We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Club Koggala Village
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Koggala
Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

We stayed four nights here and found the staff very friendly and helpful and the food good. There is a sister establishment next door called the Koggala Beach Hotel and it is a bit more upmarket (and so a bit more expensive). We had dinner at both places and the dinner at the Koggala Beach Hotel cost around $US 10 more for three people then at the Club Koggala Village. The beach is nice but I'm not sure it would be the safest to swim at. One annoying thing was there were no ya and coffee facilities in the rooms. Other than that it was a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (220)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 220 reviews

Reviewed February 14, 2014

We came at 11 in the morning, but hotel room was provided at 21:00 o'clock. Hole day after 30hrs trip was wasted having no rest. St.Valentines day was a terrible hell of waiting the room and listening the nonsense from the managers.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nikolazius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

This hotel is one of the worst in providing services. Room had an awful smell. I asked the reception to change the room and they promised to change it, but never happened. Bathrooms are in terrible situation, no hot water and very small with an awful smell. No complimentary tea, cups and kettle, so I had to pay even for tea. Air conditioner was very noisy and it was hard to sleep while the conditioner was on. Plus, the cars noise from the road was very disturbing. The most worst part was that the waiter come and ask for your room number or bills payment while you are still eating and it is not one time, but they would come like three to four times to remind you for the payment while still eating (Never happened to me in other hotels). Hotel crew is not friendly at all. We paid to much for nothing! The only thing I liked was the beach view.

Room Tip: I think there is no good room in the hotel at all, but room with beach view are comparatively in a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hamim222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

I spent 3 weeks at Koggala Village Hotel on a bargain trip with Mercury Direct, which gave me 2 weeks on All-Inclusive plus a 3rd week free on room only, and I didn't have to pay a single supplement, so it was an excellent value holiday. This is a 3 star hotel so I didn't expect much luxury, and although the rooms and facilities were quite plain, I found it very comfortable, with excellent staff and a delicious buffet at every meal. I had a bungalow room which faced directly onto the sea, so the view of huge crashing waves was spectacular! Unfortunately it was still the wet season so everything felt damp and occasionally rainwater flowed into my room under the door, but this was no problem as my friendly helpful room-boy was always on hand to mop it up. The restaurant upstairs was lovely with views in all directions, and a terrace where you could take your meal if you liked (weather permitting, which it often didn't!). The buffet was very generous with many different foods available - some European items such as pizza and pasta, but also a great range of Sri Lankan dishes to enjoy, including plenty of choices for vegetarians. The only problem was that it was very difficult to get drinks served in the restaurant as there was usually just one waiter serving the drinks, and he had to go downstairs to the bar to fetch each order. I found the best way was to order a drink at the bar beforehand, and carry it upstairs to the restaurant. I mentioned this problem to the staff, and was told they were about to install a fridge upstairs so drinks would be available. This will definitely improve mealtimes, if it actually happens.

There was entertainment in the restaurant every night from a 3-piece band who moved around the tables playing and singing to guests. They were very professional and played a great choice of music, both Sri Lankan songs, and also German, Russian and British music to suit guests' tastes. Apart from the band, the only other entertainment during my 3 week stay was one cultural evening, with traditional costumed dancers and a drummer, which was spectacular and very entertaining. I think entertainment of this kind should be provided at least once a week.

My room backed onto the very large swimming-pool, and there was a choice of sunbathing by the pool, or on the grassed area along the seafront, a few feet above the gorgeous sandy beach. There were plenty of sunbeds available for everyone, and I really appreciated the lovely big pool, as at this time of year the sea was too rough to swim comfortably. Altogether I found all the facilities at the hotel excellent, and ideal for a perfect holiday. It's easy to get about the area as tuktuks are always available outside the hotel, and buses go past every 5 minutes, so transport is convenient and very cheap. The town of Habaraduwa is 1km away, with local shops where you can get everything you need. There's a cheap internet cafe there too if you don't have your own smartphone, laptop etc., as using the hotel's computer is far too expensive, although wi-fi is free. Also at Habaraduwa is a money-changer who offers a better rate than banks, and FAR better than the hotel's very low rate.

There are plenty of interesting places to visit nearby, such as Martin Wickramasinghe Museum of Sri Lankan culture, just a short walk from the hotel. I also enjoyed Kathaluwa Buddhist Temple, and the Turtle Hatchery on the beach at Habaraduwa. Koggala Lake is a huge and beautiful sight, but shop around for a boat trip as the main providers charge far too much. Also in the area is the very interesting Handunugoda Tea Estate, where you can have a totally free tour of tea gardens and factory, and a tea-tasting session, plus taking tea and cake on the terrace of a beautiful bungalow. Just ask a tuktuk driver to take you to any of these places, but be sure to fix the price of the ride first! My favourite trip was the ultimate, to see real live blue whales and dolphins, not far away at Mirissa. This is definitely not to be missed!

Room Tip: A bungalow room facing the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank smallspender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We visited our group of families today ......this place is a lovely simple and well maintained place. Staff is very good and friendly. There's many kind of foods to choose for anyone's choices at restaurant.we all have fun and relax....... Thanks for everyone of the staff...... Specialy we are thanking for Mr. siriwardana for the everything he has done on this event...

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Prasad P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Very nice hotel at a wonderful beach, simple but clean, and the staff was highly motivated and eager to do everything to make your stay as good as possible.
In the restaurant I could always enjoy the spicy meals, the restaurant manager, Mr. Hewawasam did everything for the guests convenience.

Room Tip: Ich hatte ein Zimmer mit Poolblick, die sind nicht so toll, aber nur zum Schlafen ok. Wer Wert drauf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Helga123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stayed here for one night while traveling around the island. The pool is great but almost everything else is not that nice. Food is terrible and the service is slow. We had four rooms and two of them had some strange smell in them.

Would not recommend this place and will certainly never stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sigrún
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Koggala
0.2 mi away
Koggala Beach Hotel
Koggala Beach Hotel
#2 of 5 in Koggala
436 reviews
2.6 mi away
Insight Resort
Insight Resort
#3 of 6 in Ahangama
214 reviews
2.1 mi away
Cantaloupe Aqua
Cantaloupe Aqua
#6 of 33 in Unawatuna
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Fortress Resort & Spa
5.6 mi away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 33 in Unawatuna
933 reviews
5.6 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#11 of 33 in Unawatuna
825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Koggala Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Koggala Village

Address: Habaraduwa, Koggala 82104, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Koggala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Koggala
Price Range: $51 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Koggala Village 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Club Koggala Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Koggala Village Hotel Koggala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing