We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you need to lose weight stay here!!!”
Review of Blue Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Blue Bay Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Cala Major
Reviewed July 2, 2014

The hotel is very clean, good rooms with amazing views...that's the good stuff. Food was really horrible poor quality with the same three choices for meat every day...even found plastic in the noodles. And the service was even worse...though there are a couple of good staff. Pool bar was manned by grumpiest ignorant !an who didn't smile once the whole week we were there. A really nice hotel let down by the people who run it,...real shame

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gregh900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (719)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

175 - 181 of 719 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

The only downfall to this are the steep steps going up to the hotel to combat this take the lift to the pool area then you are on level ground ,good food ,clean rooms,freindly staff, top tip if your taking a pc take cable for internet then you can plug it into box in your room ( free internet ) otherwise he will charge you for rental of cable !!!!! Recomended ★★★★★★★★★★★★★★★★★★★★★★★★★★★★★★★★

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dazzarigby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2014

Blue Bay in Mallorca was the perfect choice for me and my 3 friends, the view was so beautiful and the service was great, they were so relaxed and nice in a professional way, they spread joy on the hotel and maked our holiday better than it would have been. I really loved it!

Room Tip: room with balcony, great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank veraandersson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2014

We've just came back from a lovely m-f break. Prefect for a couples, and groups of friends to chill. Hotel & Cala Mayor is very hilly Steps everywhere But if that doesn't bother you its a get away.Beach is a must clean, safe an the sea clear an shallow. Hotel is spotless, rooms are big enough for 2, great seaviews, pool not salty which is Great :) Fresh fish/meats you couldnt, plenty of salad an fruit. So you could always make decent meals.Hotel does do picnic's on request.Drinks at the Bar you can only order 2 at a time, which isn't a problem really unless your a big group.The only thing we noticed was there was no evening snacks/much Entaintment. Myself an my partner Plus afew other couples we meant said its prefect for a break, defo would go back again to have a relaxing break.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank winsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

Was ok for a chill out, went all inclusive. Food was a bit like school dinners, scrapped evening meal and went out to Cala Major few good restaraunts down that way. Pool bar staff we're not very welcoming, every time you ordered anything (bearing in mind you have already paid for everything) was met by tuts and shakes of the head. Entertainment on a night was non-existent and wifi is only available in the hotel lobby. Nice peaceful place to relax and chill though. You get what you pay for, so it was ok for a last minute deal.

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014

I always try to give my rating in relation to what is provided for the price I've paid, so I expect a lot more, the more I pay. I was travelling alone and on a tight budget. The extra for All Inclusive over Bed and Breakfast was only a few Euros/Pounds a night so I went for it. I wasn't planning on dining out alone. I also paid a minor amount more for a double room rather than a single.
Got the number 1 bus from the airport to Porto Pi and then got a number 20 which goes up the hill. I would now however get off the number 1 at Placa Espanya and get the 46 circular (either way round). Do not get the number 3 if you have luggage, you don't want to drag it up the hill.
Checkin was easy. Room 733 was a small room facing the hills. I guess it was one of the 'single rooms' which nobody likes, but it was at the end of the corridor with a private balcony so decided to stick with it. Why they put two narrow single beds in these rooms is beyond me. There is so little room, and the door barely opens. without knocking the bed, but it's only somewhere to sleep. Room is tidy and clean and the maids change towels daily etc. The main problem is the mattresses on these beds have little or no padding and it is like trying to sleep on a bed of springs. I solved the problem by taking the unneeded blankets off both beds and put them under the bottom sheet. Can I ask the management to try out these mattresses they are terrible. At the very least buy some mattress toppers. Halfway through the week the temperatures went from mid 20s to mid 30s and the hotel turned on the central air conditioning. It certainly worked in the lounge, but although the fan in the bedroom made plenty of noise, little cold air came out of the vent. There didn't seem to be many mosquitos about, so I opened the balcony doors to keep cool.
Breakfast is served from 8. If you are an early riser then you can fetch a coffee from the restaurant. The breakfast is much the same every day. Cold meets, cheeses, a small selection of hot food, fruit, various fresh breads, and sweet cakes, biscuits etc.. Lunch and evening meal are similar. Lots of nice salad dishes, 2 meat and 1 fish dish, plus chips, boiled potatoes and pasta. A reasonable selection of deserts and every evening a fantastic rice pudding. If you are all inclusive then you can have endless supply of draft wine, water and fizzy drinks. For a cheap buffet I thought the food was very good. All the food was hot and well cooked and was not allowed to dry out.
The hotel is on a fairly steep hill and the pool is at the bottom of the site. Although the lift goes down to a lower terrace below the restaurant, there are still flights of stairs to get down to the pool bar and the pool. If you had mobility issues you wouldn't be able to get down there. There are plenty of sunbeds around the pool, but only a couple of umbrellas, so if you like to sit in the shade it is a bit of a no go area. The pool bar is the only bar open until 7 in the evening, so if you want to sit up in the lounge during the day you have to trek down to the pool bar to get a drink.
Wi-fi is only available in reception and the lounge. It just manages to get outside to the terrace by the road and downstairs to the restaurant under reception. During meal times and during the evening there are far too many people trying to use the internet and it really struggles. This needs to be upgraded. How much does another line and some extra access points cost? A pittance compared to the overall running costs.
All the staff were very friendly and service was very good. No complaints.
The hotel is in the residential area of Sant Agustin and is quiet. There are plenty of bars and nightlife in Cala Major along the main road.
If I was staying here on a room only basis then I would only have given a rating of 2 to 3, however for an all inclusive package at the price I paid then it just about gets a 4.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tintin100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Booked by friend 1 year ago for a girls away holiday. we're greeted by a very friendly male on reception, first impressions from entering a bit 80s. We had two twin rooms on the 5th floor and booked on a half board basis. There was a lift (very cosy took 4 medium sized persons) with luggage a bit of a squeeze. I was in room 529, what a view over small marina then out to sea, watched cruise ships coming and going to port 6 minutes by car away. Also planes heading to airport, about 20 minutes away depending on traffic. We also had view of the pool area. Basic room twin beds, mirrored wardropes with safe, bedside drawers, dressing table with cupboard, chair. TV. Double glass doors to small balcony with two plastic white chairs (small table would have been useful). Ensuite toilet, sink, bath with a good shower attachment. The decor was a bit tired i.e artex wall, sheets, blanket and 80s pattern bed cover. Some of the plumbing attachment required attention but everything worked. Laminated flooring in bedroom. Restuarant was in the lower ground floor. Bright room, food not corden bleu but very acceptable, there was four of us and we all found something to eat breakfast and dinner, we had all holidayed at Spanish buffets before and agreed this was one of the better ones, chicken tasted like chicken and fish tasted like fish. The staff worked very hard to keep everything in the restuarant running smoothly. We did notice the restuarant was advertised to serve meals to 9pm and if you arrived at 5 to 9 they had started to clear away the food, they obviously wanted closed by 9. Bar area and entertainment area looked ok but did not use as we went out every night. Entertainment on every night but we did not go. Pool area ok watched people putting towel over sunbeds at 8am then vanishing (drives me crazy). Pool freezing, kids pool did not look as clean as big pool. Area was surrounded by lots of greenery which was well kept. Lots and lots of tiled steps from reception to pool. Outside toilets by pool with showers. Walking to main street either by very steep road with limited pavement or steps, hill and more steps (kept you fit). We stayed 4 nights and would return. All request at reception were dealt with efficiently and friendly be it directions, taxis, ice or extra pillows. Oh and finally the weather was fab.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala Major
8.9 mi away
Palma Bay Club Resort
Palma Bay Club Resort
#70 of 78 in Playa de Palma
2,952 reviews
0.1 mi away
BQ Belvedere Hotel
BQ Belvedere Hotel
#33 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
2,212 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Nixe Palace
Hotel Nixe Palace
#1 of 5 in Cala Major
904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Be Live Adults Only Marivent
9.0 mi away
Hotel Caribbean Bay
Hotel Caribbean Bay
#10 of 44 in El Arenal
574 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Amic Horizonte
Hotel Amic Horizonte
#59 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Bay Hotel

Address: C/ Camino Vecinal Genova, San Agustin 30, 07015 Cala Major, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala Major
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Cala Major
Price Range: $55 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Blue Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Blue Bay
Blue Bay Cala Major
Blue Bay Hotel Majorca/Cala Major, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing