We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice view to the sea,”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Be Live Adults Only Costa Palma
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Cala Major
Vihti, Finland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice view to the sea,”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

We stayed there for one week. Had a nice room on the 3rd floor facing the ocean. However, the service at reception (it was late, close to midnight) was poor. Later during the daytime there was a very nice lady (who spoke both English and German). Cleaning was overall not very efficient but satisfactory. Good breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2013Tuija
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
administrador_luabay, Gerente at Be Live Adults Only Costa Palma, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Dear customer,
thank you very much for letting us your valuation, is very important to us to know the opinion of our customers, to continue working on improving continuously. Have taken note of their comments, which passed to them departments involved to take the measures necessary.
We want to thank you for having chosen our hotel and look forward to having your visit on a future occasion.
With our best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    132
    60
    33
    22
See reviews for
30
207
33
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for a weekend. Views of the sea were fantastic and because it is a small bay the sound of the sea gets into your room strongly. But the area is quite deteriorated, old buildings, low quality shops, not nice. People at the reception were just correct. Next time going to Mallorca I will go somewhere else.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank christophercolumbu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
administrador_luabay, Gerente at Be Live Adults Only Costa Palma, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Dear customer,
thank you for making us partakers of his comments, his assessment is very important for us, because it makes us work to improve continuous for loyalty to our customers.
Our hotel is located in a privileged position, because we are within the city of Palma and at the same time, we are in front of the beach of Cala major.
The combination of buses with the Centre of Palma is every 10 minutes, also it is possible to rent a car to explore the island, the highway has a direct exit to Cala Mayor.
The complementary offer is slowly regenerating, on a future occasion we hope to be able to enjoy once again of your stay with us.
With our best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
64 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Stayed only one night in this hotel in May. Having travel long hours (almost 20hours), we wanted to stay somewhere near the airport and yet beachfront on the first night in Mallorca.

We weren't disappointed with our choice. We booked a double superior seaview room. This room has a balcony which overlooked the pool then beyond that, the Cala Major beach and sea. (Sounds far, but the beach is not far in view from room). The room was as pictured in the website. White, airy, clean-lined decor. The room was clean too. Although we booked a double room, we were given a room with two twin beds pushed together. We didn't bother to change room as we were only staying one night. Basic amentites like tissue papers are lacking. But for the reasonable price we paid, we find Palma costa value for money.

Bfast buffet spread was good, but not the coffee from the machine. We sat at the poolside to enjoy our breakfast and it was nice. The pool area was not big. However there were sufficient sun loungers for guests (in May's context).

The Cala Major was already a busy, crowded beach in May. However the beautiful beach had very clean, clear, crystal blue water and gently waves. Hence it was very good for young children. The water was shallow too. One can walked a distance into the water before reaching your limits. You can rent a beach towel from hotel (the charge will be returned to you when you returned or exchanged for new towels). Beach was just 2mins walk away.

The Cala Major area was very quiet. Maybe we stayed there on a Saturday. Shops were mostly closed except a few restaurants. There is a small mini mart located 5mins from hotel which is opened. Another thing, we were informed that carpark was full when we arrived and the staff directed us to a nearby open air carpark. Although it was free parking, the place was manned by a Black man who suggested we tipped him... The carpark was less than 10mins away. But I do not know if there will be a problem with parking in the holiday summer months.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charmainee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
administrador_luabay, Gerente at Be Live Adults Only Costa Palma, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Dear customers,
thank you very much for making us partakers of its Luabay Costa Palma reviews, us force to continue working on improving continuously.
Recently, we have proceeded to the opening of a private parking for exclusive use of hotel guests, which will give us an added value in the market offer.
We are delighted that enjoyed his short stay and challenge them to repeat their stay among us on a future occasion
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clonmel, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2014

We have just returned from a very enjoyable stay in the luabay costa Palma hotel. We were greeted on arrival by lovely Margarita. She was friendly,courteous and so helpful. We found every member of staff to be similar but this lady deserves a special mention as she gave us a great impression of the hotel. Our bedroom on the 6th floor was perfect and the view from the balcony gorgeous. Breakfast was lovely,fresh orange juice would have been nice,otherwise very good. We had dinner on two occasions equally good,especially the salads.We will return to this hotel next year and it's well worth choosing the splendid service for the lovely extras you will get.

Room Tip: 6th floor is perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 400Norma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
administrador_luabay, Gerente at Be Live Adults Only Costa Palma, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Dear customer,
We thank you that you have chosen our hotel to enjoy your well deserved holiday.
We are delighted to have covered their expectations and deeply grateful that they have shared them with all us.
Thank you for making us partakers of his comments, which drive us to work hard to keep improving.
Them hope in the future, to continue enjoying new experiences in our hotels.

With best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2014

Requested sea view but room was dark and only a glimpse of the sea. Quite clean but dated. A bottle of water was received every day and room cleaned etc. Best thing was the food, plenty of it too, but slightly monotonous. Near enough to Palma and good bus routes. Cala major is though not a very nice area and I personally would not go there again. A short walk to Illetas or bus took you into a better place. Not many British people in hotel at all, in fact I think we were the only ones there. Hotel 6 out of 10 for me. Easy to get to from airport by bus, take no 1 to placa espana and then number 3 to cala major, easy peasy!

Room Tip: Twin rooms are single beds. I would ask for a superior room as they prob have a sea view and are li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2014

I booked a standard room and emailed the hotel to request a Double bed. They emailed back by email that their standard rooms do not have Double beds, only Twin bed pushed together. I was told only Seaview rooms have Double beds and is an extra 16.50 Euros per night. I replied. Yes thank you, fine. I would like to book and pay extra for this Seaview room as I want the Double bed. They confirmed back to me that this was done back in January.

Luckily I printed the email and brought it with me, as on arrival (May), I found that not ALL the Seaview rooms have Double beds - only SOME, and that despite telling me that I had one, in fact they have used all the rooms with Doubles and I DON’T have one. Thankfully, both the lovely Receptionist called her Manager and they agreed to not charge the extra 16.50 per night for the Seaview, although we still only had twin beds pushed together. This was a compromise.

On checkout, I wasn't well (I was 5 months pregnant) and we had a very late flight out, so I requested a late checkout which is usually 36 Euros until 6pm. Due to my checkin issues, they very kindly waived this fee and let us checkout at our leisure free of charge.

I would highly recommend Luabay Costa Palma, as apart from this hiccup which they completely turned around, it was a very pleasant stay!

It was in a great location and great service. There are THREE Luabay Hotels all next to each other, which is initially confusing, but then once you know which hotel you are in, you can share the facilities across all three hotels including, swimming pools, restaurants, spa and bars etc and charge them all to your room. I thought this was wonderful!

Buffet breakfast included in our package, and was fantastic with a chef to create omelettes of our choice in front of us, as well as just about everything else you could want. Just FYI the beach beds down on the beach are 16 Euros per day, but the pool beds at the hotels are free. Also, Beach towels charge a refundable deposit of 15 euros - but you get that back, or you can just bring your own Beach towel. The beach is only a few meters away from the hotel.

The bedroom was clean and modern and absolutely fine, but the bathroom was very dated but clean even if it was old and had a bit of rust. The bathrooms did have a hair dryer, a razor to shave, tissues, a comb, shampoo, separate conditioner, body wash and body moisturiser - so don't worry about bringing these. Wifi is quite expensive at 10 Euros per day (but free in a local bar near by call Cafe Charlotte).

There is a little local bar called Tivoli Bar and Restaurant - we can really recommend it for a snack and a drink. It's cheap with FRESH tapas (very local and rustic) and GREAT service - even if the décor is dated. It's better than cheap frozen and microwaved food for a snack at other bars.

Be aware that you need to get two buses (no. 1 from the Airport and then bus no. 3 from Porto Pi to the hotel). The bus no. 3 was every 5 minutes or so, but connecting bus no. 1 only went every 30 minutes, so make sure you allow PLENTY of time to go back to the airport. You can buy tickets on the bus for about 1.50 Euros each trip. The entire trip takes about 45 mins not including waiting for bus time.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sassyzen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2014

First things first .. the hotel amenities are superb; the hotel rooms have been modernised and are very plush and the bar and dining area are in keeping with this. This is a great little location with the local beach literally on your doorstep and Cala Major itself has a number of restaurants, supermarkets and little touristy shops. We stayed there during the first week of it opening for the new season and as such the hotel was not very busy .. which was great as we pretty much had the pool area to ourselves whenever we were there and you still have the added bonus of being able to see the sea from here whilst relaxing in your own little sheltered oasis.

The other bonus is the proximity to Palma; its only a short bus hop (there a plenty that go through the town as its on the western route so they are very frequent) - however we chose to walk and although most reviews say 30 minutes into Palma that gets you to the cruise ship docking area which is on the western side of Palma whereas Palma old town is on the eastern side which is another 15-20mins walk.... but when you get lovely weather it is a pleasant walk and there are plenty of cafes/bars to take a breather in on your way.

The only real downside was the food; the breakfast buffet had a lot of choice and you could order omelettes and pancakes from the hot plate which are cooked to order but we found that some of the food went cold even though under the heat lamps - I think this is probably because of the lower volume of guests being around which led to food sitting around for a while and the heat lamps really didn't seem to manage to keep the food warm enough. We stayed half board and at dinner found that most of the food wasn't labelled so it was quite hit and miss; however there was a lot of variety across the week and again you could have some items cooked to order on the hot plate which normally consisted of a meat or fish choice. Sure some of these problems are because of it being the first week of the season and the positives are that the staff are very friendly and eager to help if you have any questions about what the food is.

Overall the amenities outweighed some of the issues with the food; so we would be happy to stay here again but maybe on B&B basis next time as there are plenty of places to eat in Cala Major or in Palma.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ursula C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
administrador_luabay, Gerente at Be Live Adults Only Costa Palma, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Dear customer,
Thank you for making us partakers of its Luabay Costa Palma reviews, encourages us to continue working on the improvement continues of all our services and facilities.
One of our biggest challenges is to the customer feel at home, so our staff work is mainly focused on having a good service with a polite treatment but at the same time close and cordial to the customer.
We take good note of your comments about the food temperature and heat lamps, pass them to the involved Department so that timely corrective actions to take.
We are grateful that you have chosen our hotel to enjoy your well deserved holiday and hope that you have passed a pleasant stay among us.
We hope to see you soon for our hotels, it would be a pleasure to serve you as you deserve.
Thank you for choosing us
The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala Major
0.1 mi away
Be Live Adults Only Marivent
0.0 mi away
Be Live Adults Only La Cala Boutique
0.1 mi away
Hotel Nixe Palace
Hotel Nixe Palace
#1 of 5 in Cala Major
4.5 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Barcelo Illetas Albatros
0.8 mi away
Gran Melia de Mar
Gran Melia de Mar
#3 of 182 in Calvia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
4.4 mi away
Sol Beach House Mallorca
Sol Beach House Mallorca
#2 of 39 in Palmanova
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Be Live Adults Only Costa Palma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Be Live Adults Only Costa Palma

Property: Be Live Adults Only Costa Palma
Address: Calle Guillem Diaz 2, 07015 Cala Major, Majorca, Spain (Formerly Luabay Costa Palma)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala Major
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Cala Major
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Be Live Adults Only Costa Palma 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Be Live Adults Only Costa Palma is a wonderful hotel, ideal for couples, which is located in front of the beach of Cala Mayor, being the perfect place to enjoy a great holiday with the Mediterranean just a few steps from the room. It offers a variety of services and products as its exclusive Beach Club, its baySPA ($) and a large and varied gastronomic offer with a professional services, high-class facilities and a personalised treatment. Its modern and functional rooms offer everything needed to enjoy an unforgettable holiday. The Be Live Adults Only Costa Palma is the best option to enjoy all that Mallorca offers. Open from April until October. This hotel has the ISO 14001 Certification, as a result of its effective environmental management system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Be Live Adults Only Costa Palma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Cala Mayor Hotel Cala Major
Cala Mayor
Playa Cala Mayor Major
Be Live Adults Only Costa Palma Majorca/Cala Major, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing