We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient for visiting historical sites and parks”
Review of The Royal Lotus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Royal Lotus
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Giritale
Songkhla
Level Contributor
63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Convenient for visiting historical sites and parks”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed one night in December as part of our tour. The positives were the room was clean and the view was fine overlooking the lake. The food was by set menu in the evening and the chef clearly took pride in the food they had prepared. He was out in the dining area and visable, asking us how the meal was. Breakfast, a buffet, was fine. Staff were helpful.

The negatives were the bathrooms are outdated and in need of renovation. Also as others have mentioned there is no room safe.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank billshaw22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    27
    46
    24
    9
See reviews for
17
53
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Reading
Level Contributor
37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2012

Stayed for one night as part of Exodus tour. The room was a reasonably good size, it was clean but basic. The lobby and pool areas were tastefully decorated and there was a good view onto the lake. I was not particularly impressed with the restaurant food. The room had aircon but there was no safe and the shower was very weak. It was disappointing not to have free WiFi.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Becky T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2012

Stayed here as part of tour, so don't know individual price, value for money. But is generally ok. Good comfortable rooms, good restuarant food, and free internet (though only till 11pm!). Nice place to sit and watch sunset over lake. Close to nearby Polonaruwa.

Room Tip: Not central on 2nd floor. Too close to noisy air-conditioning unit on roof above. But no problem mov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Well the locatoin was stunning. Great view of the lake and birds. But the hotel per say, its quite ordinary. Atleast for the price you pay. Its not a bad hotel but everything is average. food, room, service etc.

The best thing about this hotel is the Pollonaruwa visit, possibly one of the best times i had in Sri Lanka so far.

So if you are staying for 1 night and want to cover pollonaruwa then this place is good.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julians893
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Layton, Utah
Level Contributor
537 reviews
185 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 409 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Nice view of the "tank" or lake from the rooms. Basic rooms with good A/C. Very old furniture in room. France 24 in English on the television. No free WiFi. Worst food of any hotels we stayed in Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Outdoorpartner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kandy, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

I travelled to the Royal Lotus 4 days ago, on a Sunday, with a group of senior, travel hardened professionals. We wanted to visit Somawathiya Chaithya.

The Hotel management will definitely not like my comments , but I hope this will be useful to all of you, people like me, who would like to travel around the world , and do it comfortably, get some return for the price they pay. I hope the management should seriously go thorough my comments, if they want to continue with the hospitality trade, as this is one of my stop-overs anywhere in the world.

The booking was easy, cheerful and full of promises. Tharindu, who was at the reception did a very good job, even prepared to check our group of 18 families in over the phone. This was my idea and when we got into the hotel, the keys were ready with a refreshing drink. No hassle at all. All credit to Tharindu and whoever who trained him.

Access to the hotel is quite easy along smoothly asphalted roads, with convenient access to the ruined city, Minneriya sanctuary, Bird watching at Giritale and Minneriya tanks, Dambulla, Sigiriya and easy launching pad to Trincomalee.

Rooms were basic. Run down. Noisy old AC. Ancient TV ( we didn’t even feel watching it ) No water, tea or coffee stuff in the room. Clean linen was a positive. The bed and the pillows were comfortable. Once you plug in the Mosquito vaporizer, there are no sockets to plug in your phone / camera battery chargers. So endure the moskees while you get your exhausted batteries charged for the next day…..

The pool was OK. Run down wash rooms below the pool. No soap and nowhere to hang your stuff.

Well, when people travel, they love to taste and enjoy the food…. Oh, the food. This was the worst. Cold, tasteless, watery, and without much choice to anybody. The empty trays were refilled after a long time, and with cold food. Worst food and combination of foods, I have tasted in my life in a hotel.

Dinner, another affair I would like to forget and don’t want any of you to go through. The soup was " Hungarian soup " , beef based. There was white rice, left-over scrapings of Cous Cous, and the coldest, driest spaghetti bolognaise I have ever endured. The was a baked potato, and vegetable stuff. So what did my poor non beef eating and vegetarian friends eat ? Probably the tasteless, overdone rice and the vegetable. What a shame. Doesn't the chef go through the kind of people who are coming for dinner ? 40 Sri Lankans, and everybody knows 80% Sri Lankans non-vegetarians don’t eat beef ? Cant they understand that these people have to go hungry ???

During dinner my friend's half eaten plate was whisked off, leaving him and all of us aghast. When questioned, the dumb waiter rudely said, “ if you keep your fork and knife together, we lift it off “ . Dear Management, please, PLEASE train your staff. I have NEVER experienced such rudeness anywhere in a hotel anywhere in the world.

There is no coffee or tea making stuff in the room, and there is no room service. So what do you do when you want your morning cup of coffee ? Go to the restaurant in your night dress. What a lovely hotel.
Breakfast was the only decent meal I had. That again, minimal variety and half jobs. The restaurant was full of house flies. Doesn't ANYBODY care ??

We were very glad to check out and leave this place as soon as possible.

I think the Royal Lotus is simply bad idea in a wonderful place. I don’t think any average Sri Lankan traveler will ever appreciate the food you get at the Royal Lotus. I feel sorry for the foreign tourists. They will think all Sri Lankan food is bland , cold, simple, and tasteless.

Please Royal Lotus, Revamp your place. Send your chefs for a training course. Send your restaurant staff for a complete overhaul about manners. Paint your rooms. and include the basic things like water , tea-stuff in your rooms, after all this is not a run-down motel , according to your advertisements. I despised your hotel, its food and attitudes. Unless you pause and do something drastic about it, it will be simply a matter of time your " motel " is forgotten, by all travelers...

? Will I ever go there - NEVER.
? Will I recommend it to a friend - NEVER,
I just want to erase it's memories and save you would be guests from disappointment.

Room Tip: all rooms are equally run down, ancient and badly needs refurbishing.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gamed77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Giritale hotels

Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
1,817 reviews
251 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 919 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Spent one night here on an Exodus tour. Refreshing welcome drink upon arrival. Shown to Room #216 (king). Hotel is located near the Giritale Tank (lake) which is very low due to drought.

Room was basic: no wash cloths, bar of soap, shampoo packet, no other amenities. No chairs on the balcony an a fee for the internet (even wifi). No free drinking water (unlike EVERY OTHER hotel we stayed at in Sri Lanka) which we found kind of cheap. Bath vents to outside so close the bathroom door for max air con efficiency. Bed linens had a funky smell to them which made restful sleep difficult. Rooms could use a refurb. Lots of dead bugs on the hotel corridor floors in the morning. Owner is allegedly a politician and not a hotelier, so that explains a lot.

Breakfast was a nice start to the day. At night we walked into town (15 minutes) and ate Kotthu Roti at Sameera Restaurant which was delicous!

Pool deck is nice with nice views. BE CAREFUL WHEN SWIMMING in the pool: the water intake tube on the side has no cover on it. I unknowingly got too close to it and ended up with a large bruise from the powerful suction (looked like an elephant gave me a hickey!) on my thigh, a child would not be strong enough to extricate her/himself from this and would be seriously harmed.

Overall it was OK, but there are possibly better options.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Giritale
0.1 mi away
Deer Park Hotel
Deer Park Hotel
#1 of 16 in Polonnaruwa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
0.2 mi away
Giritale Hotel
Giritale Hotel
#1 of 2 in Giritale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Lake Hotel
The Lake Hotel
#9 of 16 in Polonnaruwa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Hotel Sudu Araliya
Hotel Sudu Araliya
#6 of 16 in Polonnaruwa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
4.3 mi away
Tishan Holiday Resort
Tishan Holiday Resort
#3 of 16 in Polonnaruwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
5.3 mi away
Thidas Arana Lake Hotel
Thidas Arana Lake Hotel
#7 of 16 in Polonnaruwa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Lotus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Lotus

Property: The Royal Lotus
Address: Giritale, Polonnaruwa, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > North Central Province > Polonnaruwa > Giritale
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Giritale
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Lotus 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Royal Lotus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Lotus Hotel Giritale
Royal Lotus Hotel Polonnaruwa
Royal Lotus Polonnaruwa
The Royal Lotus Giritale, Sri Lanka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing