We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A free trip to Galicia, just from Menorca” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Meson Rias Baixas

Meson Rias Baixas
Ranked #1 of 16 Restaurants in Ferreries
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $54
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A free trip to Galicia, just from Menorca”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Everything was fresh and well prepared and served.
Service was very good and helpful.
Seafood or vegetables; no mistake, whatever you order.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Pedro L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    104
    18
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Exceptional!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

Meson Rias Baixas was the top culinary experience we had during our holidays in Menorca. It is located in a small quiet plaza in Ferreries; nothing really picturesque, however what lacks in scenery, surpasses in taste. The octopus dish was the best we have ever tried, the gnocchi were divine and the home made dessert with local Menorcan cheese was mouth-watering! Your visit in Menorca will be incomplete if you fail to dine at this restaurant...

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank baik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankara, Turkey
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Authentic food and frindly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2012

A nice restaurant in a good location with delicious sea food and pretty fair price. Ask to waitresses their daily suggestions, you won't regret.
If you are visiting Menorca the restaurant is in Ferreries. Ferreries is between Ciutadella and Cala Galdana which is the most famous touristic beach. Also it is between Ciutadella and Mahon which are the well known two cities of Menorca.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RukenZilan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
52 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great, authentic restaurant - a rarity in Menorca”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2011

Ferreries is not the most touristic town in Menorca. It's inland - on the road between Mahon and Ciutadella - and does not possess the same picturesque beauty as the costal towns. The more authentic it seems to be. This restaurant, too. When we visited for lunch we were the only "foreigners". But clearly, this was a place that the locals like. I think they like to keep this little gem a secret! Quite understandable. This restaurant demonstrates a clear dedication to well prepared authentic Spanish food - of course, they had a whole Jamon Iberico on the desk. Extremely service-minded, friendly, professional waiters. And a cozy old-school restaurant with a very nice terrace outside on the pavement. It's located in a very quiet area on the outskirts of Ferreries. This is the place to go if you like an authentic food experience - which is hard to find in Menorca. They do have a website - but of course it's only in Spanish. That's just what it should be! But have a look anyway - the photos give a good impression of what you can expect. - Great!

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bestfriendintheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
119 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Great food with fantastic service in a very genuine atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2011

My wife and I visited this restaurant with our two children. We had walked past a couple of times and it looked very traditional and welcoming. We had been in Menorca for a week and up to this point had been disappointed with the food.

The service from the first moment was exceptional - we messed the waiter around by moving from outside to in. He was totally happy about move and very gracious. Both waiters were brilliant with kids. In addition they made suggestions and stopped us ordering too much. Wine selection was tremendous and good value.

The atmosphere is very traditional but not twee. Busy but not packed (Sunday lunch at 3pm) and laid back but formal enough too match food quality.

Children's food great - bolognese and calamari.

Our food superb - aubergine and prawn as starter and main of lobster rice. Great portion, fantastically cooked rice and brilliantly prepared lobster.

Finished with coffee that arrives with cinnamon biscuit and coffee schnapps (cheesy but still love it)

Highly recommended. Total cost EUR110.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank fi33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Meson Rias Baixas also viewed

Ferreries, Minorca
Ferreries, Minorca
 
 

Been to Meson Rias Baixas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing