We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but central location”
Review of Giritale Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Giritale Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Giritale
Reviewed February 8, 2013

The hotel is dated and that shows from the room to everything else. Having said that, if what you want is a basic place to stay with decent (basic) food, then it is a good choice. The views from hotel rooms and bar/pool looking on to the natural park and tank (lake) are spectacular, especially at sunset. It is central and close to the historic triangle (Polonnaruwa is only 20mins away), so a good base.

The pool is nice for a dip at the end of a long day. The drinks choice at the bar is limited, but basics are there. As for the service, don't be shy to ask and they are very obliging and accommodating. All in all a good stay with the right expectations and it's reasonably priced.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank FlyingBiggels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (349)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

160 - 166 of 349 reviews

Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

Stunning hotel with excellent service. Rooms are ok for a short stay. we had trouble with our shower running out of hot water but friends had no problems. Great selection for the dinner and breakfast buffets. Woukd definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tammy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

We stayed here on a group tour so cannot comment on the room price. The view from the bar across the lake is spectacular, but was not really visible from our room. The room was relatively well-equipped and seemed to be in a reasonable standard of repair. The restaurant was extremely noisy (very poor accoustics) and full of large tour parties, plus a musical trio who played requests at each table. Felt like I was at a holiday camp. My mother who uses a hearing aid could not make out any conversation at the table (and I was struggling with good hearing). The food (both buffet and a la carte) was overpriced. 1500Rps for the buffet, 1000Rps for Nasigoreng and there is little choice in the vicinity so it is a captive market.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ExeterSalsera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Yes the hotel is showing its age and the rooms are average, however, the location, the view and the friendly staff make this a very good option! We absolutely loved the two nights we stayed there. After a couple of busy days we spent our evenings on the deck taking in the fantastic sights and sounds.

The management was great! We had one small issue with our reservation, too small to mention and without asking for anything they made our dinner that evening comlimentary. Very classy!

I will remember my time there for the rest of our lives!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CEOCAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

It was relaxing to stay in this hotel. Good service . Closest to nature.swimming pool was was not attractive. They could improve in their breakfast menu. Location of this hotel relaxes you completely.

Room Tip: All rooms have good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Khurkadli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

First of all - agree with the other reviewers - views are good, and staff are friendly. There seem to be three different levels of rooms. The lower ones seem to have the best view. I was in the middle tier, and could only see the view when I ducked down to the level of the low window. No idea if the rooms have a different cost, I was with a tour booking.

Visited in Jan 2013, and it was during the tail end of the floods, so it had been wet for a while. Not sure it it's related, but room was very musty smelling and felt damp - maybe that is just the price of the location. Worst, the pillow case smelt of strong aftershave/perfume - not mine.

Both the airconditioner and fan in my room were extremely old and very noisy. Too noisy to have on when trying to sleep.

We were there for a safari - waste of time and does not compare well with other locations in Sri Lanka. Maybe again this is due to the floods - but we only saw a very few birds and no elephants. - Wouldn't bother!

Buffet food was good if you stick to the Sri Lankan dishes.

Room Tip: Lower rooms seem to have the best view of the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twoshirts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

It is the view from main lobby (or from the deluxe rooms upstairs) that makes staying at this hotel a great experience! I stayed here three times in three different years and every time on the second or third floor facing the lake, and loved every minute of it. Very last time was in Aug, 2012 when the lake had very little water and it was a bit sad to see, but the waiters kept saying that elephants may show up. I do not know if this is true or not. Anyway, I simply love this hotel because of its view.
But, I have to be more realistic; I think it is a bit over-priced, especially the food, which is very boring. Drinks are also expensive and difficult to get any snacks (bites, they call it!) without paying a fortune. I do not know about other rooms except the deluxe rooms upstairs, which are well placed (if you try to stay a bit away from the swimming pool, which can be noisy).
People are very nice (and they would remember you if you come more than once) and the room service is very good.

Room Tip: Second or third floor deluxe rooms facing the lake away from the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SunnyW358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Giritale
0.1 mi away
Deer Park Hotel
Deer Park Hotel
#1 of 17 in Polonnaruwa
551 reviews
6.6 mi away
Hotel Sudu Araliya
Hotel Sudu Araliya
#6 of 17 in Polonnaruwa
359 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Lake Hotel
The Lake Hotel
#10 of 17 in Polonnaruwa
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Thidas Arana Lake Hotel
Thidas Arana Lake Hotel
#4 of 17 in Polonnaruwa
133 reviews
3.8 mi away
Thidas Arana
Thidas Arana
#8 of 17 in Polonnaruwa
35 reviews
7 mi away
Ruins Chaaya Hotel
Ruins Chaaya Hotel
#5 of 17 in Polonnaruwa
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Giritale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Giritale Hotel

Address: Giritale, Polonnaruwa, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > North Central Province > Polonnaruwa > Giritale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Giritale
Price Range: $58 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Giritale Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Giritale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giritale Hotel Sri Lanka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing