We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the package tour experience”
Review of Loar Ferreries

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Loar Ferreries
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ferreries
Certificate of Excellence
sussex
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Not the package tour experience”
Reviewed November 21, 2012

I've been staying here for a week whilst walking and have really enjoyed it. I am staying in a studio for one to two people. The apartments are in a modern building. There is a lift, a balcony, a living sleeping area, a substantial bathroom and a kitchen, which is adequately supplied, although the cooking facilities are limited to two rings. A microwave would be nice. There is Wifi. Make sure that your computer logs on to the wifi for your floor to get a good reception. The apartment is very clean. It does not have huge amounts of character but it does the business. The only drawback is that the sound insulation is not good. For most of the time I was the only guest on this floor, but when there was someone in the room next door I could almost have had a conversation with them.

The staff are helpful.

I paid £20 per night,which is very good value.

I think that these are the only apartments in the centre of the island. They are far from the usual package experence. The bar downstairs is a gathering place for local men to play cards. I have not heard a word spoken all week that was not in Menorquin or Spanish. Some reviewers have described Ferrieres as a village, but it is a small working town with all the amenities that you would expect.It is not particularly quaint but has a lovely setting. There are number of walks that you can do from the door.

Out of season the only buses are along the main spinal road of the island and to Es Migjorn Gran, so you really could do with a car, although there are probably taxis

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SussexBigbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    54
    22
    2
    3
See reviews for
16
100
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

If you decide to travel in extra-season - as I did - this is the perfect place to sleep. Rent a car in the airport and go around the island.
The hotel has a nice restaurant, open all year round. Careful with the tapas - if you have tried them some place else: these are big sized tapas, home made.
Do not miss the sweets - I fell in love with the chocolate one.

Room Tip: Ask for 311 - great view of the mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Love2Wander_com
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed in the hotel for 6 nights and it was a very good experience. We had booked one of the suites, therefore our review refers to this type of room.

Room: The room was super spacious, with two compartments, the bed and a small sitting area, although the couch in the latter was somewhat worn-out. The sitting area had also a big desk, above which was a wall-mounted flat TV, which was conveniently seen from the bed also. Two joined single beds consisted the 'double' bed but it was very comfortable and only in few moments we happened to feel the small gap formed between them. Great fluffy pillows and nice linens. The wardrobe is great also, with enough room to house all your belongings, a small safety box inside, and was covered by mirrors from top to bottom and side to side, which apart from being decoratively pretty, it also gave the impression of a much wider room. The bathroom was superb, comprising a bath-tub and a luxurious shower. An adequate number of towels were provided. The room had a small balcony overlooking the central plaza of the village, where many festivities took place during our stay. It was very clean, although not spotlessly (for instance there were stains in few of the walls and the chairs in the balcony were absolutely dirty). Regarding internet connection, be warned: there is only wired broadband in the room. If you need wifi, ask the password from the reception and stay in the reception area on the ground floor to use it. No wireless reception anywhere else in the hotel.

Roof pool: The hotel has a roof pool, which is a nice touch for a city-type hotel although it is very small and can become crowded if 4 people want to enter simultaneously. Yet, we were lucky enough to have it by our own on two occasions and it was superb. There is a vending machine with cold drinks, but beware of the expiry dates.

Breakfast: The only negative point of our stay was the breakfast. The staff there was untrained, slow and unprofessional. Extremely limited choices of food and drinks, which was hardly ever replenished. You had to order coffee/tea from the bar, which made it really uncomfortable to have a second one if you wished so. Staff was mainly interested in servicing the customers in the hotel’s cafeteria rather than the tenants.

Location: The hotel is at the very center of the village, which is not that big anyway. Very close to super-market, adjacent to a great bakery and overlooking the center plaza. Ferreries is a nice village where you can intermingle with locals and have a real taste of their everyday life. There are two great restaurants (Lorna and Meson Rias Baixas, try them out), within walking distance from the hotel. The only downside is that you have to drive to find a beach, but in Menorca where its beautiful beaches are far-off the busy touristic resorts, you cannot escape that anyway. Parking is difficult to find during peak season, especially if you are returning to the hotel late at night.

Room Tip: Anything close to the ground floor (i.e. first floor) might have access to wifi, otherwise bring a L...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank baik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2011

We spent 10 days in this hotel and my feedback is very positive! The location is great and the personnel of hotle very kind!
We will get back there for sure!
Luca&Sara

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1the_best_traveller_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2010

Stayed at Loar Ferreries as we didn't fancy one of the bigger resorts that seemed very touristy and charmless. We didn't regret our choice, the location is basically smack bang in the middle of the island with approximately a 20 minute drive to the biggest towns of Mahon and Ciutadella. Numerous beaches are within a 10/15 minute drive.

The hotel is clean and the staff extremely helpful and friendly. Room was an ideal size, nice bathroom and good sized bed (although we asked for a double and got two singles stuck together...not sure if that is the norm?). Nice location in the centre of Ferreries with more than enough small shops within seconds walking distance. Breakfast was good with plenty of choice and available even past the 10am limit they fixed.

Also a magnificent little swimming pool and jacuzzi on the roof which was extremely quiet each time we used it. Never more than a handful of people there at a time.

Parking proved a bit difficult when returning late at night as the street gets pretty busy and there is no private car park. But that wasn't a huge problem to be perfectly honest.

Would definitely recommend the hotel to anyone looking for a quiet and peaceful break in Menorca. Ideal for couples imo, maybe not so much for families or groups of friends.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rozbeef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ferreries
4.4 mi away
Hostal Jeni
Hostal Jeni
#1 of 1 in Mercadal
167 reviews
9.7 mi away
Melia Cala Galdana
Melia Cala Galdana
#2 of 9 in Cala Galdana
1,099 reviews
18.3 mi away
PortBlue San Luis
PortBlue San Luis
#1 of 2 in S'Algar
1,449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Valentin Son Bou
Valentin Son Bou
#2 of 8 in Son Bou
1,451 reviews
14.5 mi away
Hotel Artiem Capri Menorca
4.0 mi away
ILUNION Menorca
ILUNION Menorca
#6 of 9 in Cala Galdana
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loar Ferreries? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loar Ferreries

Property: Loar Ferreries
Address: Avenida Verge del Toro 2, 07750 Ferreries, Minorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Minorca > Ferreries
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ferreries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Loar Ferreries 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Loar Ferreries reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing