We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Relax...Eat...Relax....Repeat....”
other travelers have booked this property
Pool with a view
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pool with a view
Rear of villa at twilight Pool and lake viewed from balcony
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
76 reviews
Pool with a view
Rear of villa at twilight
Pool and lake viewed from balcony
Sunset over pool
Lounge
Pool & sun terrace
Master bedroom
Reflections on the lake
Master bedroom dressing table
Honeymoon greeting
Balcony view
View across balcony
View from master bedroom ensuite
Master bedroom shower
Pool shower
Sunrise- its worth getting up!
Sunterrace plants
Front of villa
Monkeys by the pool
Bedroom two ensuite
Lower garden and jetty
Master bedroom
TV/games room
Lower garden
Kitchen
Veranda seating
Local transport
Dining area
Front steps
Hammock by the pool
Garden swings
Balcony side view
Bedroom 3 ensuite
Right hand side of garden
Sunterrace greenery
Sunset from balcony
Letting off steam!
Front of house
Lower garden in front of the pool
Garden room ensuite
The garden room
Peacock on the gate post
Antique chest
Kingfisher in action
Rear of villa
Side of house viewed from garden
Garden
Koggala beach
Villa from the lake
Bed 2
Bed 3
Bed 3 mirror
Wall Lizard
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Koggala, Galle District, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 76 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
StueyP77
Bangalore
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Relax...Eat...Relax....Repeat....”
Reviewed January 1, 2018 for a stay in December 2017

The villa really exceeded expectations, the views out to the lake from the dinning area/pool were outstanding and you couldn't help but relax into them. We stayed as three couples (+ we have 2 young children), we utilized the 2 bedrooms on the first floor while the others had more independent rooms adjacent to the pool downstairs. Provided excellent mix of privacy when needed plus great communal areas. All the communal areas face out to the lake without anyone overlooking and provided secluded privacy. Sonali (housekeeper/cook) was great, clearly understands how to look after the demands of guests from all cultures, our party contained a vegan and two children and she made every effort to accommodate their tastes with her excellent cooking, she's also a great host helping us organize travel and trips to various places. Whether exploring southern Sri Lanka or looking to escape and relax for a few days (weeks!) I cannot recommend this rental enough.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JENNIFER...
2 reviews
“Paradise”
Reviewed October 7, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

From the very first time we stepped inside to our sad farewell we had the most perfect stay at Lakeview Villa. Both Ken and Lesley were there to welcome us and introduce us to their magnificent Villa and the wonderful Sonalli (oh how I miss her cooking). What a villa! Just perfect, the breeze comes up from the lake to cool the rooms which make the villa just so comfortable - even at night we left all doors and windows open - no need for air-conditioning - it is so much more healthier and comfortable. Mosquito nets over the very comfortable beds, the pool, the study, the library and TV room, the gardens all made our stay so peaceful and relaxing. A wonderfully deigned, elegantly decorated and very comfortable Villa.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shyamala8...
Manila, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Stunning location”
Reviewed September 23, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We loved our stay here. The villa is beautifully situated with water and trees as far as the eye can see. We enjoyed the quiet - just bird songs and no human sounds. Sonali was eager to please and cooked up some delicious meals, while her husband was attentive and available whenever we needed. The lovely owners were there to greet us. What can I say except that it was a perfect vacation. We would go back in a heartbeat!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Starlett1...
1 review
“Simply breathtaking....”
Reviewed July 28, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Wow just wow. What a place. We have just come back from a two week holiday of a lifetime in Lakeview Villa. From the moment we arrived we were greeted by Ken Sonali and Lasantha and were made to feel like royalty. Our stay here was amazing. Sonali's cooking was out of this world. We didn't feel the need or want to eat out. So much so we bought one of Sonali's recipe books and have already attempted a few. Lasantha provided us with the best BBQ ever to celebrate a birthday in the group. Raja the gardener was very friendly and kept us informed of all the wonderful wildlife in the villa garden. He climbed trees to give us coconuts. Waking up to the sounds of 'a jungle' and the most speactacular view of the lake made our stay. I will never get tired of the sounds.... so much so we are already looking to book next year.... hope to see you all soon Sonali, Lasantha and Raja. . Xx

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinkfoxy
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Outstanding villa and amazing food”
Reviewed July 23, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
3
people found this review helpful

On arrival we were met by Ken, Sonali and Lasantha, we were given a tour of the villa and WOW what an amazing villa, beautiful views over the lake, which each of the bedrooms benefitted from. The pool was perfect and the gardens where kept clean and tidy by Raja who also pointed out lots of the wildlife - monkeys, water monitor, mongoose, he also took us one afternoon to watch the peacocks come to feed and climbed the palm tree to get us coconuts.
Sonali's cooking is out of this world, we tried lots of Sri Lankan dishes and she catered for all our requirements, even picking up coco pops for the child in our group. I can still taste the crab dish she made us, yummy !
Sonali and Lasantha helped us organise trips out to Galle and Mirrisa using tuk tuks, a boat trip around the lake which took in the temple, cinnamon plantation and spice island and a safari to Udawalawa national park. Prangeeth came to talk to us about different safari options, we didn't feel pressured to make a decision there and then, which you usually get from holiday reps. The itinerary was perfect for us and we spent a number of hours in the park making sure we saw as much wildlife as possible especially the elephants. Our travel to and from the airport and villa was organised through Prangeeth, again he made suggestions on how to break up the journey to the airport as we had requested to visit the tsunami monument / museum.
Overall our holiday was amazing, the villa is a perfect oasis set within cinnamon plantations with stunning views of the lake. Sonali, Lasantha and Raja made it extra special, we definitely want to come back !!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elie Z
1 review
“Wonderful Vacation”
Reviewed April 24, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Lakeview villa ia by far the best place to spend a vacation in Srilanka. Its location is breathtaking and accessible to an amazing view. The best part of our stay was meeting Sonali and Lathanta. The most helpful, generous and genuine people i have met. Sonali's food is sooo good and lathanta's bbq was delicious. 2 things that could be enhanced, are the garden and pool lights, where it gets so dim at night. Second thing is the entrance road which is too sloppy and narrow, we had a small accident on the scooter because of that. Apart from this, the stay is unbelievably good and stress-free !!

Lathanta and Sonali, thank you for making this vacation my best one! Cant wait to have brownies again:)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 1, 2017
Thank you for the lovely review and we are really happy that you enjoyed the villa and food. Sorry about the lighting- 3 of the pool lights failed at the same time, and the floodlight in the Kithul tree also stopped working after only a couple of months. These have now been replaced.
Unfortunately, there is little we can do about the approach track. We do not own the land on either side, so cannot widen it. Raja, our gardener, cuts back all the side vegetation a couple of times a week, to keep it passable and we have re-surfaced the whole track a couple of times, but the heavy rains tend to wash it out. The council will not put in a concrete road as there are not enough houses there. The cost for us to concrete the whole road would be prohibitive and, if we were to do so, we would become liable for all the road maintenance costs for ever. I'm afraid it is just a downside of the villa's fabulous location, but I hope it did not spoil your enjoyment too much and we look forward to seeing you again..
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MattSt
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Perfect paradise for a family holiday”
Reviewed March 30, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Lakeview is a very special place to stay. From the moment of booking communications with Lesley were excellent and very helpful answering all our questions including the important matters of tonic water and lemons! Our transfer from Colombo airport organised by Prageeth, the villa travel manger, was very smooth and comfortable. Arrival at the villa up a very narrow green lane was magical and the welcome from Sonali and Lasantha was warm and delightful. The villa itself is beautifully located, constructed and furnished. Everything has been worked out and it all works perfectly. The swimming pool is the jewel in a paradise garden. We had a lot of fun there and Sonali's cooking is world class. From the first mouthful we did not want to eat anywhere else. We had a few trips out - to Galle/Jungle Beach with Lasantha and a boat trip for four starting from the garden! Jungle Beach is highly recommended - particularly the second beach and the peace pagoda is worth a visit. The main thing to do though is to enjoy the company of family in the supremely relaxed setting of this fabulous villa, pool and garden. Early in the morning the view from the upper verandah is breathtaking and the jungle sounds from the birds and monkeys give an exotic impression we will never forget. If you like to watch or photograph birds, monkeys and chipmunks the verandah is a great hide - nature comes to you. Raja the gardener impressed us with his agility to pick fresh coconuts. Prageeth also provided our onward travel to Udawalawe and Haputale. Wholeheartedly recommended for groups of friends or family reunions.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing