We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Hotel”
Review of The Fortress

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Fortress
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Koggala
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Amazing Hotel”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed here for the last 10 days of our honeymoon and this hotel is just outstanding!! I was a bit sceptical when we were being driven up to the gates, but once the doors had opended, it was like an out of this world vision - stunning! Rooms amazing, great spa facilities, restaurant beautiful and the standard of service was simply amazing!! Definitely a hotel to choose for that special trip/occasion!! I actually stayed here in August 2008 but the drop down option will not allow me to go back this far!

Room Tip: At the front overlooking the Infinity pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ashling1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,017
    283
    71
    19
    8
See reviews for
273
874
19
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (430)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

This was the final hotel on our Sri Lankan trip this year. Had read all the other trip advisor reviews on this hotel and were looking forward to it tremendously.

When we arrived we we greeted by kind and welcoming staff who after our welcome drink took us to our room to complete our arrival. The room was stunning a large bathroom, massive bed and a balcony with two sun beds. This is one of the largest rooms we have ever stayed in and was extremely comfortable. I have never stayed anywhere that has a compete Bose sound system and iPod for your use ever before.

There are two issues that I have with this hotel. Firstly it's great having a large bath but the hot water system isn't very good by the time the water started to get hot the bath was half full with now cold water. Secondly the food. I enjoyed my breakfast and when I had snacks by the pool it's dinner that we had a bit of an issue with. The starters were fine a good size and full of flavour, so was the main meals but its the size of the portions. I never thought that I would complain about the size of the portions but this is odd for me. For example, I had a chicken satay on the first night. The chicken was beautifully cooked still tender and juicy and very tasty it was the rice that came with it. The rice was fine it was the size of the portion, it was massive, half would have been sufficient. I know this sounds a bit picky but they didn't need to be that generous.

I did enjoy this hotel and its wonderfully helpful staff

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
161 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

this was the last hotel we stayed at and I am running out of superlatives for the hotels we stayed at. This was another hotel at the peak of its performance from start to finish. There are a few names to mention including Marrish, the pool attendant Laksir, our room boy Dinesh, Sauymia an nandana in the shop and in the restaurant Sugath and Sewwandi. They all treated us like royals. The pool is 50 meters and well kept the lounges were relaxing, The massages brilliant, the food varied and superb. We liked just sitting on the front looking out to sea watching for turtles that are often visitor the the lagoon at the eastern end. For a relaxing week you would have to go far to beat this hotel and its staff

Room Tip: we didn't get a sea view as we were late booking but most of the time we were in the room the bl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hartlovap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We were a large group with over 20 people. The entrance to the resort is like a fortress and is just amazing. However the car park is off site and its across a very busy road. So if you need to get stuff from your car it could be a bit dangerous .
The rooms - Just fantasti. The Barth room is fully open with shower and jacuzzi and takes up half of the room. Every thing in the zoom is of high Stan dards and quality and 's couldn't find anything a miss. The only draw back was that with kids the open toilet / Barth concept may not work.
The food - not that great and not Worth for the price . The breakfast buffet also was net that worth mentioning .
The pool Was a lot of fun and the Keds and adults enjoyed. These is also a pool table which kept the gang occupied in the night .

Room Tip: The roomS with sea view are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RizAccra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Great hotel,
+ clean!!
+small,
+private,
+ good quality and variety of food
+ fantastic staff!!!!!
+ turtles in the beach at front

Just a note the trip to the airport even if using the new super motorway still takes 3 hours!!!!

Room Tip: some of the ground floor rooms have a plunge pool in the room, Even though we didnt use the pool its...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wish1WasThere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

What an amazing room we had No. 15 which was a loft room really beautiful bedroom bathroom upstairs, lovely wooden winding stairs downstairs to a lovely sitting room end wall all glass windows onto the garden. A plunge pool in the corner of the room we really loved it.

The hotel staff couldn't do enough for us.

Food was fantastic, huge prawns for lunch.

Couldn't recommend it higher. We had the final week of our trip around Sri Lanka it was wonderful.

Rosemary and Tony Pickering

Room Tip: no 13 or 15 are the 2 loft rooms, well worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosiereiden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We very much enjoyed our recent stay at the hotel. We arranged an airport pick up through the hotel as we have a baby and they were able to provide a car seat- very pleased with this service but it did come at a price! The staff were very welcoming and quick to change our room from an upstairs to a downstairs one as we had a pram and there were no lifts! The rooms are stunning and large as are the bathrooms. The facilities were also very good and with direct access to the beach we were able to enjoy many a walk- the waves however do limit you from actually swimming. The restaurant staff were amazing (especially with our baby )and I cannot give them enough praise but found the food menu a little limiting- it would be great to have more local dishes. Saying that, the seafood night was delicious. They do have a Sri Lanka night but it did not fall in our stay.
Would recommend this hotel if you would like some quiet time away from the hussle and bustle of Sri Lanka !

Room Tip: Ask for a downstairs room if you have a pram as there is no lift!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vasso X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Koggala
6.1 mi away
Cape Weligama
Cape Weligama
#1 of 13 in Weligama
370 reviews
9.9 mi away
Jetwing Lighthouse
Jetwing Lighthouse
#3 of 23 in Galle
1,714 reviews
6.4 mi away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 31 in Unawatuna
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Koggala Beach Hotel
Koggala Beach Hotel
#2 of 5 in Koggala
402 reviews
15.2 mi away
Aditya
Aditya
#1 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
598 reviews
5.8 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#5 of 31 in Unawatuna
882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fortress? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fortress

Property: The Fortress
Address: Route A2, Matara Road, Koggala 82104, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Koggala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Koggala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Fortress 5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury 53 room boutique resort located on the Southern shores of Sri Lanka. The Fortress has been styled after Galle’s powerful ancient Dutch Fort, blending the country’s Dutch and Portuguese influences with Sri Lankan motifs and indigenous furnishings to echo the historic days of Old Ceylon. This has been artfully and sensitively fused with innovative architecture, high design features, state-of-the-art technology, sensual living spaces with naturally modern design, and incredible gastronomic experiences, to stunning effect. The Fortress will offer unprecedented levels of service, extraordinary innovation, attention to detail and a unique blend of Old Ceylon with Modern Asia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Fortress reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fortress Hotel Koggala
Fortress Hotel Galle
Fortress Galle
Fortress Sri Lanka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing