We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place to be.!!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Long Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Koggala
The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“nice place to be.!!!!!!”
Reviewed August 6, 2014

Good staff. Good meals beautiful rooms. Nice ocean. The location is great. Beach is allright. Its a little bit noisy at the restaurant. But after a while you get yous to it. We recommand it to our friend and family.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annet r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

689 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    213
    154
    77
    87
See reviews for
190
250
41
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014

We stayed here in July 2014 after being transferred from the Club Kogolla next door due to them not having single beds due to refurbishment. It was stated that this was an upgrade but no way, the food for the one day we stayed at the Kogolla was fantastic but here I found it very hard to find anything to eat most times. If you like rice you are ok but we were there for 3 weeks so it gets boring. The soups were tempting but the meat was so chewy it was impossible to eat. The desserts beside the fresh fruit were all the same taste. Our room had a lovley sea view but we were plagued with dogs around all the time and barking for no reason at the workers. The beach is good but the water is very rough and so very dangerous as the red flags stated. We also had crisps, sweets water and cigarettes taken from the room by the maid who was going in the wardrobe, this is not acceptable and the management said they had dealt with it but he was still around. The entertainment was a fire eater once a week and nothing else. You were made to sign for the drinks and if you queried that they had put down a cocktail when you had a coke they said it did not matter, this was wrong, where was the drink you were supposed to have going, if they did that to a couple of people every night they had a bottle to take away, this was ridiculous as you already had an all inclusive arm band on and it took for ever for them to serve people at the bar. In the dining room they were more content in serving the people who were paying for their drinks not us on all inclusive, waiting for a tip I expect. I would never return here. We have previously stayed three times at the same hotel in Beruwala and would have gone back there but the hotel is closed for refurbishment.

Room Tip: A sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeannette g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Koggala hotels

Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2014

I stayed 4 days in this hotel and I had my pleasure. There are very friendly and helpful staff. The rooms are clean but a little bit noisy in the morning. The food and the drinks are very good. They have also different shows in the evening. The beach is huge and beautiful.

Room Tip: Ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 8frangipani8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sleeuwijk, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 1, 2014

we did like our stay at long beach. The rooms were fine and the buffets were nice. We really liked our seaview from the room. When we ordered pizza or lunch, sometimes it took a long time and the food was not always warm. But the people were very friendly and they arranged a waterpolo game with free snacks from the general manager.

Room Tip: Better to have a room upstairs because of animals and beach visitors. And with seaview!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeanine-93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2014

It is a good hotel with great service.
The staff is very friendly, and always do the best to help you.
The food is well prepared and there is a lot of choice.
The animator organise a water polo game to entertain us, and that was very good job.
all the rooms have a very nice view over the ocean.

Room Tip: All the rooms have a great view over the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rick k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
Reviewed July 31, 2014

It was suppose to be a one day relaxing stay but it turned out to be an stressful experience. The front office was filled with staff but no one cared to greet us or even treat us with a smile. We were booked into a standard room, even though our booking was for a suite, and the keys were handed over to us without even looking as if to say 'go find your room'. The boy who took the luggage did not even bother to show us the inside of the room but left the luggage inside and ran off in a hurry. We only realized that it was not the room we booked in the following morning as we were so indulged in the disappointment at check-in. The only satisfaction was the beach and the restaurant staff during the breakfast. In fact, I made the suggestion to swap front office with the staff from the restaurant because of their pleasantness. The room floor was wet and we had to turn on the A/C to the lowest for it to be dry. The cable TV was not working and the telephone was fixed after complaining. In the middle of the night I realized that the mini-bar was empty and later I got to know that one has to inform the front desk if it needs to be filled. (I was not told about this at check-in). In the morning the front office manager accepted the error and offered his sincere apology blaming the error on newcomer staff. However, no compensation was offered for checking us in to a standard room when the actual booking was for a suite. For those who wish to visit Long beach Resort, the advise is that don't expect much, specially if you are a local, but one may be able to at least enjoy the beach which I thought was quite fantastic. Sadly, this will be my last visit to Long Beach Resort.

Room Tip: double check the room that you have been checked into and make sure to inform the front office that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pandula S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graz, Austria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 19, 2014

We wAs hier
For 3weeks , it was very nice and we had good weather
the hotel long beach is very awsome
especially few persons from the hotel staff was very friendly to us and carried about!
from the first : the animation gay Thilina very friendly and helpfull
also the lifegard lalith, he is a frienly one and evry day he bring us fresh towels!
and last but not least the barman nandasary, he is one of the old school barman*S,he carried about us evry day! This 3 gay*s make us to enjoy the time in the hotel!
I hope the chefs from the hotel care good about them!
soo we come again , long beach is one of the best hotel in koggala!

Room Tip: S-204 is best beach view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank madagaskar m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Koggala
0.2 mi away
Koggala Beach Hotel
Koggala Beach Hotel
#2 of 5 in Koggala
402 reviews
0.4 mi away
Club Koggala Village
Club Koggala Village
#3 of 5 in Koggala
206 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Fortress
The Fortress
#1 of 5 in Koggala
1,398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Cantaloupe Aqua
Cantaloupe Aqua
#9 of 31 in Unawatuna
245 reviews
5.3 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#5 of 31 in Unawatuna
882 reviews
17.8 mi away
Citrus Hikkaduwa
Citrus Hikkaduwa
#7 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Long Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Long Beach Resort & Spa

Property: The Long Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Koggala, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Koggala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Koggala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Long Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 208
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Long Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing