We've just returned from the hotel (me, my husband & our 4 year old) & I can't fault it. Yes the rooms are basic & could do with a bit of refurbishment but you only sleep in the rooms so it's not a huge problem. We asked reception for a put-me-up bed so we could all sleep in the bedroom together & the next morning it was there. We also had a problem with the DVD player in the TV which the maintenance chap resolved quickly. The hotel staff sorted everything we needed efficiently.
The entertainment team were excellent - plenty of things to join in with during the day & evening or just sit back & enjoy from the loungers! Gangnam style has never been so much fun!!! The miniclub was great for us to just relax for a while & Gemma was great with all the children. The pool was lovely even if the lifeguard was a little inconsistent with his rules.
The waiting staff worked hard & were very friendly & the food we had was excellent. There was always something fresh on the griddle & plenty of choice of salads to match.
We went with Jet2 & had no rep on site so adopted the Thomson reps - Lee & Sam - who were fantastic.The cove down the hill was picturesque & worth a quick dip. We took the bus to Mahon for the market on Tuesday & had a nice break from the resort. We also did the Coast to Coast tour with Thomson which was a lovely day out -small fishing villages, Monte Tore, cheese & wine tasting & dancing horses.
A fantastic & much needed break for us all. Wish we were still there. Back to reality tomorrow!

Room Tip: The Sagitarius block was close enough without being too noisy or far to get to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Emma O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala Canutells
18.3 mi away
Melia Cala Galdana
Melia Cala Galdana
#2 of 9 in Cala Galdana
1,093 reviews
6.0 mi away
Sol Milanos Pinguinos
6.9 mi away
Valentin Son Bou
Valentin Son Bou
#2 of 8 in Son Bou
1,451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Club Hotel Aguamarina
Club Hotel Aguamarina
#3 of 6 in Arenal d'en Castell
2,582 reviews
18.3 mi away
Sol Falco All Inclusive
Sol Falco All Inclusive
#5 of 13 in Cala'n Bosch
1,985 reviews
6.0 mi away
Occidental Menorca
Occidental Menorca
#3 of 6 in Punta Prima
2,495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grupotel Mar de Menorca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grupotel Mar de Menorca

Property: Grupotel Mar de Menorca
Address: Cala Canutells s/n | Mahon, 07712 Cala Canutells, Minorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Minorca > Cala Canutells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cala Canutells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Grupotel Mar de Menorca 3*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southeastern part of Menorca, 200m from Cala Canutells beach, 13 km from Mahon. Well equipped terraced rooms, excellent views. Low-rise buildings, surrounded by extensive gardens. Particularly attractive for families. Studios & Apartments: kitchen, sat-TV, terrace or balcony, living room with sofas bed. Sport & Leisure: Swimming pool, children´s pool. tennis courts. Gym. Minigolf. Miniclub. Evening shows. Gastronomy: Breakfast, lunch and dinner buffet. Lounge & Pool bar with terrace. Services: Babysitting service. Car rental. Bicycles. Internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grupotel Mar de Menorca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grupotel Mar De Menorca Hotel Cala Canutells
Grupotel Mar De Menorca Cala Canutells, Spain - Minorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing