We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful hotel with excellent staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Fortress

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Fortress
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Koggala
Certificate of Excellence
Bath
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A wonderful hotel with excellent staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2011

Excellent hotel in a wonderful location. It is a long journey from the airport on very bumpy, busy roads but once we entered the huge gate the journey was forgotten as we were greeted by the staff and saw the view through the foyer onto the swimming pool and ocean. Throughout our stay all the staff were helpful and attentive and made our holiday very enjoyable. As we were there to attend our son's wedding we would like to thank Gayani the wedding coordinator for making the day run so smoothly. We stayed in an Ocean View room which was spacious and well equipped and the housekeeping staff were very keen to please. We were on full board and found plenty of choice although the al a carte menu does not change. They were happy to provide us with packed lunches for the day we went to Yala National Park. All in all a beautiful hotel in a superb location. We had a great stay and would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary1060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    988
    276
    70
    19
    7
See reviews for
263
852
19
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (418)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2011

The Fortress is simply an incredible place to stay and I couldn’t recommend it enough having stayed there for 9 nights in Feb 2011. The rooms are enormous and immaculately kept with a twice daily service. The hotel building and grounds are stunning and the 50m infinity pool with sun beds overlooking the beach is fantastic. The restaurant offers a large range of different cuisines, the food is delicious and the staff are all extremely polite and well trained. The hotel never looked busy even though I am fairly sure all rooms were occupied and we were always able to use the facilities (spa etc) whenever we wanted.

Yes, some things can be (very) expensive (for Sri Lanka) but this is a 5 star hotel and you pay for the luxurious surroundings and service. Having said that, it’s still cheaper than other 5 star hotels that we’ve stayed at (bottle of beer was about £2.50, cocktail £4-£5, lunch £15 each). We went for half board as the hotel is not really in a location where you can just walk to local restaurants but the food there is divine; I thoroughly recommend the Peppered crab, the Devilled chicken and the Lagoon prawns which are each about as big as a large banana!

The only minor snags I can think of is that 1) the free WiFi was slow and unreliable, not really a problem when you only need to check the odd email but if you needed to do any work or download anything substantial you may want to bring a 3G enabled device. 2) the hotel is about a 4-5 hour drive from the airport, a long old haul especially after a lengthy flight, and 6-7 hours from the main sights around Kandy. I thoroughly recommend trying to arrange your flights so that they arrive/depart in the small hours as the local traffic is horrendous during the day. Neither of these should discourage you from staying at this wonderful hotel, though!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MrR0bin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights during our honeymoon and we really enjoyed our stay. The staff were friendly and the atmosphere was relaxed.

the food was delicious and a lot of variety including western food and curries.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rajivkj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new delhi
Level Contributor
46 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2011

Had the opportunity to stay in Fortress Galle for the weekend while traveing to Lanka for business. The moment the huge doors of the fortress are opened i felt sucked into a completely different environment. The rooms were fantastic. Although I didnt have asea view the sixe of the room, the bathrooms and the outstanding Bose music system in the room made up for it. the food was fantastic , and i tried out all the local flavours. The best part was whiling your time away ib front of the pool and watch the sea splashing around right in front of us. Overall the minimal approach tot he decor & furnishing added to the ambience of a really memorable stay here.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank indshal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2011

After staying at the fortress for a week I can only say this is the most amazing place me and my family have ever stayed and probably will not find better. The negative reviews are pathetic, need to be completely disregarded and some people need to open their eyes and stop looking for petty faults!! The tuk tuk drivers are fine, you don't like their price you simply walk away, it's called bartering!!! And if you still don't get the price you want jump on the local bus for 8 rupees=4p!!!!
I had my wedding at the fortress and we had a life changing day and was more than we ever could dream, the rooms, venue and location are faultless. If you don't like the prices in the hotel (which are the same as been at home) then get a tuk tuk to Unatuayna there is the culture side of Sri Lanka, a bottle of tiger beer is about £1.50 and you can eat for £4pp. Also check and pudh with your travel agent, the flights normally are to columbo and the transfers vary between 3-6 hrs dependant on traffic and your driver, there is an airport at Koggola which is a small miltary one which does allow small air taxis, we found this out after but the flight from columbo to koggala would only take a max of 1 hr!!The wedding co ordinator Gayani I cannot thank enough, if you have any questions let me know, but The Fortress is a must!!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leaboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2011

It may be becausr the cricket world cup is on it's to Sri Lanka but the sight of football strips around an hotel pool always makes me wonder if I wouldn't rather be elsewhere. We went to the fortress in January 2010 and it exceeded all our expectations, this February it was stiil good but, less staff have meant slightly less crisp service, supply problems do mean that the lower priced white wines were largely unavailable so you will be paying something around £28 for a splash of with dinner, the place is getting more crowded due fo the ebb and flow of groups of a dozen or so for weddings. If you want boutique intimacy, this may no longer be for you, if you want probably the best hotel directly on a quiet beach in the area it should do the trick but.....

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jondi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Level Contributor
159 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2011

Amazing hotel, beautiful large pool on the beach, huge rooms with king bed, enormous bathroom with bathtub and shower. Perfect service, very helpfull and professional. free internet wi-fi in the room. The Fortress is a beautiful building, the big wall protects from the noise of the road. It's 20min from Galle in tuktuk. The only thing to improve is the buffet dinner. While the breakfast buffet is great. Cuidado con los chicos en la playa que intentan venderos tours u otros servicios.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Xuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Koggala
6.1 mi away
Cape Weligama
Cape Weligama
#1 of 12 in Weligama
5.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
0.4 mi away
Koggala Beach Hotel
Koggala Beach Hotel
#2 of 5 in Koggala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
6.4 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 29 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Jetwing Lighthouse
Jetwing Lighthouse
#11 of 60 in Galle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,632 reviews
6.3 mi away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#3 of 29 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
15.2 mi away
Aditya
Aditya
#1 of 26 in Hikkaduwa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fortress? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fortress

Property: The Fortress
Address: Route A2, Matara Road, Koggala, Galle 82104, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle > Koggala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Koggala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Fortress 5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury 53 room boutique resort located on the Southern shores of Sri Lanka. The Fortress has been styled after Galle’s powerful ancient Dutch Fort, blending the country’s Dutch and Portuguese influences with Sri Lankan motifs and indigenous furnishings to echo the historic days of Old Ceylon. This has been artfully and sensitively fused with innovative architecture, high design features, state-of-the-art technology, sensual living spaces with naturally modern design, and incredible gastronomic experiences, to stunning effect. The Fortress will offer unprecedented levels of service, extraordinary innovation, attention to detail and a unique blend of Old Ceylon with Modern Asia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Fortress reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fortress Hotel Koggala
Fortress Hotel Galle
Fortress Galle
Fortress Sri Lanka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing