We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (9)
Filter reviews
9 results
Traveler rating
9
0
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
9
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sri lanka accommodations jeeps nature leopard guide safari animals
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 9 reviews
Reviewed May 4, 2019 via mobile

Excellent staff going the extra mile to help! Had car issues and they where happy to help with that. Great free sunset walk with Manjula in the afternooon. Food and accommodations perfect. Safari in Yala easy to get to from here they pick you up from hostel.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank ppyjarradg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anuruddha B, Owner at Funky Leopard Safari Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2019

We are truly grateful to you for sharing your experience with us. We are overwhelmed to have been able to make your stay even more perfect. We always strive to provide the very best of our service for our guests and we are extremely glad you loved it. We hope you visit us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2019 via mobile

We stayed 2 in this amazing hostel and could not recommend it enough! It is in a beautiful remote location with only the noise of the crickets and the frogs to hear. The staff are so welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. The rooms are clean and they cleaned and made our beds during the day even though we were staying again that night. Really good air con. The bathrooms were also cleaned and restocked every day. It is a tuk-tuk ride away from Kataragama but there’s no need to eat out as the meals provided at the hostel (for a small extra charge) were so worth the money - delicious! And you get three courses. On our last night they moved the table into the garden and we had dinner by the fire.
We also arranged our safari through the hostel and we’re so glad we did. The guide was so knowledgable about all the animals we saw and took us to areas away from all the other jeeps so had a better chance of seeing more. We were lucky enough to see 4 leopards! The food provided on the safari was amazing! And we had tea and biscuits waiting for us when we returned back to the hostel that evening. There is so much accommodation to choose from in the area but we really felt we picked the best place!
The only small downside is that it is a little difficult to find due to its remote location and lack of signposting but we got a tuk-tuk half way and called the hostel and they sent someone out in Jeep to collect us.
Thank you to all the Funky Leopard staff for a wonderful stay!

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank freya199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anuruddha B, Owner at Funky Leopard Safari Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2019

We are really glad to see your review and to see that all aspects of your stay including the safari has been exceptional. It is truly heartwarming to read of your experience during your stay with us.Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a great review. We count ourselves lucky for customers like you. We hope you would be back with us in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2018 via mobile

We stayed at Funky Leopard for 3 nights and were very well received and accommodated throughout our stay. The staff was very hospitable and did what they could to meet our needs. We were in Kataragama for a festival in town and the hostel is a bit far from it, but the staff really did what they could to make the transportation doable and if you stay there for safari it is perfect - they helped us arrange a trip one of the days. The atmosphere of the hostel is really nice and the rooms and bathrooms are fine with the additional bugs you’ll have to expect in a National Park.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Karoline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hajjuhara, Manager at Funky Leopard Safari Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2019

We are delighted to know that you were satisfied with your stay thank you so much for sharing details of your experience with us. Our staff were glad to hear your positive feedback. We aim to provide a truly unique experience, and we are thrilled that we were able to meet your expectations. Do revisit us on your next journey. We look forward to servicing you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2018

I really recommend to stay at Funky Leopard Safari Hostel! I stayed there only for 1 night but wouldn't mind to stay longer. It's placed in very nice and quiet area and not too far from the entrance of the park. Staff was amazing,really! They treated me like a friend not a visitor and helped me as much as they could - they managed my morning drive and even gave the wood apple from the tree, how sweet they are! :) Don't waste your time of searching for a restaurant in Kataragama as you can order food at the hostel - I ordered dinner (6$) and got carrot soup as a starter and huge portion of rice with vegetables and falafel as a main course + fruits as a desert (I'm vegetarian).It's new made building with very clean and modern facilities and they provide very good unlimited internet connection(the fastest connection what I had in all Sri Lanka). Everything was excellent! Thank you very much Funky Leopard Safari Hostel Team! :)

Room tip: It's new and all facilities are in excellent condition.
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Santa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hajjuhara, Manager at Funky Leopard Safari Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2019

Thank you for your most kind review. We value them very much. We strive to provide the very best of our service for our guests and we are overwhelmed to have been able to make your stay special. Thank you very much for taking time to write such a great review. We hope we will have the pleasure of greeting you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2018 via mobile

The hostel was nice and clean. The staff were very friendly, helpful and caring. The environment was peaceful as there were no other accommodations. Therefore, you should contact the hostel before arriving as the GPS do not find the address. Speaking about arrival, our welcome was also very warm and refreshing.
Our stay was really relaxing. In the evening there were some monkeys playing around the house. We were also able to book our safari with this accommodation. Both, the safari and the accommodation were run according to the slogan of „ecotourism“. Our stay was one of the best experiences during our holidays!

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank x_janu_x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hajjuhara, Manager at Funky Leopard Safari Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2019

It is such a pleasure to see that you had a great experience at both the hostel and during the Safari. Thank you very much for sharing your genuine thoughts about your experience with the viewers. Happy guests make all our efforts worthwhile. Thank you for staying with us and for rating us highly. We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews