We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My impression”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Long Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Koggala
Reviewed November 15, 2012

The hotel in question seems to fulfiil demanding tourists' requests.
The rooms are spacious, clean and well equipped.
I found the staff very friendly, helpful and proffesional.
One of the advantages of the hotel is its location. It is situated right on the beach
and it takes just a couple of seconds to reach the sea. You walk barefoot and in a second
you'll feel fine sand under your feet. The other advantage is the climate. Although it does
happen to rain (in November) the weather is hot, mild and humid and the temperature ranges
from 28 to 32 degrees C.
The hotel takes care of its guests: they have a number of facilities at their disposal:
there is wireless connection to the Internet, a swimming pool, shops with souvenirs and others.
As far as food is concerned it is both European and local.
I spent there several days with my wife and can recommend it without any doubt.

Janusz

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the sea on the groundfloor and you'll be satisfied.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Janusz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (711)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

410 - 416 of 711 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2012

3 week stay at this hotel proved excellent value for money. The room was spacious with good ensuite, cleaned everyday to a high standard and tea/coffee replenished when needed. The food was of an excellent standard throughout my stay and meal choice was varied daily. Staff were professional and eager to please, all being friendly and polite. Beach and pool facilities are very good. All things considered, I totally enjoyed a relaxing, stress free holiday and can recommend to all. Although I do not think this resort is suitable for children.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SPLEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

This hotel was badly managed, the staff were lovely but had no management skills.
Food was awful served cold on most occasions,the all inclusive drinks all tasted like bad cough medicine. I never saw the pool cleaned once in the 10days I was there.
The rooms however were cleaned every day, but only once was the bedding changed.
only 1 night was there any entertainment, and the bar was shut at 11pm, so it was a very boring holiday, beach was nice.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank misslol13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

This hotel is in a beautiful part of Sri Lanka but quite isolated from the good restaurants. You can't just leave and walk to the local restaurant area of Unawatuna, it is about a 15 minute tuk tuk ride.
This place has the worst food I had in my whole stay in Sri Lanka. I sent a lot back to the kitchen and in the end I gave up. The staff are very friendly but it is a little like faulty towers, where they all smile and nod but not much gets through and you rarely get the result you are after.
Would definitely come back to the area but wouldnt stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hutcho_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

My triplets who are 8 and I spent 2 days one night at the Koggala long beach resort in Koggala while we were on vacation and enjoyed every moment of our stay. We loved the hotel and it's staff. The pool area was so different to the normal hotel pool. It felt very much alive and my kids loved the surroundings as well. I would recommend this beautiful hotel to anyone travelling from the United States or from any other country. I live in Washington DC and would definitely recommend this hotel a million times. If anyone wants further information regarding this specific hotel feel free to email me at Ceylon_blue@hotmail.com and I can provide any further information regArding this property.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank Farah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

A hotel catering for tour groups and orientated on mass tourism in general. Everything in the hotel is big, a huge lobby, a longstretched beach area and an immense restaurant which deserves the name cantine. The interior decoration of the latter is simply non-existent. It's a huge space where mediocre food is being provided buffetstyle and drinks are being served by an overall friendly staff. The space lacks anything that could resemble atmosphere. It's just rows and rows of tables and chairs.
In contrast with the 'cantine', the rooms are equiped with nice wooden furniture and the rooms with beachview are good value. Rooms in the block on the streetside have a terrace but with view on the block of rooms facing the beach. Watch out for slippery floors when going somewhere in the hotel. The tiles are moist due to their smooth surface in combination with he overall humidity. The pool area is nice but the sun is gone by 3.30PM.
You have to walk 1 km from the hotel for the nearest shop and for some action you have to drive tuktuk wise to Unawatuna or straight to Galle (12km). You'll find an ATM some 100 meters up the road to the right.
Good: room interior, friendly staff, nice beach and enough beachchairs
Bad: Slippery floors, unpleasant breakfast, lunch and dining area

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with beachview. Most rooms have connecting doors with neighbouring rooms. This could b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BWhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

I spent 3 weeks AI at this hotel, and enjoyed my stay. The hotel was normally very quiet, about 50-60% occupancy & I enjoyed the peace & quiet, which was occasionally disturbed by the odd large groups of German/Dutch tourists who turned up a few times during my stay. In high season, I think the hotel will be very busy in comparison.

The room was the best I've ever had in Sri Lanka, the A/C was superb, the bathroom very nice & the housekeeping staff very good. Apart from 1 sports channel & film channel, the tv was pretty pointless for Western tourists. There was a problem with the wifi during my 1st week at the hotel, after which it worked perfectly.

There are lots of staff working around the hotel, and all were friendly, polite & helpful. The restaurant is very light & airy & a lovely place to eat (compared to the Koggala Beach restaurant which was very dark & gloomy). The AI buffets were the normal Sri Lankan buffets, which I've had in all the AI hotels in this country. My only criticism of the hotel, is that too much food was served cold. I noted this on the customer survey forms I completed for the hotel & previous reviews have also mentioned this.

The hotel has a lovely location, right on the beach, which was nearly always deserted along its entire length. The sea was rough with very strong currents, but everyone used their common sense & stayed safe. Transport outside the hotel was readily available, tuk tuks & too many buses to count passing along the main road. Just 20 mins to Galle. There are also 2 train stations within 15 minutes walk.

I would be very happy to stay here again on future visits.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jaynewcastle11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Koggala
0.1 mi away
Koggala Beach Hotel
Koggala Beach Hotel
#2 of 5 in Koggala
429 reviews
0.4 mi away
Club Koggala Village
Club Koggala Village
#4 of 5 in Koggala
214 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Fortress Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 33 in Unawatuna
922 reviews
1.8 mi away
Cantaloupe Aqua
Cantaloupe Aqua
#6 of 33 in Unawatuna
285 reviews
3.0 mi away
Insight Resort
Insight Resort
#3 of 6 in Ahangama
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Long Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Long Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Koggala, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Koggala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Koggala
Price Range: $48 - $263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Long Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 208
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Long Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing