We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great two star accomodation”
Review of Sea View Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sea View Village
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Xirokastello
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We spent one week in Sea View Village and we had great time being Maria's guests. Firstly we came and were shown to a room, we asked can we get something more private (this one was right beside the pool) - no problem. We saw another room, said can we get more private - no problem. We liked the third room we saw and thats were we stayed. It was kind of below the other buildings and at the edge of the property and it turned out that we had the whole building for ourselves :) This also shows that Maria cares for her guests a lot, something that doesnt happen too often.
The room itself was quite nice and spacious, with a kitchenette. Everything was clean.
Outside of the room everything is also clean. Pool is great, although a bit small for swimming, ended up swimming in circles. Pool bar/restaurant serves nice drinks and nice food too. If you want you can stay in the hotel and you will eat well. Breakfast restaurant is nice too and you can sit on the terrace. We loved the greek yoghurt and honey (yes, you do not need anything else) for breakfast. It would be nice if there were more options for breakfast though.
The whole place is quiet and peaceful, so you can rest well from your every day life.

But we are not the "sit in the hotel" types, so we also ate in:
- Windmill taverna. We went there couple of times after trying it once. It is on the main road to the left from the hotel and you can just walk there from the hotel. We tried the pork off the spit (from the grill) and it was heaven. They also have the best greek taramasalata on the whole island! Plus other things. BTW Beware of the place behind Windmill taverna, it is weird to say the least.
- Peppermint in Argassi. This is more posh then other restaurants on the island. And the food is different too. And it is not so touristy as other places. It kind of feels like sitting in the garden, loved it.
- Aeras Restaurant. We stopped there on our climb back from Porto Vromi. It was empty, but we risked and God it was magnificent. It is run by a family. We had amazing grilled fish. Owner was chatting to us and he even invited us to the kitchen to see how they cook our food! So imagine eating tasty grilled fish on a table that is on the edge of a mountain, overlooking islands, bays and see. Its almost hard to focus on the food!
- Zorbas in Argasi. This is more like a bar than a restaurant, The food was quite nice and the portions were big, Not as good as Peppermint or Papillion, but still worth a visit.
- Papillion in Argasi. Very nice restaurant. We tried the moussaka and it was heaven. My wife tired the stuffed grape(?) leaves and she was happy too. Great service and atmosphere.

The island has so much to offer, so we highly recommend renting some vehicle (quad, mike, scooter, car) and travelling. We went to:

- Keri Bay. Lovely little place where everyone can rent a speed boat for about 40-60 euro/day. We did that and we had great time. We visited the Marathonisi island and then went around Agios Sostis. There was one scary moment when we parked the boat on Marathonisis beach and then the winds changed. Our boat got pushed onto the beach and it was quite hard to push it back onto the sea, fighitng against the waves.

- Laganas. This is the disco place, the beach is overcrowded, loud music is played from the beach bars. We spent 20 minutes there and never came back. But at the end of Laganas there is the Agios sostis, little island, where you can get to by a long bridge, quite picturesque place. You have to pay to get to the island, but you get a drink included in the price.

- Shipwreck Beach. We went there from a small bay called Porto Vromi, which is on the left from Maries, but you can also get there from Porto Nicholaos (aka Agios Nikolaos). This is a must see on Zakynthos. Amazing place. You can read about it in all guides. We came back to Porto Vromi and as we were climbing back to the main road we saw the Aeras Restaurant and we stopped there for a meal.

- Blue Caves. You can get there from Porto Nicholaos. you can also get to the shipwreck beach from there, but we decided to do it from Porto Vromi (so we have an excuse to go there). There are plenty of boats to rent. Go with the smallest possible, because then you will see more caves then the others. We hired a very old man, who only knew couple of words in English, but he took us to the smallest caves, where other boats couldnt go. he also stopped few times, so we could jump into water with our masks and snorkels and swim into the caves which he couldnt go into. That was quite an adventure.

- Dafni beach. It is really hard to get there as the road is full of potholes and it is quite steep, but it is a nice beach with a small reef, which for me was a lot of fun, because I love snorkeling. The sand is not as nice as in other places and there is a lot of stones, but it is less touristy than other beaches and there are nice restaurants. The first one on the beach specialises in fresh fish. You can choose from many kinds of fresh fish and the lady owner explains the differences in taste. Very nice experience. right by the sea and close to the hotel.

- Porto Zorro beach. This one is also close to the hotel and is quite posh. It is very clean and has white sand.

- Zakynthos and Bochali Castle. Zakynthos has a nice promenade. There is a beautiful church at the beginning of it. Once you get to the end of it there is Solomos Square with some restaurants. There are loads more restaurants left from the square. Parallel to the promenade is the main shopping street, closed for traffic. Bochali is a small village overlooking Zakynthos. There is an old fortress with an amazing views of the island and a few restaurants below it.

Overall we spent great week on the island, never seen as blue water as it was in the Blue Caves, ate loads of Greek salads, moussakas, grilled fish, tzatziki, drank great wine.
The prices are quite low, so even more reasons to be happy! :)

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank W00ki3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (89)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 89 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stayed in Sea View Village for one week at the end of July-beginning of August 2013. We are a family of two adults and two goung boys (8&7 years old).
We are overall very satisfied with our stay in Sea View. The hotel rooms were very clean, the pool was very nice, breakfast was very good and the situation ideal.
Due to my profession i have been in many hotels and 5 stars also and i can tell Sea View Village keeps its promise for a pleasnt stay

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SOT_B_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

The place was very nice with a clean large room that had a great view over the resort and further, on to the sea. It had a large balcony, a nice bath and a minikitchen that had everything I needed. We enjoyed a lot the pool, the children's playground and the open library where we borrowed books. If you want to go to the best beaches, ask the nice lady at the reception to guide you.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhea D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We stayed 12 days at Sea View Village and had a wonderful time. Everybody made us feel welcome and cared for us in a great way. Owner Maria and her team have managed to create a very special place, somewhere you can really relax and feel at ease.
The view from the pool across the sea is gorgeous and the whole setup of the hotel is tasteful and idyllic. Our kids loved the pool but there are other options: lots of beaches are nearby, there´s a shuttle service to the nearest one, Caminia Beach, but if you stay for a longer time you should better take a car and explore the island and find out which of the beaches you like best. They are all great in their own way.
As for the hotel´s restaurant see title of the review :-).

Room Tip: The rooms around the pool might be louder when there are a lot of people in the pool, but the view a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gudrun_Bre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Looking for something special? Away from overcrowded hotel resorts? Good value? Want to have your private seaview every morning? Visit the best beaches of Zakynthos? Then don´t go anywhere else... This is the right place for your holidays.
We spent here twice wonderfull holidays and we really enjoyed it. Beautiful nature, lots of beaches around, clean sea and a good value family apartments ovelooking sea. Unforgetable sunsets... Great place for a couples...

Room Tip: If you book hotel via booking.com, please note that all Greeks like to get personnal email about you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mazanek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

me and my partner stayed here for 10 days in the middle of september. the hotel is excellent in every way, our room had a lovely sea view and i enjoyed sitting on the balcony watching the sunrise in the mornings.our room was huge, loads of space and it was cleaned daily. Pool was lovely, as was the bar/ restaurant, many thanks to yiannis! Hope to come and stay again next year! highly recommended for a relaxing stay on the beautiful island of zakynthos.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank darren t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Only 30 minute drive from airport in quiet area of the island but still several good tavernas within walking distance and well stocked "supermarket" next to the apartment complex.
The staff were exemplary in their service ,going well beyond what would normally be expected in making our stay such a wonderful experience. We were very grateful to all of them for their warm ,friendly and attentive attitudes.
Pool area one of the best I have experienced . Always clean & tidy and serviced by the marvellous Yiannis who looked after us royally.
From our balcony ,a beautiful view of the pool. Beyond, the breathtaking beauty of the Ionian sea as the complex is set high in the hillside well back from the ( sometimes) busy road.
The apartment is spacious and is provided with all you could reasonably need for your stay. The shower cubicle is small ,indeed dropping the soap was as dodgy as at a Michael Barrymore pool party, but then maybe that's because I've got such a big backside. Otherwise more than adequate.
The nearby beach was a 15 minute walk but we enjoyed the casual stroll as it was downhill all the way and was more than worth it when we got there. Very very beautiful setting with a sandy beach and also a garden area for those who prefer not to have sand in their shoes. FREE (yes free) sunbeds providing that at some time during the day you purchase a drink from the excellent taverna, once again right on the beach. We spent many tranquil hours at this beach , which was never too busy , swimming in the beautiful clear water and enjoying the hospitality of the taverna before we would be collected by the Sea View bus to get us back up the hill ( once again a free service ) which was a most welcome relief after a gruelling day sunbathing.
We took the opportunity to hire a car for 2 days ( 30e pd) and explore the island and found this to be an excellent opportunity to see one of the most beautiful Greek islands. We did not have the time to go far in land but the beautiful coastline and beaches more than made up for this . We had a boat trip (15e pp) to the Blue Caves which also allowed a view of the inaccessible (by road) western coastline of the island whose spectacular white limestone cliffs plunging into the azure blue sea was an unforgettable sight. We also spent some time at the Gerakas beach at the end of the Vasillikos penninsula which is one of the most beautiful areas on the island.
For the first 2 weeks in September the temp. was still in mid 30's and hot enough for our group. The occasional sea breeze was always very welcome and even 2 stormy days at the end of our second week did not detract from our enjoyment of our stay in Zante and the excellent hospitality offered by the Sea View Apartments which I would have no hesitation in recommending.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Xirokastello
2.1 mi away
The Bay Hotel & Suites
The Bay Hotel & Suites
#1 of 18 in Vasilikos
646 reviews
2.4 mi away
Xenos Kamara Beach
Xenos Kamara Beach
#3 of 26 in Argassi
290 reviews
2.2 mi away
Edelweiss Apartments
Edelweiss Apartments
#7 of 26 in Argassi
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Atlantis Hotel
Atlantis Hotel
#14 of 73 in Laganas
477 reviews
2.1 mi away
Contessa Hotel
Contessa Hotel
#1 of 26 in Argassi
780 reviews
4.4 mi away
Mediterranean Beach Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea View Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea View Village

Address: Xirokastelo, Vasilikos, Xirokastello 291 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Xirokastello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Xirokastello
Price Range: $62 - $335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sea View Village 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
These Zakynthos Apartments are backed by the pine clad hills of Vassilikos and within walking distance from a safe sandy beach. Sea View Village is the ideal vacation retreat well removed from the bustle of modern life. Family owned and managed, Sea View Village Zakynthos Apartments were built by local craftsmen with quality ecological materials, respect to tradition and great attention to detail. Laze by the pool, stroll around the magnificent gardens or lay back and enjoy the finest of facilities. At Sea View Village we extend you a warm welcome while our friendly staff ensure you an enjoyable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sea View Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea View Village Zakynthos/Xirokastello

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing