We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“FANTASTIC HOTEL” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Long Beach Resort & Spa

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Long Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Koggala
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC HOTEL”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

Just returned after spending 4 weeks at the long beach hotel, the hotel is situated on the beach with amazing views. The rooms are very spacious and clean and are kept to a very high standard, the restaurant is of buffet style and the food is of very high quality, the staff from managers to even the gardeners are very friendly and this makes your stay a pleasant one. I have stayed at this hotel several times and each visit just gets better, if you travel to Sri Lanka i would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mrbrian036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    206
    147
    72
    82
See reviews for
179
242
39
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Krefeld, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014

WE HAd two wonderfull weeks at the long beach hotel!
every sigle person working here is so nice, after two days everyone knowes our names, and everytime they see us they smiled.
the weather was fantastic, instead its Monsoon.
we could enjoy the beach, the Indian ocean and the two wonderful pool areas and the bars there every single day.
the rooms are clean and it was a pleasure for our room boy to give the bad a new look everyday with wonderful flowers.
break first, lunch and dinner are different every single day, and really delicious!
three different barbecues with fish, vegetables and meat, there's nothing more you could wish!!!
there is a life band at the dinner and you can look over the amazing ocean.
now i still have three days and i cant wait to come back!

Room Tip: The Hotel is a very good starting point for trips to the yala national park(only two hours) Galle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Franca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chisinau, Moldova
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

A very nice hotel with friendly staff.We stayed here in the end of ianuary and it didn't rained to much.We had all incusive food.There was not a variety,but the food was very good and well prepared.Our room was at first floor with sea view.It was OK with a minibar a TV a air conditioning.Every day the staff brought us 2 bottles of water.The room service boy never took a tip or money we left.The beach was amazing,but the ocean waves were sometimes dangerous.On the beach were some dogs but they were inofensive.Also on the beach were "beachboys" that sold cocos and diffrent fruits,a little bit more expensive as you can find on the nearest market.
We had a greate time there because we wanted to have fun and we enjoyed the vacation.

* Some staff doesn't know english!
* It's more like a family hotel,the animation team does not work too much and is silent on the night(exept the weves)
* There are also 2 pools but we didnt used them.
* There are 4 HOURS to drive from airport to the hotel!!!

If you are not looking for luxury,this hotel is a good one,

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Negombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2014

This is a relay good place to be.
Beach was really good.Hotel have really really really long beach.
Hotel have two swimming pools.that was excellent to minimize the traffic on swimming pool.

Room service is not bad.

Buffet food is not that much good.Because we dont have much items to select.

i stayed at a deluxe room.its little bit small.Bathroom also.
but with the beach and environment it is good for money.

Room Tip: Beach facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chathura D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2014

We stayed 2 nights at the Long Beach Resort at Koggala in May 2014 during the Vesak holiday. Although the Hotel was not a 5 Star hotel, it provided almost all the comforts a traveler expected. The Hotel had a friendly staff, it served good food and most of all it was located just by the beautiful sea, which had an amazing beach. All the rooms of this Hotel faced the sea and the view one got from the spacious balcony was stunning in the mornings and in the evenings. One could just gaze at the sea from the room for hours on end and enjoy it or else one could just get out and walk by the sea enjoying the white sandy beach or having a swim in the sea.This was one of the best beaches I have been to and it was evident that the foreigners loved it too. The Hotel was packed with foreigners but no body was disturbed by the large number of people holidaying during this long weekend.

It certainly was a lovely place and we had a lovely relaxed holiday, This place can be recommended. Value for money!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thushani D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014

I booked this hotel after considering couple of good reviews over a number of bad comments. Now I know why there are so many bad comments for this hotel. My experience in short as follows;
- Terrible rooms – smelly, when we complained they advised to put the air conditioner at high power to remover the smell.
- Bad food – Food was awful, not many options in the any of 3 buffet meals. When I asked to speak to the Executive Chef to complain about this the staff said they don’t have an Executive Chef for the hotel but a shoe chef is the in charge of the kitchen. I didn’t bother to complain. The service at the restaurant also very poor as we had to request missing cutlery, missing side plates from the waiting staff and in some cases we never received what we’ve requested.

Although the hotel ranks as a 4 star hotel the facilities and the service are not up to the 4 star standards.

Room Tip: Book a hotel outside this hotel chain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Niroshini S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Koggala hotels

Kosgoda, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

This hotel was amazing! the location was extremely beautiful, personnel very helpful, body staff are very nice and friendly! Food is tasty, variable and the beach is unbelievable!

Recommend to come here for sure

From Ukraine

Room Tip: first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thilina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Koggala
0.2 mi away
Koggala Beach Hotel
Koggala Beach Hotel
#2 of 5 in Koggala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
0.4 mi away
Club Koggala Village
Club Koggala Village
#4 of 5 in Koggala
3.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Fortress
The Fortress
#1 of 5 in Koggala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Cantaloupe Aqua
Cantaloupe Aqua
#9 of 29 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
5.2 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#10 of 29 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
5.3 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 29 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Long Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Long Beach Resort & Spa

Property: The Long Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Koggala, Galle, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle > Koggala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Koggala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Long Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 208
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your The Long Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing