We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luabay Costa Palma”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Be Live Adults Only Costa Palma
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Cala Major
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Just returned from an "all inclusive" which was excellent. The friendliness and helpfulness of the staff went from Reception to the cleaners. Facilities at the sister hotels were also at our disposal and access to the other two hotels was very easy. At a loss to understand some of the previous comments as we can only be extremely complimentary about our stay and a special mention must be made to Andrea and Massimo in the way they look after the guests and any problems.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank melwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Luabay Team at Be Live Adults Only Costa Palma, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Your review is very much appreciated, Mel. We are glad to know our hotels in Cala Mayor, Mallorca fulfilled your expectations, we will gladly forward your kind word to our staff and we hope you visit us soon again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (424)
There are newer reviews for Be Live Adults Only Costa Palma
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 424 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2013

I stayed here one week in a room that was supposedly adapted. it wasn't. it was big but the bathroom was well in short dangerous. there were no grab rails anywhere, the sink was in front of the door and so big it was difficult to get in and out, and the shower door didn't open all the way. The hotel also only provided a tiny stool which was inadequate resulting in me falling in the shower with no way to call for help as the only assistance button was by the toilet.There was also nowhere to store clothes and to get to the room you had to take a very small lift to the floor.

The staff were very rude on whole and no one informed me when i had to be out the hotel by. The food was also very bad and even though i went half board we had to pay for are drink with dinner.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anita_Blake_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Luabay Team at Be Live Adults Only Costa Palma, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Dear Anita, thank you for taking the time to write this review about your stay with us. We are very sorry that your experience at our hotel wasn’t a pleasant one. We would like to take this chance to inform you that the rooms are adapted to wheelchairs in accordance with European legislation for hotel accommodation and checked by the inspection for industry and tourism. Your feedback, however, is very important for us and we will look into your suggestions on how the layout could be. We will furthermore forward your complaints about our staff and the quality of the food we offer to the corresponding departments and look into them in more detail. We truly hope that you had a relaxing and enjoyable holiday nonetheless.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

I stayed at Luabay Costa Palma with my mother for 1 week on 08th July 2012 and found many problems with the hotel. Far too many to list here! A few of the main ones are below, I have also added some pictures.

Cleaning - Throughout our entire stay, there was the most unpleasant smell in the reception area. It smelt like sewarge. It was so bad one day that I asked the receptionist about it, who claimed not to be able to smell anything! Our room was very poorly cleaned also. On arrival, a little cake was left for us, however the plate was not removed for three days until I made a point of leaving it outside in the corridor! One day, we were left without any bath or hand towels at all.

Internet - When we arrived I paid 30 euros for use of the internet for 1 week. I think this is expensive as I would expect internet in a 4 star hotel to be free. After 4 days however, my internet stopped working, and when I asked at reception why, she told me that because I had two devices connected to the internet (my iphone and ipad) it halved the time I had paid for and would need to shell our nearly another 30 euros to continue usage. Only after seeing the manager and proving that I was not told this by the receptionist (as apparently she didn't know due to bad training) did he begrudginly re-instate my internet, and only after making me feel very much like he did not value my custom at the hotel in the slightest. Most unhelful hotel manager I have ever had the pleasure of meeting.

Food - Disgusting. At breakfast the orange juice was squash and the apple juice was fizzy. Dinner was even worse and we ate out 3 nights out of 7, despite having paid for half board. Enough said.

Pool - If you want a spot by the pool, you need to be out of bed at the crack of dawn, as there are not many loungers by the pool and they are all "reserved" by about 8am at best. Furthermore, the pool area is plunged into darkness when it is overshadowed by the hotel as early as 2.30-3pm.

Overall, rude staff, unclean, smelly and bad food. I would not stay here again. The hotel Marivent on the other hand seemed much nicer, and the beach in Cala Major is lovely.

I have noticed that the manager comments to everyones negative reviews on here, so I thought that i would take the liberty of writing to him personally before posting on here. I did not get a response, nor even an acknowledgement of my email, and I know it was delivered as I received an automated response from Luabay group. The replies on here are just damage control for the public viewer.

I hope you find this review helpful. You have been warned!

Room Tip: Stay in the Marivent, not the Costa Palma, but wherever you stay you will be kept awake due to the...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank samhobson101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Team Luabay at Be Live Adults Only Costa Palma, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2012

Dear Sam, thank you very much for taking the time to write this review. Despite your doubts, we can assure you that your feedback is taken seriously and forwarded to all the affected departments. We do care about our guests’ opinions and really appreciate getting feedback to help us improve in the right areas for the future. We are very sorry that you were not satisfied with your stay and hope that you had a nice holiday nonetheless. As mentioned before, your feedback is being noticed and we will forward you comments about cleanliness, cost for internet, reservation of sunbeds, the food and our staff to the responsible departments. We would be very delighted to welcome you at our hotel again in the future and show you that changes are being made in accordance with the reviews we get.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed our week at this hotel. Accommodation very good ,food plentiful and could be cooked to order.Thank you to Alex our rep and to Linda the entertainments manager for their information about the local area.We do recommend a visit to the Military museum that had magnificent views over the bay of Palma.We also appreciated that this was a couples only hotel so no children.

Room Tip: Ask for a full sea view
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jane b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We arrived by bus to be told by the bus driver that we needed to walk a short distance to the hotel - not well signposted, There was no holiday rep on board our bus. We arrived at the hotel to que for the reception.and we were provided with a glass of bubbly while we waited. - a very nice gesture.
When we finally arrived at the reception we were told that our room was not ready. We went for a coffee - we were both tired as we had left home at 2am that morning for a 6am flight to Palma from Cardiff. Eventually the Thompson rep found us and went to enquire when our room would be ready - we had waited over 2 hours by this time - The rep advised us that the room was now ready - whew. Our room was lovely - on the ground floor with a balcony and a view of the beach - sea etc. The double bed was 2 single beds pushed together which was not ideal.
Dinner that evening was mediocre and certainly not 4 star and the same could be said for the breakfasts.

We tried to sort out the safe only to find that the instruction were incorrect and you needed to get an inner key for the safe from reception and pay a deposit and a daily fee - The safe was situated on the top shelf of the wardrope and I had to stand on a chair to access it.

The area around the hotel was very run down with a lot of empty shops - cafes etc. My husbands wallet was stollen - he was persuaded not to contact the police as it would be so time consuming - thankfully we had most of our money in the safe, We had to cancel a Credit Card and a Debit Card which was another pain.

The entertainment was not very good at best and awful at its worst. We took the bus to Plama etc otherwise our stay would have been rather boring.

Access to pool side & garden loungers were impossible and access to the beach loungers umbrella's was a nightmare - we finally managed to get the use of 2 beach loungers and an umbrella on our last day - 15 euros a day for this!
Highlight of the stay was a visit to see the show Come Fly with Me which was excellent.
On the last day we were picked up at the end of the road - we were okay with this but certainly not easy for the older guest.

We were aware that other guests were also not happy with this Hotel and the area was not as detailed.

Would we stay here again - certainly not

Room Tip: Would suggest you ensure a higher floor for privacy.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ELIZABETHMWW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Team Luabay at Be Live Adults Only Costa Palma, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Dear Elizabeth, thank you very much for your balanced review. We are glad that you liked your room and appreciate your comments about negative points as well. Your feedback about the safe, the food and entertainment will be forwarded to the respective departments in order to initiate changes for the new season. It would be a great honor to welcome you at our hotel again in the future to show you the improvements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Very nice couples only hotel, nice modern decor,good entertainment, friendly staff. Lots of nice touches like complimentary paella and sangria, one day each week. Relaxing lunches with singer or guiterist in the background. Lovely setting on the beach. Resort a bit rundown but only a bus ride to Palma Nova which looks a nicer resort..

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gwen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Would not recommend resort its rundown and shabby, very few if any nice places to eat or drink
hotel clean Refurd been done a shoe string, had to complain about our Bedroom, was looking onto a white concrete wall!!!!! was moved to 6th floor much better a room with a view, which we booked in the 1st place!! NOT much storage space watch fingers when useing wardrobes!!!! TV BBC channel always loseing the signal!!! all other channels seem fine!
The resturant staff at Breakfast time never cleared the tables and left it to residents of the hotel to ask for the tables to be remade or do it them self. Evening meal where poor hot meals.were cold and meat uneatable.

Room Tip: go for rooms with full sea views or part sea views on floors 6 and 7
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tillyb123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Team Luabay at Be Live Adults Only Costa Palma, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

Thank you for your review. We are sorry that you were not completely satisfied with our hotel and the service. Your feedback about the room and the restaurant is very much appreciated and will be forwarded to the respective departments in order to find ways for improvement. It would be a great pleasure to welcome you as our guest again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala Major
0.1 mi away
Be Live Adults Only Marivent
0.0 mi away
Be Live Adults Only La Cala Boutique
0.1 mi away
Hotel Nixe Palace
Hotel Nixe Palace
#1 of 5 in Cala Major
892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Gran Melia de Mar
Gran Melia de Mar
#3 of 181 in Calvia
991 reviews
0.9 mi away
Barcelo Illetas Albatros
0.4 mi away
Blue Bay Hotel
Blue Bay Hotel
#5 of 5 in Cala Major
711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Be Live Adults Only Costa Palma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Be Live Adults Only Costa Palma

Address: Calle Guillem Diaz 2, 07015 Cala Major, Majorca, Spain (Formerly Luabay Costa Palma)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala Major
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Cala Major
Price Range: $109 - $243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Be Live Adults Only Costa Palma 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Be Live Adults Only Costa Palma is a wonderful hotel, ideal for couples, which is located in front of the beach of Cala Mayor, being the perfect place to enjoy a great holiday with the Mediterranean just a few steps from the room. It offers a variety of services and products as its exclusive Beach Club, its baySPA ($) and a large and varied gastronomic offer with a professional services, high-class facilities and a personalised treatment. Its modern and functional rooms offer everything needed to enjoy an unforgettable holiday. The Be Live Adults Only Costa Palma is the best option to enjoy all that Mallorca offers. Open from April until October. This hotel has the ISO 14001 Certification, as a result of its effective environmental management system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Be Live Adults Only Costa Palma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Cala Mayor Hotel Cala Major
Cala Mayor
Playa Cala Mayor Major
Be Live Adults Only Costa Palma Majorca/Cala Major, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing