We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“luabay marivent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Be Live Adults Only Marivent
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Cala Major
Reviewed June 15, 2012

we stayed at the marivent 07/06 to 14/06. Having got up at 3 in the morning and arriving at the hotel at 10 30 we were told our room would not be ready until 3 in the afternoon rooms had already been cleaned so they do need to co-ordinate room cleaning on departing gueats and those arriving in the morming. Reception staff were not very helpful and eventually after complaining at 1pm we were eventually given our room. Rooms are very comfortable and clean although one day we returned from the beach at 4 30 to find our room had not been cleaned and had to wait for the cleaner to finish cleaning the dining room after lunch before we got our room cleaned at 5pm. Not enough staff who are trying to do a good job but there are just not enough of them. Food was hot and good to start wirh but unless you like lamb chops or salmon then you could be sruggling. One morning at 7 45 we went down to breakfast to be told that there were no eggs or bacon or sausage so we had to go out for breakfast. Lack of sunbeds a real issue so make sure you take an extra 100 euros for the sunbeds on the beach at 15 euros per day. Beach and water lovely and we found Linda the events manager very helpful and friendly. Brochure description of location of hotel was stretching reality a bit as were looking forward to being in palma. Would we go back again, no, not unless things improve drastically.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Luabay Team at Be Live Adults Only Marivent, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2012

Dear Jane, thank you for sharing your experience and helping us improve. We are sorry to hear that there were issues concerning our service and will be sure to address these immediately. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope we can welcome you as our guest again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,188)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

398 - 404 of 1,188 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2012

There appears to be two links on trip advisor for this hotel so I have posted it twice in both areas.

We booked a week at the Marivent (31/5 - 7/6) during May while the hotel was still being refurbished so initially we were concerned as to what the hotel would throw up. We've just returned from that week so hopefully here's an honest view of what we experienced.




We booked half board but didn't upgrade to All Inclusive or Splendid Service on the advice of the first reviews on the hotel. We phoned the hotel the day before we arrived to request a sea view room which the hotel obliged. No extra cost so a big bonus that we didnt pay the extra as Thompson had put this as an extra when booking. The partial sea view wouldn't be that bad but you dont really want to be at the back of the hotel. View is fantastic from the sea view rooms.




Flights from Luton were great, but as the flights were early we sat on the transfer coach from the airport for 30 mins with no info of how long we'd be waiting for other flights to arrive. We decided to get a cab which cost about 25 Euros but dropped us right outside the hotel. Unfortunately with the regular transfers the coach drops you at the top of the road as coaches are not able to get to the hotel. No rep's accompany you to the hotels which leaves anyone being dropped off guessing where they need to go. Its not difficult but we see a number of people being dropped off disorientated. So pleased we got the cab.




We arrived at the hotel mid morning so our rooms werent ready, told 2pm before we could check in. Not sure why they aren't ready as the maids are cleaning from 9am each morning and we left by 7am on day of departure. We left our luggage picked up our towels (30 Euros deposit) and went for a look round the hotel. There are 3 Luabay hotels all next to each other. The Marivent and the La Cala are connected by a gate. There were no beds around the Marivent pool but we found a couple of empty beds round the La Cala pool which were just as nice. We'd seen we could use this pool from the reviews at the start.




Checked into room about 3:30pm lovely rooms nice and spacious, comfortable beds great view of the Cala Major beach and surrounding coastline. Shower is fantastic, really powerful, TV has a variety of channels including BBC1 & 2. Safe is easy to use and good value.




On half board its breakfast and dinner, there is no swapping lunch for dinner which we've done in some hotels. The breakfast is good, plenty of variety. Dinner is also nice but is far too repetetive - if you are not a great lover of pork or fish you might be struggling. You have an optiopn of stir fry each evening, but the menu on this is the same each evening, which is a shame as again on first try it was nice, but there is only so much you can have of the same thing. Resturant staff are good, if you tip them they look after you. Drinks are very good, plenty of named brands, i'm not sure how this is for All Inclusive but we found the staff were confused with the board basis. The first couple of days we were getting our drinks with our dinner as they thought we were all Inclusiuve (didn't complain) but they then started asking for room numbers or payment.




This also happened around the pool bar in the La Cala hotel for the first two days. The Marivent bar in the evening also had the same problem although for us it wasnt a problem as any band or bracelet on your arm guarenteed drinks.




I'm not sure it will remain like this but no one ever questioned our board basis when we ate in the resturant. You could've been B&B and eat dinner without being questioned in the week we were there. Not sure this is the case for the A la carte resturant, as we didnt use it. Reception told us it was 20 Euros per person to upgrade to this, but was only Italian, we prefererred to eat out a couple of nights in the end, and even had a Kebab from the place on the right at the top of the road one night. Pretty tasty. We also had lunch on one of the days at the Smurf Resturant 5 mins walk from the hotel, top of the road turn left. Lady is from Milan very accomodating and food was delicious. Reasonable value as well. We think she has free WiFi as well.




Onto the swimming pools and the beds around the pool. We had to get up each day at 7am to get a bed, wasn't too fussed by that but we chose to lay around the La Cala hotels pool as this seemed nicer, more spacious and beds not on top of each other. Also at 7am there were never any beds around the Marivent pool, just went back to the room until breakfast, never had any problems. On our last day (last Wednesday) the residents from La Cala appeared to have complained about the lack of beds available around their pool. The inter-connecting gate between the two hotels had been locked to stop the Marivent guests from coming in. I'm not sure how this panned out in the end but when we left on Thursday morning there was a lot of debating over the beds in the Marivent - people were guarding their beds with towels on, security guard was now doing the rounds of both hotels stopping the Marivent guests from getting beds in La Cala.




Glad we never had any of that nonsense it would concern me if I had booked Jul-Aug holidays when the hotels are banged out. Luabay do not subsidise any beach beds as this is a public beach which they charge 15 Euros for two beds and an umbrella. Good Luck anyone getting any beds after 7:30 am.




Cala Major; The area is what it is, its a small town just outside Palma. Its not the worst place in the world, guess you take it as it comes. It could be developed, there are developments going up, but it will take time we believe the hotels will bring the area up in standard. Its definitely not your usual resort but its ok. I wouldnt worry about some of the reviews on here that say its a dump. Cant be that bad as the King of Spain has his summer residence 5 minute walk from the hotel




Walk into Palma is lovely, well worth it, you can get a cab for 8/9 Euros or a bus into the centre for EUR1.50 (single) They run pretty frequently but fairly random times, its about 20 mins on the bus 10 mins in a cab. We went in on the Sunday as it rained, the shops are open between 12-6 on a Sunday as their are new laws Apr-Oct due to the visitors.




Bus into Palma Nova or Magaluf is just as good, this costs EUR3.00 (single) much more reasonable than getting cab. Again well worth the trip as it is much more of a resort, a bit to see/do in both those resorts. Plenty of resturants two which we went to were lovely. . Takes about 20 mins on the bus, not a bad journey.




I cant comment directly on the splendid service as we hadnt booked this, but I did here a number of people complaining about it. From what I read on the thompson website (and Luabay's own) you were guarenteed express check-in (what is express?), personal poolside waiter (didnt see this), superior room (we upgraded for free), Coffee and tea kettle in the room (we had this anyway), Daily turndown service (maid service everyday anyway).




All in all we had a lovely week, yes there are teething problems at the hotel, will it get better? I would expect them to tighten up some things and control a what they are doing a bit more. Would we go back??? Not sure, hotel and rooms are lovely but the beds and the pool are a big problem. Location is great for Palma and the beach.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank zoe034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Luabay Team at Be Live Adults Only Marivent, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2012

Dear Zoe, thank you very much for writing such a detailed review on your stay with us. We appreciate your feedback very much as it helps us improve. We are pleased to hear that despite some issues you enjoyed your stay with us. The problem with the sunbeds is being addressed already and we hope we can show you an improved pool area during your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

If this hotel was where Thomsons said it was.....it would have been great!
Used their search engine to book a hotel in Palma,,got 3 options and took an all inclusive at Luabay Marivet .5 minute transfer. Perfect we thought.
First shock was when Rep at airport said first drop off 20 minutes....50 minutes later as driver didn`t know where hotel was..we got dropped on main road with an eldery couple and told to walk down a narrow road with all our luggage 120 meteres to the hotel.
All in all the hotel was good but the complaint service left a lot to be desired.
We logged our complaints with the on site rep, We sent our letter to after holiday services...who thanked us for our comments ...no mention of misrepresentation of their holiday in fact the opposite they told us to do what we want...contact trading standard if we want...as far as they are concerned Cala Mayor is in Palma although it is a 15 minute bus ride and it is 6 miles before you reach a sign that says Palma!!
The hotel.....
The staff at reception were very helpful as we had some teething problems, as first day reopened..no hot water and safe didn`t work...attended to promptly.
Food was good ,service good first few days but as the hotel got busy the staff were stretched and we also noted all inclusive customers were treated less attentively.
The lift we had to use was not dependable and on the morning we left had to carry our luggage down 6 floors.
Lots of entertainment if wanted.....quiet spots if you don`t.
So a good holiday spoiled by Thomsons!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank julianiktreasure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

We stayed here for a week in June 2012, this is a couples only hotel which has recently undergone a refit. Most of the rooms have a sea view and balcony and ours was fine for two people, very clean and comfortable. The hotel staff, both locals and the holiday reps were helpful and available whenever people needed them. The public areas are bright a spacious, buffet breakfast had plenty of choice. From the pool area its just a few steps to the beach were theres a cafe bar and if you go to the end (right out of the hotel, theres a cracking little beach bar which had a really nice ambiance at night. The surrounding area is somewhat run down but will no doubt recover with the three Luabay hotels improving their own quality.

Room Tip: Rooms above the reception as you walk in have the sun in the afternoon, the ones in the back the mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DBunts46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

stayed at the marivent from 26 may till 5th june for 10 days on ai my husband was 60 on the 31 may and the kitchen supplied a cake for him. the hotel is great the staff are great the food is great the veiws are great the people we met were great natalie alex linda jimmy sandy and aggy the reps were great pepi and barbara the bar staff were great th entertainment was great as you can see we loved this hotel and anybody complaining must be grumpy people who are never satified. i would recomend this holiday to every one i meet and will definately be booking again one of the best holidays ever

Room Tip: any rooms would be great .but front of hotel does look on to the front street,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank alexlea30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

The hotel is located directly on cala mayor beach which is nice beach and very good position. Unfortuately the hotel is located in Cala Mayor resort, which we did not realise that the resort itself is pretty run down and the hotel is the best thing about the area, some cheap run down bars and restaurants. The hotel itelf has some good points- nice rooms, great sea views, the hotel has been refurbished to a nice modern standard, and the food was fair to good but not excellent. Where i think the hotel could improve was the Bar area for pool, was small and had limited staff so there was 90% of the time queues for drinks. the food as i said was ok, I thought the choice was limited, no freshly made omelettes for breakfast etc, which other hotels i have stayed do provide. The most annoying thing of the hotel was the entertainment staff (Not the Thomson rep-she was very good), they would run around in orange tea shirts shouting out, trying to get people involved in games etc and pertending to be your best friend! and in my opinion disturbing people who just wanted to relax most of the time. One particular guys voice was very annoying in that team!
All in all ok hotel but unlikely to return

Room Tip: HIgh Floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BeachloverWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Luabay Team at Be Live Adults Only Marivent, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2012

First of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and had a good holiday despite some of the issues you are mentioning. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it helps us improve and we will be sure to forward it to the respective departments. It would be a pleasure to welcome you as our guest again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

Where can I start -Firstly I blame thomsons for this --as stated to myself it was not like a Thomsons Gold where it was usually 60 plus --wrong!! I appreciate older people go earlier and later in the season,however during my stay -26--May to the 2 June it was like that advert on the TV where the Germans role their towels on to the sun beds --its not the Germans its the elderly English who cannot sleep that where waiting on their balconys waiting to pounce!!.

There was a report that towels where taken off the sunbeds at 2.30am!!, this resulted in us having to pay 15 euro's a day for the private beach in front of the hotel.

On arrival we were dropped off on the main street and told to walk down the street, which was not convenient as I was travelling with a bad back and husband was having to carry 40kg of luggage by himself -diabolical-as no one knew where we going. When in the hotel they told us to wait 2 hours as the room was not ready-when i went back to reception they gave me room 1130 --as I had booked a superior sea room -when we got to the room it was a side room, I went and complained they said I could have the room I booked tomorrow!, I then asked to speak to the manager, and all of a sudden I got the room I had booked.
I experienced this sort of senario all week listening to the staff telling all new customers the same, on one occassion I witnessed reception staff saying to a customer she did not book this hotel but the one next to us, the customer stood her ground and was eventually given her room--incrediable!! at the end of our stay we asked for a wake up call and they did not happen either -to top it all the hotel asked us for costs we had already payed--WAKE UP LUABAY you shouldnt of re opened if you cannot organise yourselves, and to the cost of us all.
All of the comments so far are correct, the hotel wants finishing off.
I will add that the thomsons reps were good, and tryed there best trying to get everyone involved in their activities to hardly no avail --poor things -
All the bar staff were great, the food was quite nice, you get a lot of people on the beach late at night screaming and making a racket, but hey ho -thats life, some parts of the original stairs are being held up with wood as the marble is cracking, a few people has also slipped at the top of the stairs due a slippery metal bar - as per previous reviews the hotels wants finishing - well sorry Luabay I would not recommend this hotel at all, and Thomsons you need someone there who will actually address all of our concerns immediately and not leave it up to the reviews

This hotel should be rated 2 star but I am struggling with this===

Room Tip: 1127 if you dare visit
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Looneytune1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Luabay Team at Be Live Adults Only Marivent, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2012

We would like to thank you very much for this review and for pointing out these issues. We would like to apologize for the problems caused by our staff and will be sure to address these issues immediately. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it helps us improve. We would be very delighted to welcome you in our hotel again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala Major
0.1 mi away
Hotel Nixe Palace
Hotel Nixe Palace
#1 of 5 in Cala Major
923 reviews
0.9 mi away
Barcelo Illetas Albatros
8 mi away
Occidental Playa de Palma
Occidental Playa de Palma
#8 of 78 in Playa de Palma
1,778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Innside By Melia Palma Bosque
Innside By Melia Palma Bosque
#16 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
214 reviews
0.9 mi away
Catalonia Majorica Hotel
Catalonia Majorica Hotel
#28 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
1,628 reviews
7.3 mi away
Iberostar Playa de Palma
Iberostar Playa de Palma
#1 of 78 in Playa de Palma
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Be Live Adults Only Marivent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Be Live Adults Only Marivent

Address: Calle Gavina 9, 07015 Cala Major, Majorca, Spain (Formerly Luabay Marivent)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala Major
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Cala Major
Price Range: $72 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Be Live Adults Only Marivent 4*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Be Live Adults Only Marivent is a hotel that was completely renovated in 2012 and designed to detail for couples. Located in front of the beach of Cala Major, it offers a variety of services and products as its exclusive Beach Club, its relax zone "baySpa" (extra charge, contact the hotel for more information) and a large and varied gastronomic offer with a professional services, high-class facilities and a personalised treatment. Its modern and functional rooms offer everything needed to enjoy an unforgettable holiday. This hotel has the ISO 14001 Certification, as a result of its effective environmental management system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Be Live Adults Only Marivent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Ana Calvia
Santa Ana Hotel Calvia
Be Live Adults Only Marivent Majorca/Cala Major, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing