We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel in a beautiful location”
Review of The Royal Lotus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Royal Lotus
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Giritale
Reviewed February 11, 2013

This hotel has a lovely location on the banks of a large tank with beautiful sunset views out over the lake. The room we were in (main hotel building) had a balcony with a great view but the cleanliness was only so-so and the bathroom just about bearable. All the hotel staff were lovely and the buffet breakfast was great - good amount of choice (both Sri Lankan and Western) and plenty of it! The location is good for visiting all the main ancient city sites.

Overall an alright hotel but expensive option for only average service.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CleminFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (116)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 116 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2013

The views make this hotel and are beautifull. Rooms are very tired, need updating and definitely need a good clean. Sofas and pillows all had stains on them.
Would only stay again if I could not get another hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed one night in December as part of our tour. The positives were the room was clean and the view was fine overlooking the lake. The food was by set menu in the evening and the chef clearly took pride in the food they had prepared. He was out in the dining area and visable, asking us how the meal was. Breakfast, a buffet, was fine. Staff were helpful.

The negatives were the bathrooms are outdated and in need of renovation. Also as others have mentioned there is no room safe.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank billshaw22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2012

Stayed for one night as part of Exodus tour. The room was a reasonably good size, it was clean but basic. The lobby and pool areas were tastefully decorated and there was a good view onto the lake. I was not particularly impressed with the restaurant food. The room had aircon but there was no safe and the shower was very weak. It was disappointing not to have free WiFi.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Becky T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2012

Stayed here as part of tour, so don't know individual price, value for money. But is generally ok. Good comfortable rooms, good restuarant food, and free internet (though only till 11pm!). Nice place to sit and watch sunset over lake. Close to nearby Polonaruwa.

Room Tip: Not central on 2nd floor. Too close to noisy air-conditioning unit on roof above. But no problem mov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Well the locatoin was stunning. Great view of the lake and birds. But the hotel per say, its quite ordinary. Atleast for the price you pay. Its not a bad hotel but everything is average. food, room, service etc.

The best thing about this hotel is the Pollonaruwa visit, possibly one of the best times i had in Sri Lanka so far.

So if you are staying for 1 night and want to cover pollonaruwa then this place is good.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank julians893
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Nice view of the "tank" or lake from the rooms. Basic rooms with good A/C. Very old furniture in room. France 24 in English on the television. No free WiFi. Worst food of any hotels we stayed in Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Outdoorpartner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Giritale
0 mi away
Giritale Hotel
Giritale Hotel
#1 of 2 in Giritale
365 reviews
0 mi away
Tishan Holiday Resort
Tishan Holiday Resort
#3 of 17 in Polonnaruwa
210 reviews
0 mi away
Ekho Lake House
Ekho Lake House
#8 of 17 in Polonnaruwa
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Deer Park Hotel
Deer Park Hotel
#1 of 17 in Polonnaruwa
572 reviews
0 mi away
The Village Polonnaruwa
The Village Polonnaruwa
#13 of 17 in Polonnaruwa
77 reviews
0 mi away
The Lake Hotel
The Lake Hotel
#11 of 17 in Polonnaruwa
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Lotus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Lotus

Address: Giritale, Polonnaruwa, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > North Central Province > Polonnaruwa > Giritale
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Giritale
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Lotus 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Royal Lotus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Lotus Hotel Giritale
Royal Lotus Hotel Polonnaruwa
Royal Lotus Polonnaruwa
The Royal Lotus Giritale, Sri Lanka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing