We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Real see view, excellent restaurant, quiet location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Nixe Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Nixe Palace
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Cala Major
Certificate of Excellence
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Real see view, excellent restaurant, quiet location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2010

My wife and I stayed in this hotel in the middle of October last year. I would say, Nixe is something between a city 5 star hotel and a tourist 5 star hotel. People from Palma are organising events and coming here to have a special dinner.

The location is about 5 km from the city centre in a quiet area and about 3 minutes walk from Marivent Palace, the royal residence. It was ideal for us, because it has direct access to the beach and it is not in the middle of a busy city. The beach was also quiet, but far from empty, it was populated by the hotel guests, local people in the afternoons and expats from the nearby residences. Some reviewers are complaining because the lack of animators, ball games, and so on. This is true, and was decisive for us in selecting this hotel, since we preferred to rest.

The restaurant is high profile. Somebody complained on the food variety and prices. It is true, that there are usually less than 10 meals on the list, but we found a different list each evening. The food is excellent; the restaurant staff is well trained and experienced, with better than average knowledge of English and German. This kind of restaurant has about the same price level and variety in most of the places.

Our breakfast on the terrace was almost perfect; we missed the natural cereals from the breakfast buffet. There were only the Kellogg’s with lot of added sugar and sweets. Taking into account the restaurants level this is really a shame!

We had a junior suite on the 4th floor, which was really junior, practically a bigger room, with a place to sit. Next time we are considering a bigger one. The views from the balcony were fantastic, overlooking the small bay.

Wifi was ok, I had to ask for a username and password at the desk, and this was prepared in a couple of minutes.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KuK_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

806 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    415
    263
    69
    35
    24
See reviews for
152
376
19
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2009

Impressive looking hotel with nice balconies over looking the sea and it's beach.
The hotel spa area is free and has good facilities. The swimming pool is very small but why would you need one when there is a private beach?

Rooms are spacious, comfortable and quiet.

Bus stop in front of the hotel takes you into Palma city centre.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littlescorpio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Country
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2009

Lovely rooms, premium are larger, had a first floor extended balcony which was great.Lovely views and beach.Good bus ride into Palma, most staff exceptionally polite and helpful.The person running the Bistro on the night of 27th needs a course in customer care and for one moment we thought we were with Basil,Sybil and Manuel when they took our salad away and said it belonged to someone else.The bistro staff that evening were dreadful.
That said the drinks are very expensive, 11E for a gin and tonic, so beware on that score, 16E per day to garage your car but they do park and fetch it for you- still very expensive.Brilliant wi-fi, rubbish tv reception but they do have BBC1 if that is what you go on holiday for.
Hotel ok as long as you know these things beforehand.
Would return, the breakfast is fabulous, peaceful spot ,lovely views.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hayfever640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, FL
Level Contributor
110 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2009

This is definitely a place to return. I was invited for a business convention; I wish I had more time to enjoy this great place. The service by all personnel was simply terrific. The accommodations and bathroom amenities are of high standard. The hotel sits in a very comfortable area with a private beach, the beach area and water are magnificent. I live in Florida and there is a big difference with the climate and water of this area. Food at the hotel was high quality and very varies especially for the rekfast buffet.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CandyManMia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cbkeil@comcast.net
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2009

This is more than a hotel - it also has resort functions (SPA-pool etc.) and the staff was wonderfull setting up tours etc, for us. Everything was on time and the service was great - we would definately go back to this location. Also FYI there are several Tapas places and a wonderful restaurant accross the street for economical purposes

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cbkeil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2009

Loved our stay! It is must be off-season in Mallorca in early October, so it was not busy - very nice! Definetly book the room with sea view. It felt great to wake up and fall asleep to the sound of waves. Very comfortable room/bed and nice marble bathroom. Views from the room balcony and all around hotel are fantastic! Small pool - but we never even tried it - beach is fantastic! Breakfast on a patio is memorable, Al Popa restaurant restaurant is great. Nice steamroom, heated chairs and showers/pool at spa.
Very convenient to get around Mallorca. 7 euros cab to Palma or bus every 10 min from hotel.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2009

On arriving we were shown to 4th floor room hich was very dark with a view of a brick wall, asked to be moved we were put on 6th floor with better view. I had requested an upper floor I booked in June so did book well in advance.

No iron no tea or coffee making facilities the room was very dark, staff attitude was very poor we booked half board for 3 nights we went for dinner on the first night where I asked what the vegetarian option was I was grunted at by a very grumpy waiter who pointed at the menu displayed and told me that is the menu, we complained to reception where we aksed to have money back and we would just have breakfast and non dinner option whereupon a vegetarian menu was given, we had the same menu for the 3 nights the service was so slow we had to wait for 45 minutes on the first night for our dessert!

Although we were half board we were charged 11 euros for two bottles of water which we were unaware of until we had finished our meal. On the last night we asked a waiter for vegetarian menu he jsut walked off 10 minutes later asked another waiter who then gave us a menu.

I think the hotel is a rip off, the Spa was fantastic as was the breakfast but I personally would rather have a 2star hotel with friendly staff than 5 star with unhelpful staff....

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loveshack1261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala Major
0.9 mi away
Gran Melia de Mar
Gran Melia de Mar
#3 of 181 in Calvia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
1.3 mi away
Gran Melia Victoria
Gran Melia Victoria
#16 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,492 reviews
7.5 mi away
Hotel Pure Salt Garonda
Hotel Pure Salt Garonda
#2 of 77 in Playa de Palma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
IBEROSTAR Playa de Palma
IBEROSTAR Playa de Palma
#1 of 77 in Playa de Palma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel BonSol Resort & Spa
1.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Bonanza Playa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nixe Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nixe Palace

Property: Hotel Nixe Palace
Address: Avenida Joan Miro 269, 07015 Cala Major, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala Major
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Cala Major
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Nixe Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located front row from the beach and very close to the heart of Palma, in Hotel Nixe Palace guests can enjoy can enjoy the cultural, commercial, sporting and maritime atmosphere of the city. In our hotel you can choose from a broad selection of possibilities, whatever adjusts better to your needs. All of this is complemented by the exquisite personalized treatment that will make your stay here an unforgettable moment. Luxury is not limited to just the views, its rooms offer the latest technology. Whether you want to work, rest or practice sport, the Hotel Nixe Palace offers all the commodities and installations needed, even to be able to do it all. Also we have at your disposal a combination of dreamy interior and exterior areas in which to hold meetings, weddings, made to measure celebrations which will impress even your most demanding guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Nixe Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nixe Palace Hotel
Hotel Nixe Palace Majorca/Cala Major, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing