We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What we expected.......but.....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grupotel Mar de Menorca
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cala Canutells
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We have just returned from a week here; we booked this as a last minute CHEAP break, and we got what we expected. The rooms were basic but clean, had TV and Air Con; no problems at all with the showers. Decor a bit tired could do with a lick of paint.

I read a lot of reviews pre going and so was a bit anxious however i had no real need to be. The food was good, what you expect from an all inclusive, there was always food avaliable and plenty of it. We read about food being bad, this was not the case, people need to realise that this place was catering for a lot of people and i think they did well, im a fussy eater and was never hungry.

The pool was massive and plenty of beds around it, wasps were a bit of an issue but just dont leave drinks out for them! The hotel cant help that!!

Now the not so great stuff, not as many staff as could have been and at times noticed this, but i am aware it was the end of the season. The hotel is very out of the way there is nothing to do around if like us you do not like "organised fun" however saying that we hired bikes Menorca has some great cycle tracks. The bar did keep running out of white wine, however when i complained they gave me a bottle of Cava as a gesture and true to thier word went and purchased bottles of wine for that evening.

A basic we felt these days is Wifi; the hotel lacked this, they have internet terminals however they are terrible and expensive. This is a simple thing which would add for a lot of people.

Basically ths place was okay; i wouldnt go back but can see the appeal for a budget break in the sun especially for families.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tigra666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,384)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

763 - 769 of 1,384 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2012

Good complex ,but swimming pools very cold could do with heating late September ,there was plenty of food but always cold or meat not cooked fully . I read the comments prior to going on holiday and everything that was said was correct re: wasps ,raw meat , one person had fish that was part frozen and was ill for days, the complex is very under staffed they are trying to be of service but failing, they work very long hours from breakfast until late at night

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wmelarkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We read bad reports about this hotel before we left but this has happened in the past with other hotel we had stayed at and we had a good time so we decided to ignore them. We arrived on 15.09.12, 2 adults 2 children aged 8 and 2, short transfer from the airport, reception booked us in and explained meal times etc to us. We booked a one room apartment but was offered an upgrade to a 2 beedroom for an extra 10 euros a night, we were shown both rooms the 2 bed was up some stairs and over looked a road, the one bed was ground floor so you has a patio area and a grassed area it was Capricorn 009 and as being an end one had extra grassed area at the side which was good for the kids, it also had a pool view and was 30 sec walk to pool and bar area, in my opinion this was one of the best rooms, so we stuck with it, the room was basic but clean and the TV had bbc and ITV. Pool area very clean plenty of sun loungers so no need to get up and put your towels down (signs up telling you not to reserve beds). Plenty going on in the day water polo etc, you do not feel pressurised to join in and if you say no you don't get any hassle. My eldest made friends straight away and spend most of the time in the pool, no ear infections, youngest one loved the small baby pool, everyone put their toys round the pool and all the young ones played with each others toys which was nice. The food was ok plenty of choice, one some occasions it seemed a little cool but there are microwaves you can use so not a major problem and the Thomson rep was aware of this had had mentioned it to the Manager, and two occasions some of the meat was pink inside but remember the hotel is catering not just for the English and you can always go back and get something else, at lunch time the bar area also serves burgers, chips etc so if you fancy a change and don't want to use the restaurant you can have a snack at the bar. Entertainment starts at 8pm for the kids and then either an outside act of the in house team do a show about 9ish to be honest these are a bit hit and miss but they try and we did have a laugh. Drinks ok and not watered down. Kids club on twice a day my eldest went with her friends but found it a bit boring as aimed at 3-6 really. Not much to do in the area but we knew that, we just wanted a chilled stress free holiday which is what we got. We did book the water park trip through Thomson, it is not massive but again kids loved it and if they are happy so am i. We also got the bus to Mahon on Market day, this bus stops outside the hotel, the rep / reception gives you the timetable. There are two beaches close by not worth spending the day on them as one so small other a bit smelly but worth a walk down to have a look at take some pictures. There is a Spar shop that sells basic food, nappies beer etc open 9-9 but closes 12.30 on a Sunday. There are a few wasps knocking about but did not really bother us, just make sure you leave not drinks lying around and when you have finished put the cups in the bin. Would i go back no but only because we never go back to where we have been before, if a family member or friend asked me if i would recommend it then yes i would, but bear in mind it was out of term time when we went and the hotel was not full.

Room Tip: Ground floor as you get patio with extra grassed area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Silee73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

I have been back from my holiday at this hotel for a week now and would easily get on a plane and go back if I could. The hotel was lovely please ignore all the rubbish bad reviews below as the people who wrote them obviously expected to pay cheap prices and get the Ritz!

The hotel was clean, the staff were pleasant, the food was always warm and there was plenty of choice if you can't find something you like they you are just far too fussy! The Rep was lovely and was very helpful. The pool was big clean and although a bit on the cold side when you first got it, it was lovely. The pool are was big and there were plenty of sun beds, it was kept clean and tidy. Anyone who has the cheek to complain about wasps need to get a life! Yeah they were around but what do you expect when your sat outside with pop! You get wasps everywhere get over it! There was a lifeguard on duty everyday which was a lovely sight!

Overall I had a lovely time at this hotel and would go back tomorrow. Men orca itself was a lovely little island with plenty of little hidden gems. El Toro is defo worth a visit the views are amazing.

So don't listen to the rubbish reviews, book it and see for yourself at the end of the day it's you who make a good or bad holiday nobody else!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank JennyT2587
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

My husband and I have just returned from a week at the Mar De Menorca. The staff on arrival were very friendly and helpful. The apartments very spacious and clean although could have done with some TLC. We could not have asked for better weather. The pool area was spacious , lots of sun beds, so for those of you that like to put towels on sunbeds at the crack of dawn - don't there are plenty! But do watch out for the invasion of wasps around the pool area - very un-nerving! The entertainment was great for the children but the adult entertainment was awful, and after perservering for 2 shows we gave up, not even a "magic act" could tempt us back!!. The food was plentiful , we did speak to our holiday rep as the food was not always hot. Apparently we were not the only ones to complain and the rep had spoken with the catering staff, the situation did appear to improve afterwards. I have to say I had mixed opinions about the hotel, there is nowhere for you to have a walk in the evening, however there is a couple of pretty cove areas to wander to. If you like a quiet holiday as we do, you may enjoy it ,but I would not return.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank julie j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Just got back from calla Canutells, and the Grupotel Mar De Menorca and we liked it,we like a quiet Holiday ,A large nice restuarant, it had a variety of food and I like to try different food,there was lots of fish even sushi one day.The apartment was good quite spacious.the weather was fantastic,theres a lovely cove close by which we snorkelled in lots of times although it had a tiny beach it was very nice plus the pool at the hotel had a masive pool area to sunbathe on and we really enjoyed cooling off in the pool just jump straight in and its great.the reception staff were very nice to us.I did hear one chap moan about the food but he was a big fat guy who looked like he lived on burgers and chips he should of gone to blackpool lol.My son is age 9 and loved the sport the entertainment crew came round the pool area regular with different activities my son played volley ball ,mini golf,water polo,shooting,darts and i did too it was great.theres 3 tennis courts a football court which we used nearly every day .theres car hire on site too cost me 39 euros for a day and i really enjoyed driving to Mahon port where we had a boat ride then went to two other beaches the roads were quiet and rural lovelly.Yes there was wasps but thats nature and if you didnt try to bat them they were ok we get wasps in england dont we so what ..to sum up pretty good and great value and very quiet great for families and couples and we were in the escorpio apartments.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank scott s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I have just returned this afternoon from possibly the worst holiday I have ever experienced!
The whole week was totally ruined by the swarms of wasps that reside primarily in and around the pool area. It is impossible to sit and enjoy oneself around the pool without continually battling these black and yellow menaces.
Food is of below average standard, not helped by being always tepid at very best!
I have to compliment the room cleaning staff who were pleasant and highly efficient.
There is no way that I could or can recommend this hotel as my whole holiday week has not been enjoyed at all!
I always said I would never submit one of these reports but after what has been endured the over riding compulsion has got the better of me.
Think twice, and go elsewhere!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala Canutells
6 mi away
Sol Milanos Pinguinos
5.9 mi away
Royal Son Bou Family Club
2.7 mi away
IBB Blue Hotel - Paradis Blau
IBB Blue Hotel - Paradis Blau
#3 of 8 in Cala'n Porter
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Valentin Son Bou
Valentin Son Bou
#2 of 8 in Son Bou
1,570 reviews
18.3 mi away
Melia Cala Galdana
Melia Cala Galdana
#2 of 9 in Cala Galdana
1,371 reviews
18.3 mi away
Sol Falco by Melia -All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grupotel Mar de Menorca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grupotel Mar de Menorca

Address: Cala Canutells s/n | Mahon, 07712 Cala Canutells, Menorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Menorca > Cala Canutells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cala Canutells
Price Range: $109 - $330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grupotel Mar de Menorca 3*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southeastern part of Menorca, 200m from Cala Canutells beach, 13 km from Mahon. Well equipped terraced rooms, excellent views. Low-rise buildings, surrounded by extensive gardens. Particularly attractive for families. Studios & Apartments: kitchen, sat-TV, terrace or balcony, living room with sofas bed. Sport & Leisure: Swimming pool, children´s pool. tennis courts. Gym. Minigolf. Miniclub. Evening shows. Gastronomy: Breakfast, lunch and dinner buffet. Lounge & Pool bar with terrace. Services: Babysitting service. Car rental. Bicycles. Internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grupotel Mar de Menorca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grupotel Mar De Menorca Hotel Cala Canutells
Grupotel Mar De Menorca Cala Canutells, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing