We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (449)
Filter reviews
449 results
Traveler rating
109
169
107
34
30
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
109
169
107
34
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviews yala national park tour of sri lanka buffet dinner water music excellent spa room was large two double beds great pool other hotels the main hotel kataragama temple very nice hotel stayed here for two nights convenient location one night stay comfortable stay wifi
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 449 reviews
Reviewed October 25, 2017

When ever I go to kataragama this is the hotel that I stay. They have a warm welcome. Very spacious rooms with all facilities. When the crowd is more, place is really happening. You get the buffet meals ans staff is very flexible to get done things. It is a good facility but due to seasonal fact some days less crowd where they cannot afford to offer buffet which is understandable. Very central place to stay..
Nalin Attygalle

Room Tip: It is only ground floor & first floor. Both are quieter.
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nalinatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2017

We stayed here as a family, and it was booked for us through a tour company as it was close to the section of the Yala National Park where we were doing our safari. Unfortunately, we were unimpressed with this hotel. It was nice, but didn't wow us, as all of our other hotels had done. The pool area was a bit run down (cracked tiles/ exposed wires etc) and there was no atmosphere. At one point I was sure we were the only guests there!
We had a suite and I must say

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank pippalennon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerrosen, Director of Sales at Mandara Rosen, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and leaving a review. We apologize for any inconvenience you experienced during your stay. Your feedback is very important to us and has been shared with our senior resort management. further to your review I would like to point out that the tiles used for the pool area are Indian Slate and has a natural grip built into the tiles that adds to the safety of all who use the swimming pool area from accidental slips and misshapes and is not cracked but just the original design of the tile, furthermore you have visited us in October which is offseason and this could be the reason that you did not see too many guest around the Hotel,This could be a plus point for many guest as the Hotel is less crowded more privacy and exclusivity but that depends on ones opinion. We look forward to exceeding expectations and hope wow you on your next visit to Mandara Rosen preferably during season.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2017

We stayed at Mandara for two nights on FB as a family of three. We went to the hotel a bit early than the checking time but they were good enough to quickly check us in to the room and it was quite a pleasant thing as we were tired traveling from 4 in the morning. The staff here is very pleasant and helpful.

The rooms were very spacious and the washrooms were good too. They have a nice pool and the food here is good too. They had buffet breakfast and dinner and the lunch was given to be selected from an alacate menu. I had their biriyani from the menu and it was tasty too.
However they had a small toilet smell all over the hotel living area.

Overall this is a good place and close to kataragama temple. I would like to recommend this place as its family friendly and it has some good food.

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sulochana875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2017

For the fifth time we checked in Mandara.We tried few other places during past few years but no place can match Mandara. Enjoyed every minute with my family at Mandara. Superb food. Great staff, The best place! Surely we will come again!

Room Tip: ground floor
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Ravi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerrosen, Director of Sales at Mandara Rosen, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2017

Thank you for a perfect review! We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us here and look forwards to seeing again and further exceeding expectations on your next visit to Mandara Rosen....!!!
Thank you & Regards,
Alex.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2017

We stayed here for one night whilst on tour. The reception area is very nice, lots of lounge chairs overlooking the pool. The pool area was clean but does not have enough shade. You have to look after yourself finding the area that has the pool lounge cover and getting it to your lounge. Finding our room was a mission in its self. Located on the ground floor at the far end of the walkway. Our room was large with two double beds a table and two chairs and a patio area. Tea and coffee making facilities are supplied with a minimum of sachets for your use. I found the cleanliness of the room to be very disappointing. The surfaces of the furniture was sticky and dirty. The bathroom floor needed a good clean as well as the shower screen etc. This is a large hotel and at night the lighting wasn't very good. We felt uncomfortable when walking to our room.

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank thisfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews