We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent experience directly on the beach”
Review of Hotel Nixe Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Nixe Palace
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Cala Major
Certificate of Excellence
Osijek, Croatia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent experience directly on the beach”
Reviewed September 9, 2011

A very nice hotel on the beach just a bit outside of Palma's city center. You would probably enjoy wonderful sea view and direct beach access (public), cosy rooms with free internet access. Staff are very friendly and cooperative even though sometimes seem a bit disoriented. Hotel has an indoor as well as outdoor pool but quite small in size. Very nice breakfast as well. It takes a 5-10 min taxi ride to the city center. All in all, excellent experience, would recommend.

Room Tip: Definitely have a sea view room, it makes a big difference (sea view and magnificent sound of waves...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SUbQuestion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

824 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    424
    269
    70
    37
    24
See reviews for
154
384
23
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, MD
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2011

When you walk in the lobby and see the blue, blue sea, it is surreal. The pictures of this hotel aren’t photo-shopped; the view really is that spectacular. We would stay here again, but here are the pros and cons:
The Rooms: Initially we asked to be moved because one of our rooms smelled like cigarette smoke, and our request was accommodated immediately. We did not get adjoining rooms for our family, but the rooms were on the same floor a few doors apart. The rooms were decent and clean, but not a place you want to spend much time besides showering and sleeping. They were decorated in the “you can’t ruin it” style, and everything was chocolate brown. They were sufficiently spacious and had nice balconies overlooking the ocean (lovely – spring for the ocean view if you can swing it). We had to pay an extra $90 a night for a rollaway bed for our six-year old, but we knew that when we made the reservation, and there apparently is no way around it if you want three people in one room. The free wi-fi worked well.
Bathrooms: The carrera marble bathrooms were very clean, white, modern, not cramped (though not massive), had a bidet and toilet, ample sink space and a good shower/bath. The fixtures were new with good water pressure.
Beach experience: The hotel is hugging a cliff, and is located right on the beach, so it is an ideal location for a family beach vacation. There is a nice, if smallish, hotel pool overlooking the ocean, and you just walk down the stairs to the beach. Large cotton beach towels are issued to you each day as a hotel guest. It is, however, a public beach, where you can rent an umbrella and lounge chairs for the day (as I recall around $12 for a couple chairs and umbrella). It is considered a blue flag beach, which in Mallorca indicates that it is pristine (i.e. ultra clean.) Despite the flag, the first day we were there, the uncharacteristically rough waves brought in some trash and floating seagrass. That grossed me out, so we ventured to some other beaches in the days that followed before returning again to the Nixe Palace beach which, then, was indeed blue flag-worthy. While it is not unpleasantly crowded, you are by no means alone on the beach. Fair warning: some go topless and thong-ful on the beaches of Spain -- without regard for age or fitness level.
Neighborhood: You are a ten minute taxi ride from Palma, where you can find good restaurants, sightseeing, etc., but with one (huge) exception, you cannot walk from the hotel to any decent restaurants for lunch or dinner. There are cheap beach toy shops, a couple simple bakeries, but no place where you would risk eating a full meal. It is not an elegant part of town at all, but it didn’t feel crime-ridden, either. All that said, about two hundred yards up the hill, there is Il Paradiso, topping my list (along with Maui’s Four Season’s Hotel Restaurant) for one of the most beautiful, romantic (yet remarkably still child-welcoming) restaurant ever. I will review Il Paradiso separately, but do not, I repeat, do not miss it! Dinner on the hotel’s gorgeous terrace was also lovely, with excellent service and tasty Mediterranean food offerings pleasing to all ages (pizza for the kids, fresh fish for adults, etc.)
Staff: The concierge/staff was very nice and helpful and made excellent dining suggestions. We discovered that our safe was not working one evening at around 8 pm, and they repaired it the following morning when the repair guy returned to work at 9 a.m. This might have presented a problem had we been departing early in the morning for the airport.
Valet parking was easy and efficient. (We were glad we rented a car to tour around the island.)

Room Tip: Get an ocean view if you can -- it is gorgeous
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank OpinionistaTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2011

We stayed at the Nixe during our honeymoon. We absolutely loved our room, which was room #502, overlooking the beach. The balcony in that room is much bigger than the other rooms because it is on the same floor as the restaurant and is as wide as the outside seating. We loved the privacy the terrace offered us and actually never used the pool for tanning. The beach and pool did get very busy so it was good to have our private escape. The restaurant in the hotel is expensive, but well worth it. One suggestion is to rent bikes to get to town as it is a 45 minute walk otherwise.

Room Tip: get an ocean view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aggierp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2011

It is a lovely hotel with a splendid view,we had a wonderful room,spacious,clean,the breakfast area was on a terrace with a great sea view,the restaurants were very good but they close early,the swimming pool is not so great and the playa is small and crowded with a lot of people that are not hotel guests. It is a public beach. The location is great and from here you can take trips to other parts of the beautiful island.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoannaMarza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2011

I can't say enough about how great this hotel is, from the friendly, multi-lingual staff, to the beautiful rooms (most with sea views), to how the back of the hotel falls right on to a small (public) beach.

Nixe Palace tends to have a quiet, relaxing atmosphere. The hotel is a short taxi ride from Palma city center, or there are regular buses with a stop very near the hotel entrance. It's also about a 10 minute walk to Porto Pi, an indoor shopping mall.

Nixe Palace is a bit pricier than other nearby hotels, but worth every penny if you want to spoil yourself in a luxurious atmosphere. And don't forget to enjoy a mimosa at their buffet breakfast!

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room with a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stajovia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cala Ratjada, Spain
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2011

I wanted to surprise my girlfriend with a weekend stay at hotel with spa. The value for money is great and breakfast was good too, because it was February there were hardly any people so we almost had the whole hotel to ourselves. The spa was completely ours and stayed there both afternoons overlooking the sea and beach on both cloudy and rainy days. Our room was not very big but had all the essentials. I recommend this hotel for couples looking for a weekend escape with spa in the winter and the location is also good and very accessible to palma.

Room Tip: Ask for seaview with terrace it's only a bit more but definitely worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mallorcantraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickering, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2011

Beautiful hotel with a beautiful balcony view of the beach.
We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights after a cruise - very close drive from the port yet far enough removed to feel a destination in it's own.
The front desk staff were very helpful from booking excursions to getting us a cab.
The balcony was a nice size with two chairs and a small table. The view was breath taking! The pool was small but warm and big enough for a refreshing dip!
We found that there were many restaurants within walking distance which were quite affordable.
I did enjoy some time at the spa - it was a relaxing haven with a steam room and pool.
The beach in front of the hotel was clean with beautiful clear water for a swim - do beware that the chairs do not belong to the beach and we had to pay 4 euros for use.
Wonderful hotel to escape the world and just relax!!! I would return in a heartbeat............

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luv2travel67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala Major
0.9 mi away
Gran Melia de Mar
Gran Melia de Mar
#3 of 182 in Calvia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
1.3 mi away
Gran Melia Victoria
Gran Melia Victoria
#14 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,531 reviews
7.5 mi away
Hotel Pure Salt Garonda
Hotel Pure Salt Garonda
#2 of 77 in Playa de Palma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
IBEROSTAR Playa de Palma
IBEROSTAR Playa de Palma
#1 of 77 in Playa de Palma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel BonSol Resort & Spa
1.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Bonanza Playa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nixe Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nixe Palace

Property: Hotel Nixe Palace
Address: Avenida Joan Miro 269, 07015 Cala Major, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala Major
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Cala Major
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Nixe Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located front row from the beach and very close to the heart of Palma, in Hotel Nixe Palace guests can enjoy can enjoy the cultural, commercial, sporting and maritime atmosphere of the city. In our hotel you can choose from a broad selection of possibilities, whatever adjusts better to your needs. All of this is complemented by the exquisite personalized treatment that will make your stay here an unforgettable moment. Luxury is not limited to just the views, its rooms offer the latest technology. Whether you want to work, rest or practice sport, the Hotel Nixe Palace offers all the commodities and installations needed, even to be able to do it all. Also we have at your disposal a combination of dreamy interior and exterior areas in which to hold meetings, weddings, made to measure celebrations which will impress even your most demanding guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TravelUp, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Nixe Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nixe Palace Hotel
Hotel Nixe Palace Majorca/Cala Major, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing