We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Views” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Long Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Long Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Koggala
Abbotsford, Canada
Level Contributor
279 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Lovely Views”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

Right on the beach the Long Beach near Galle is a sprawling complex with lovely views. There is a pool well used by families. We accessed the beach directly from our room. Bathrooms are small and basic. Bedrooms are large and furnished with local wood and colourful fabrics. The unit was clean; however, the mini fridge was not operational. Free Wi-Fi was available in the lobby and bar area. While the food selection was varied buffet 2-3 times per day is not appealing. Without the assistance of our tour leader service in the dining room was not existent. Given the property's location, however, I would consider staying at the Long Beach again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tess S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    206
    147
    72
    82
See reviews for
179
242
39
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

If you want to enjoy good food and service then stay away from here. Mainly catered to the Eastern European guests the food standards are very poor for a hotel of this level.

On the other hand if you just want a clean and nice room to stay and visit other places this property has something to offer for sure. We were very happy with the room, cleanliness and the air conditioning.

We got a last minute offer from Agoda, where we only paid 60 dollars (incld tax) per night, and for that money it is worth it but I would not pay any more than that for what they have to offer in terms of hospitality ( service and food). We even had to carry our luggage into our car! The staff is not trained well at all.

Pepole who say this beach is great has probably not seen what SL has to offer I am afraid - this stretch of the sea has strong currents so not ideal for swimming and lack any cafes or bars so not sure what is so special about the beach here!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank KK_SAM999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Koggala hotels

UK
Level Contributor
70 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

We had a very pleasant return to Long Beach. We spent four nights in March at the end of a tour of Sri Lanka. We had a top floor, sea view room, as requested. All the key facilities were good, the bed was comfortable and the walk-in shower very good. However, there was no information about the hotel services in the room nor fire escape information on the door. Reception staff were not very helpful when this was reported to them. Since our visit a year ago, more of the blocks of rooms have been refurbished and opened and therefore, there were a lot more guests (particularly from Eastern Europe) staying at the hotel this time. This meant that, for instance, the relatively small swimming pool was a lot busier. The buffet restaurant was also much busier. The food in the restaurant was reasonable and adequate but the serving area was sometimes very busy and crowded. The hotel is in a lovely setting on Koggala beach which is a really beautiful stretch of sand. The hotel has increased the number of sun beds and sun umbrellas but you needed to get up early to ensure you got one as there were still insufficient to fully meet demand. The system for beach towels is very poorly organized. Although the sea temperature is beautifully warm, unfortunately the waves are very powerful so you needed to be a strong swimmer to get through them in order to swim and it certainly would not be suitable for young children. Although the hotel is located on the beautiful Koggala Beach, it is somewhat isolated without a choice of cafes and bars within easy walking distance.

Room Tip: Need to request a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Wyretraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

we spent one night there last Saturday-March 13.we got new wing rooms.rooms are nice with sea view.rooms is with all amenities.Telephone also there but without information card with dialing details.we were try to order foods through room service.but they took so long.Even for check In & Check out they took so long.hotel staff are not informative.when we asked where is the main restaurant one hotel staff said its in 01st floor.then we took stairs and went there.but no restaurant. then again we asked from another staff member he said 03rd floor.but we found it in 02nd floor.and we asked bath towels.they said they said asked from room boy.very bad service from the staff and seems they are not trained.
Bathroom looks clean but we found one cockroach running over.room floor is wet might be because of the sea wind.but better to keep some bathroom slippers to use.
pool is nice and beach also very nice.foods are good with reasonable prices.
They called the hotel as 04 star hotel,But it is not up to 03 star even.
over roll we enjoyed with pool and beach lot.hotel is worth for money.

Room Tip: upper floor rooms are nice with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank subhaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Italy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

We spent 5 nights here. The position, the beach and the view from the room are great. We can suggest to chose Koggala as location to visit a part of the Sri Lanka's south cost. By train you can arrive in 20 minutes to Galle, by tuk tuk in 20 minutes you can reach Unawatuna Beach, Hikkadwa and Mirissa. Those could be the only reasons that can make me chose once again this hotel. For the rest we are not that happy. Reception staff always seemed bored and scary that you can ask more questions. Before arriving I wrote twice to know if they can arrange something special for our wedding anniversary, but had no reply. Cleaning staff and restaurant/bar staff are better, kind and helpfull but food is not good, they put pepper everywhere! I think the problem is the management, nobody seems happy to work there and it seems that nobody cares if the guest opinion is good or not...they should take advantage of the location and the natural beauty around, this place could be really a gem!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chiara-Raji-Alisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata
Level Contributor
520 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 278 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

This resort is located around 10 Kms from Galle. The beach is a gift from god, with soft powdered sands and clear blue waters. Great place for sun bathing. Nearest Railway station is the small station of Habaraduwa, but all trains on Galle Matara line dont stop here. Rooms are really nice, well maintained and clean. Almost all rooms are sea view. Lobby is great with lots of places to sit and enjoy some books, sea and a drink. Check in was smooth with the beautiful Sri Lankan ladies at the reception. House keeping staff are also very hard working, they will clean your room meticulously each time you wet it after your swim in the sea or pool. The pool was also really nice & warm and was decent size. Food was really good with all kinds of favourites available at the Ala Catre Restaurant. For the more foodie kind there is always the Dinner Buffet. Breakfast was very good with a decent spread. The asset of the hotel is the manager, feel free to contact him for any issues or special needs. He arranged a wonderful cake and decorations for my mother's birthday.

Room Tip: Rooms S-205 to S 212 are the best rooms in the property, located on the ground floor on the left fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sudipnandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

My wife and I have just returned from a highly enjoyable 21 night holiday at The Long Beach Resort .We have both travelled extensively and have high ideals where we spend our time abroad,therefore having read some of the reviews on trip advisor being of a critical nature ,I wondered if we had made the right choice.I communicated with the hotel before leaving the U K and received a swift response that they had noted my request's .On arriving at the Resort my fears disappeared immediately as we walked into the open,spacious lobby,to be met with courteous ,smiling faces of the reception staff,and as we had been allocated a room ,as I had requested,and we were both highly pleased.I had noted criticism regarding the food served here,well I can assure you that when it comes to food ,I'm an absolute stickler,and during my three weeks ,only on one occasion did I have to return food which I did not consider hot enough (temperature wise),this was addressed immediately and never occurred again.I noted that many of the guests had a habit of taking starter,mains and desert to their table ,and it would allow the main course to be too cool for my preference .I have always made a point when in Sri Lanka ( we have stayed at other hotels on the island )to find the head chef and let him know of my love of the local cuisine ,Mr P L S Chandana did not disappoint ,he conjured up dishes that were an absolute delight,totally authentic,local food ,my mouth salivates just thinking of the tempered fish ,and curries he conjured up ,absolutely top class ! So our dining experience ,we could not fault,in fact the friends we made on this holiday were of the same opinion as I ,that the reviews were not of this hotel (there are two others adjoining ,which we did not use ,although the all inclusive option allowed us to do so if we wished).The Ala Carte restaurant was very smart and air conditioned ,but we found ourselves opting to use the main restaurant.Talking about the all inclusive package,the lion beer ( 4-8%) was very moreish ,the quality of the spirits again first class and don't be affaid of the ice,it is perfectly safe,and we particularly enjoyed the air conditioned lounge adjoining the bar,as we do enjoy a dress code and which would be very difficult sitting in the temperature at night of 30c+.So we were highly pleased on the food and drink side !! The location has to be one ,if not the best on the south coast ,stunning ,made highly enjoyable by the excellent attention by the staff led by Wandu ,the lifeguard.The whole experience was superb ,a brand new block and huge pool is opening in April ,so all I will say is don't miss out on this hotel and its beautiful staff,always courteous ,smiling ,from the gardeners ,security men ,cleaners ,room boys ,it was an absolute joy to spend our time with you and it will be revisited very soon ,thanks again for making two people very happy !! And finally a thanks to Mercury Direct who from initial inquiry to completion were also first class .

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank stepheng925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Koggala
0.2 mi away
Koggala Beach Hotel
Koggala Beach Hotel
#2 of 5 in Koggala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
0.4 mi away
Club Koggala Village
Club Koggala Village
#4 of 5 in Koggala
3.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Fortress
The Fortress
#1 of 5 in Koggala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Cantaloupe Aqua
Cantaloupe Aqua
#9 of 29 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
5.2 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#10 of 29 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
5.3 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 29 in Unawatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Long Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Long Beach Resort & Spa

Property: The Long Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Koggala, Galle, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle > Koggala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Koggala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Long Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 208
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your The Long Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing